We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was great - perfectly situated in the centre of town, next to the beach and the main piazza. Room was beautiful, spotlessly clean and with a lovely, safe balcony. The breakfast was delicios, lots of choice and with an amazing view over the beach.
I travelled alone with my 2 1/2 year old son but had nothing to worry about as the hotel staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and they were very child-friendly. The only negative was the lack of a swimming pool, but with the beach less than a minute's walk away this was not a problem.
Would not hesitate to go back to Amalfi and stay in this hotel and would firmly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    75
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
37
146
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oud Turnhout
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

"Nous n'irons plus jamais:we never go again" (it's just a ballad, from Hervé Vilard, a French singer, songwriter) But once you visited Capri, you will come again. It's a beautiful Island on the coast of Amalfi. This year after visiting France(aussi un pays magnifique & de découverte), I went to Italy, to make several hikingtours along the Amalfi coast. My residence was Amalfi: "Hotel Residence". A beautiful building with enough facilities, magnificent view across the sea and a good art of cooking. N'oubliez jamais (that's what Jo Cocker said)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is a wonderful mix of old and new charm. The rooms are beautiful with ocean facing balconies. It has a fantastic terrace overlooking the water for breakfast or for drinks in the afternoon. You can happily sit and watch all the goings on from this wonderful balcony.
The staff are fantastic and the whole place is spotlessly clean.
The location is perfect with the beach directly in front and the piazza, church and shops just around the corner. The front rooms are sound proof which is wonderful.

Room Tip: The front rooms have balconies overlooking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We checked into the Hotel Residence and 2 days later, we noticed bug bites all over our bodies. We checked and bugs were everywhere. We brought this up to the hotel, who quickly dismissed this as mosquitoes and then told them we probably brought them with us. These were no mosquitoes! They were tiny little bed bugs you could literally see crawling all over the bedding. They refused to change our room, our sheets or mattress. They only gave us a plug in inspect repellent, which was absolutely ineffective. Francisco and the rest of the staff was very rude and dismissive throughout our stay. My husband had to shave his head to get rid of the bed bugs and we left the majority of our clothing at the hotel when we left. After he did, he shook his head on the counter and tons of bugs dropped out. It was like a horror movie.
What was most disturbing was the hotel's blase attitude about bed bugs, customer service or the sanitary conditions of the hotel. The policy of having to leave your key at the front desk in full view on a high traffic street is not exactly comforting so we had to carry our I-pads, etc... with us. Also, it made it inconvenient for charging electronics and cell phones b/c the electricity comes on only when the key is in the slot. Could not have been more disappointed in this hotel. I would steer clear of Hotel Residence. It was a horrible experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location and view. Breakfast is good. Our room was ocean front, few steps from the marina or bus station. Hotel is very cute and has a lot of antique details that make it interesting. Amalfi is beautiful, but you don't need more than half day or a day there.

Room Tip: We had ocean view room and it was great. They have room service coming to make your bed before you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The unbeatable location right next to the center of Amalfi, right in front of the beach! Great hospitality! The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Amazing views of Amalfi town and the coast, breakfast on the terrace with a wonderful sea view and attentive service. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The views from our room and the balcony were incredible! Staff was extremely helpful to show us directions, help with trips, etc. Thanks to Francesco and Vittorio that made our stay one of the best experiences ever!

Room Tip: Room #7 has incredible views and 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in October 2013. The location was perfect for us. Right in the epicenter of Amalfi. Loved the busy scene with buses, ferries, cars, motorinos and tourists with the beautiful background of beach, harbour and the Mediterranean. Nice big balcony, actually two in our room. Had the doors open every night but the heavy and dark blue curtains did a good job reducing street noise and light. Really nice bathroom with Jacuzzi. Good breakfast buffet served outside on the covered terrace. The hotel is recently renovated and what a good job they did. Nice classic style. Very friendly staff and with excellent local knowledge. The only small glitch was that the Wi-Fi didn't cover our balcony.
Will definitely come back when we are in that incredibly beautiful part of Italia

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.