We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous summer break on the Amalfi Coast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
1 review
“Fabulous summer break on the Amalfi Coast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We have just spent 5 glorious days at The Residence Hotel. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious, spotlessly clean with discreet and prompt housekeeping service. The shower in the bathroom was fabulous ! The staff in the hotel were courteous and very helpful when we asked for their advice on local restaurants and trips. The breakfast was plentiful and the terrace was a delightful place to start the day discussing our plans. The bus stop and ferry are in the immediate vicinity and will take you to other towns along the coast. The town of Amalfi is lovely to wander through, looking in the shops and stopping for a drink or a meal to watch the world go by. We enjoyed a wonderful free concert on the steps of the cathedral and some fun antics of a local mime artist that drew a huge crowd. The Residence is situated right in the heart of Amalfi and we could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    72
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
35
136
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 9-13 july with friends. The hotel is very central opposite the beach, bus stop and jetty.
The hotel is lovely and so are all the staff, the rooms are spotless and all individual as we were travelling with friends we compared each others rooms and were impressed by all o f them . We had a room on the second floor at the back which was larger that the ones on the first floor. The bar and terrace were lovely too the staff in there make fabulous cocktails , we all became cocktail converts thanks to them ( this includes beer drinking husbands!). Breakfast is very continental lots of choice and eaten out on the terrace overlooking the sea.
Amalfi is beautiful very busy all the time the hotel is right on the road so be careful when you walk out the door .We loved the hustle and bustle of it all, great place to watch life happen. Some people have mentioned about it being noisy, but you're on holiday! its not a problem at all.The windows have shutters on so that blocks out the noise.
There are plenty of places to eat some expensive and some reasonable you have to look round to see what fits your budget, there are so many little back streets with little cafes and resturants its nice to wander round in the afternoon looking at the menus ready for when you go out in the evening. We went to Revello on the bus and Positano by boat both were beautiful as is the whole coast line. Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very good location - 1 minute from the busstop. Our room was small but adequate. However, when we requested an additional stand for our second suitcase, we were told there was none available. This made it very difficult to manouver around in the restricted space in the room. We had a small blacony with a partial sea view and view of the mountain. The marble staircase is stunning. There is a lovely terrace overlooking the beach where we enjoyed sipping cocktails in the evenings. Breakfasts were excellent. Staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have just stayed for one week at this great little hotel it's right in the centre of Amalfi. You can sit on your balcony and to sun bake and watch the world go buy then close your sound proof balcony doors and lock the world away. The staff are very helpful and smartly dressed and above all top value for money. I have stayed in many hotels up and down the coast of Italy and most major towns for the past 15 years but this is the best value for money I have found. The hotel was fully renovated 4 years ago so fully sound proof.
Euros 910 for double room with breakfast for the week. If there is a down side, one morning my scrambled eggs at breakfast were a little on the cool side. Oh dear?
The best way to get to Amalfi from Naples airport is still by taxi I'm affraid 120 euros.

Room Tip: Over looking the beach. Go silent air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a 3 night stay there. The hotel is a perfect location, right across from the sea and bus stop location. The room was large, and the wifi worked perfectly at all times. Staff made great suggestions on where to eat and travel to. Great value.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I would like to express my appreciation to the Hotel Residence staff. It was our first time to visit Amalfi Coast, and Italy. Prior to my trip I emailed the Hotel Residence numerous times with questions. I always received a comprehensive reply within the same day. The hotel arranged transportation for us from the Salerno train station. The hotel is in a great location and us besutiful. The restaurant staff were very friendly and made us feel like we were staying with family. While out shopping I noticed that I lost a diamond earring from my ear. I was so happy when I returned to my room because it was laying in a bowl on the desk. Apparently the housekeeping found it while cleaning. They could gave kept it and I would never had known. If I go back, I will stay there again. The shower pressure was great too!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the start of a self guided walking tour of the Amalfi Coast. The location is excellent. We had a room overlooking the beach and main road but the room was surprisingly quiet considering its location. The decor of the communal areas was interesting and eclectic The waiting staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the breakfast on the terrace was delightful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.