We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is run by friendly staff with very comfortable rooms. The location is ideal and our room towards the back of the hotel was quiet. Our friends had a room on the street side of the hotel and they found this more noisey. Breakfast had a good selection of food and could be eaten on a lovely terrace all fresco if desired.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones on the street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    69
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
128
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The service was excellent, from the waiters at breakfast, which is served on a lovely terrace overlooking the sea, to the housekeeping staff who kept our room in pristine condition. Clean towels twice a day and clean sheets every day. We stayed in a standard room, overlooking the sea front, but we found the room spacious and airy with a lovely balcony to sit on and watch the world go by. Yes you could sometimes hear noise at night but as the hotel is situated on the front overlooking a bus stop you do expect this, and when the door to the balcony was closed it certainly cut out most of the noise and we never had any problems sleeping. The hotel is convenient to catch a bus or ferry from and because it is on the seafront there is no walking up hills to return to your hotel at the end of a long day. We would certainly returned to the hotel if we ever visit Amalfi again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

It is difficult write anything bad about our experience in the Hotel Residence because we really had a very good time here. We stayed 5 nights beginning of November.

The hotel is absolutely central, located at the main street which runs along the Amalfi coast. However, we had no problem with noise at all (the door to the balcony seemed pretty well insulated).

My first experience of the hotel was that it has a really nice smell. It is in an old villa renovated and furbish in a style and so tastefully, which made us walk down the stairs each time we were leaving our room just to have the experience of the interior.

We booked a superior room. It was clean, large and nicely furnished, which included romantic vintage pieces, too. The bed was comfortable. We had a small balcony and our room was see view. The bathroom is super clean, too, and it had a jacuzzi bath tub which we enjoyed a lot :)
The breakfast room is in a big, nice old room with renaissance columns, it also has a very pleasant terrace facing the see. The hotel has no restaurant, which was not a problem for us. They have a lounge area in the evening with nice old furniture in one part of the same room which is used for breakfast.

The only improvement we can recommend is more choice at breakfast of meat and cheese. Other comments describe cold scrambled eggs, but in our case the eggs were OK.

But what we enjoyed most are the people in the hotel. Our friend at the breakfast was very nice, very helpful with all our questions regarding restaurants, markets nearby and others, and we had usually had a nice conversation each morning. He also knew after the second morning what we like and brought it to our table.
The same is true for the reception, as well. They were very friendly and helpful.

To conclude, the hotel was hard to leave it :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Superb location on the coast road in the center of Amalfi. Close to all of Amalfi's restaurants and scenic attractions. Excellent room size and well appointed. Room 16 looks right out on to the beach. Staff were really friendly & accommodating. Breakfast served on a nice balcony overlooking the sea. The balcony location also acts as the bar / lounge.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room. Quieter rooms are to the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Had occasion to stay here and liked it so much extended my visit. Exceedingly clean, renovated and shiny inside. Rooms are chic, very nice breakfast and location. Ignore comments about noise, it is located in central area but they have modern double paned windows that completely eliminated even a hint of noise. superb service and help from front desk & restaurant waiters, the best. Would return again in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Room 18 in early October 2013. Our patio doors opened onto a tiny terrace, and we were fascinated by our daily views of Amalfi from sunrise till after sunset - we observed cars, buses, ferries, pedestrians, scooters, the central fountain, cafes, the ocean, the pier, the promenade, the restaurants on the beach, fireworks, a thunder and lightning show… it was am amazing location to people-watch! In spite of all the entertainment outside, we could close the wooden doors and the room was then very quiet!
Our room was also neat and clean with a large closet for storage, and the bathroom was quite big with railings to hang up our hand washing!
We enjoyed the helpful staff - in particular Vittorio at the front desk, and Antonio for cappuccinos at breakfast and for nightcaps on the terrace in the evenings!
It was a great location to explore the rest of the Amalfi Coast by bus and ferry, and there were many great restaurants in the area too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reigate
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days at the end of October, we chose the Residence based mainly on Trip Advisor reviews, which are not totally accurate, so this is a " This is what you get" review. The Hotel is marketed as a 4 Star, but the local tourist office classify it as 3 Stars, which I agree with. The Hotel has a fantastic locations right in the port area, but with this location comes the noise from constant traffic which is very nearly 24/7, so if you are a light sleeper a sea view room is not for you. The Hotel has a very small reception area, no lounge area, no evening restaurant, no room facilities, well our Standard room had none, also Our room was disappointingly small when compared to the standard room they show on the Hotel website, I had to stay on the bed when my wife was sitting at the dressing table as not enough room to squeeze past, if you are stood at the basin in the bathroom with the door shut no one else could get in as door opens onto basin, very bad layout, but the room was very clean and I lost count the number of times they changed our towels, also they turn the beds down in the evening which is a nice touch. There are a number of other reviews that moan about the breakfast and the service at breakfast, to a point I agree, you do have to chase the waiters even for your first cup of coffee let alone a second cup, the hot food offered is the same each day and is always Luke warm , but plenty of cold meats cheese and croissants, so enough choice for everyone. Now to a big Moan, you have to hand your key in when leaving the Hotel, the key is then hung up on a board in full view of anyone passing the entrance, not a problem you may say , and I would agree if they manned the reception desk 24/7' We returned one evening to find nobody at reception and helped ourselves to our key, and we were not challenged which I find worrying. We found all the staff very polite and helpful, even the breakfast waiters once you had attracted their attention were polite and helpful. What makes this Hotel is its location, there are nicer Hotels with far better facilities in Amalfi than the Residence but they are not as close to the action, if you do not relish climbing loads of steps to get back to your Hotel each day/evening and do not mind constant street noise then the Residence would be a good choice, also it's lack of restaurant is no real problem with there being loads of choice within a 3 minute walk.

Room Tip: Room 18 is a SMALL Standard room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.