We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location and view. Breakfast is good. Our room was ocean front, few steps from the marina or bus station. Hotel is very cute and has a lot of antique details that make it interesting. Amalfi is beautiful, but you don't need more than half day or a day there.

Room Tip: We had ocean view room and it was great. They have room service coming to make your bed before you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    78
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
39
151
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The unbeatable location right next to the center of Amalfi, right in front of the beach! Great hospitality! The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Amazing views of Amalfi town and the coast, breakfast on the terrace with a wonderful sea view and attentive service. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The views from our room and the balcony were incredible! Staff was extremely helpful to show us directions, help with trips, etc. Thanks to Francesco and Vittorio that made our stay one of the best experiences ever!

Room Tip: Room #7 has incredible views and 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in October 2013. The location was perfect for us. Right in the epicenter of Amalfi. Loved the busy scene with buses, ferries, cars, motorinos and tourists with the beautiful background of beach, harbour and the Mediterranean. Nice big balcony, actually two in our room. Had the doors open every night but the heavy and dark blue curtains did a good job reducing street noise and light. Really nice bathroom with Jacuzzi. Good breakfast buffet served outside on the covered terrace. The hotel is recently renovated and what a good job they did. Nice classic style. Very friendly staff and with excellent local knowledge. The only small glitch was that the Wi-Fi didn't cover our balcony.
Will definitely come back when we are in that incredibly beautiful part of Italia

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location is very central and in front of the beach.
The room was very clean and the bathroom was big and modern.
The bed was comfortable.
The breakfast in the terrace is very nice with sea view.
One guy of the reception (I don't remenber the name) has a lack of patience while explaining how the parking works.
You have to park your car in a payed parking garage from a walking distance of 300 meters (5 min): 20 Euros per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ended our vacation in Amalfi with a great stay at this Hotel. We had a corner room with a large terrace with table and chairs on one side and a balcony overlooking the street on the other. Both sides had great views of the ocean and the town. It was extremely clean and the service was excellent. The outside breakfast was very good in a pleasant atmosphere. It is within short walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the water.

Room Tip: We had the corner room on the second floor; #15 I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just came back from a 3 day stay. Well situated with views of the sea and nice terrace for breakfast (although the breakfast was very mediocre). The bathroom was the smallest of any I've ever had in Europe and no little touches in the room like a waste basket, water, tissues. Did not like the set-up where you leave your room key at the front desk when you go out for the day and it is in "Full Display" of any one entering. There were at least 3 different front desk gentlemen during out stay and wouldn't have known me from Adam when I ask for our room key?!?!?!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is stunning, located directly across from the beach and marina. We loved our stay here and would like to thank the front desk staff for helping us figure out the bus from Amalfi to Salerno. Breakfast is also great, big selection of food on a pretty terrace! I would recommend staying here.

Jenna and Mike

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.