We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location but there are downsides” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
reigate
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but there are downsides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 days at the end of October, we chose the Residence based mainly on Trip Advisor reviews, which are not totally accurate, so this is a " This is what you get" review. The Hotel is marketed as a 4 Star, but the local tourist office classify it as 3 Stars, which I agree with. The Hotel has a fantastic locations right in the port area, but with this location comes the noise from constant traffic which is very nearly 24/7, so if you are a light sleeper a sea view room is not for you. The Hotel has a very small reception area, no lounge area, no evening restaurant, no room facilities, well our Standard room had none, also Our room was disappointingly small when compared to the standard room they show on the Hotel website, I had to stay on the bed when my wife was sitting at the dressing table as not enough room to squeeze past, if you are stood at the basin in the bathroom with the door shut no one else could get in as door opens onto basin, very bad layout, but the room was very clean and I lost count the number of times they changed our towels, also they turn the beds down in the evening which is a nice touch. There are a number of other reviews that moan about the breakfast and the service at breakfast, to a point I agree, you do have to chase the waiters even for your first cup of coffee let alone a second cup, the hot food offered is the same each day and is always Luke warm , but plenty of cold meats cheese and croissants, so enough choice for everyone. Now to a big Moan, you have to hand your key in when leaving the Hotel, the key is then hung up on a board in full view of anyone passing the entrance, not a problem you may say , and I would agree if they manned the reception desk 24/7' We returned one evening to find nobody at reception and helped ourselves to our key, and we were not challenged which I find worrying. We found all the staff very polite and helpful, even the breakfast waiters once you had attracted their attention were polite and helpful. What makes this Hotel is its location, there are nicer Hotels with far better facilities in Amalfi than the Residence but they are not as close to the action, if you do not relish climbing loads of steps to get back to your Hotel each day/evening and do not mind constant street noise then the Residence would be a good choice, also it's lack of restaurant is no real problem with there being loads of choice within a 3 minute walk.

Room Tip: Room 18 is a SMALL Standard room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    66
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
122
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in hotel after a tour of Venice, Florence and Rome. Property is very nice with large common area rooms. Note, however, that the hotel is right in the middle of the town and there is a lot of traffic/people passing by, so it is not quiet during the day. At night (around 10 pm in October) traffic subsided and we did not have a problem with noise while sleeping, but the traffic is back by 7 am.

Our room faced sea and we really enjoyed the view, as well as people watching. The room was nice with high ceiling and sufficient space, but it lacked certain accoutrements usually found at hotels in this price range, such as glass ware, complimentary water, decent pillows. It may be because Amalfi is very much a beach town compared to these other cities, and you pay up for just about everything.

Breakfast on terrace is a great setting and wonderful way to start day. Staff is very attentive and makes as many cappuccinos as you can swallow. Food at b'fast is adequate, nothing special. (For some reason they serve eggs and bacon in a warming dish but do not use anything to keep food warm.)

Front desk is efficient and friendly, and very helpful with maps, dinner suggestions, directions, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you want all of the ambiance of the Amalfi Coast, this is the hotel for you. From the moment we arrived the friendliness and efficiency of Francesco set the tone for our entire stay. He welcomed us like we were long-lost family instead of first time guests. What a gem he is. Our room faced the Mediterranean Sea and was in the center of the town. Walking distance to great food, shopping and the famous basilica. Great staff, wonderful breakfasts every day, immaculate room and grounds. Wish I was there again right now.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the sea and a walk-in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was great - perfectly situated in the centre of town, next to the beach and the main piazza. Room was beautiful, spotlessly clean and with a lovely, safe balcony. The breakfast was delicios, lots of choice and with an amazing view over the beach.
I travelled alone with my 2 1/2 year old son but had nothing to worry about as the hotel staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and they were very child-friendly. The only negative was the lack of a swimming pool, but with the beach less than a minute's walk away this was not a problem.
Would not hesitate to go back to Amalfi and stay in this hotel and would firmly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud Turnhout
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

"Nous n'irons plus jamais:we never go again" (it's just a ballad, from Hervé Vilard, a French singer, songwriter) But once you visited Capri, you will come again. It's a beautiful Island on the coast of Amalfi. This year after visiting France(aussi un pays magnifique & de découverte), I went to Italy, to make several hikingtours along the Amalfi coast. My residence was Amalfi: "Hotel Residence". A beautiful building with enough facilities, magnificent view across the sea and a good art of cooking. N'oubliez jamais (that's what Jo Cocker said)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful mix of old and new charm. The rooms are beautiful with ocean facing balconies. It has a fantastic terrace overlooking the water for breakfast or for drinks in the afternoon. You can happily sit and watch all the goings on from this wonderful balcony.
The staff are fantastic and the whole place is spotlessly clean.
The location is perfect with the beach directly in front and the piazza, church and shops just around the corner. The front rooms are sound proof which is wonderful.

Room Tip: The front rooms have balconies overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We checked into the Hotel Residence and 2 days later, we noticed bug bites all over our bodies. We checked and bugs were everywhere. We brought this up to the hotel, who quickly dismissed this as mosquitoes and then told them we probably brought them with us. These were no mosquitoes! They were tiny little bed bugs you could literally see crawling all over the bedding. They refused to change our room, our sheets or mattress. They only gave us a plug in inspect repellent, which was absolutely ineffective. Francisco and the rest of the staff was very rude and dismissive throughout our stay. My husband had to shave his head to get rid of the bed bugs and we left the majority of our clothing at the hotel when we left. After he did, he shook his head on the counter and tons of bugs dropped out. It was like a horror movie.
What was most disturbing was the hotel's blase attitude about bed bugs, customer service or the sanitary conditions of the hotel. The policy of having to leave your key at the front desk in full view on a high traffic street is not exactly comforting so we had to carry our I-pads, etc... with us. Also, it made it inconvenient for charging electronics and cell phones b/c the electricity comes on only when the key is in the slot. Could not have been more disappointed in this hotel. I would steer clear of Hotel Residence. It was a horrible experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.