We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with great food and drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Pasticceria Leone

Bar Pasticceria Leone
Via Lorenzo d'Amalfi, 47, Amalfi, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 94 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly with great food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped here for a coffee and some breakfast. Cappuccino was delicious, I think it was one of my favourites of the week. Food wise, we'd taken out two mini meringues the night before which were amazing...and the lady who served us remembered us the next morning! I'm a vegetarian and have to keep a low fat diet...a tricky combination on holiday! They made me a sandwich with lettuce and tomato, toasted. It was so good....the tomatoes they used were so ripe and full of flavour that I didn't feel like I missed cheese at all. It was one of my favourite things that week, and the best sandwich believe it or not! We went back and took another two mini meringues that evening (mint ones), and they were even better than the first two! Take a stop there if you can.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“pleasant relaxing for people watching especially locals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely for late afternoon drink and people watching.Nice to linger in the late afternoon sun after a day spent exploring all the myriad of small shops and other attractions

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Worst cappuccino in a week”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visited Bar de Leone and I must say that the pastries are good. But that's the only positive thing about this cafe. We wanted to drink our coffees standing at the bar, like the locals do. Everybody familiar with cafe bars in Italy will know that it is a lot cheaper than sitting down; also the terrace was not that nice and not in the sun.
The owner charged us 12 Euro for two coffees and two pastries, when we protested he changed it to 10 Euro. But, he said, you can sit anywhere you like.
So actually he refused to charge the normal standing up rate, just we were tourists.
Also. the cappuccino was horrible, cold and bitter.
Amalfi is a lovely town but this was a really bad experience!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best coffee and pastries in Amalfi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed breakfast here every morning for the week we spent in Amalfi. The coffee is superb and the pastries very yummy! The couple who run the cafe are really lovely and welcoming. Bar Pasticceria Leone is a little bit up past the main piazza and so is not as crowded as the main cafes in the piazza (and with much tastier coffee). Our favourite time of the day was sitting here in the morning and watching Amalfi come alive each day! Also it is very popular with the locals. I highly recommend this place and hope that you enjoy it as much as we did!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Pasticceria Leone also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Bar Pasticceria Leone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Pasticceria Leone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.