We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just had 2 weeks in Amalfi - a wonderful destination for a quiet relaxing holiday. Stayed first in Hotel Marina Riviera then Hotel Residence. Both are on the front and close to the centre of Amalfi, which suited us – many hotels along the Amalfi coast will be isolated, but we could walk around the town, have a choice of different restaurants every night, get a boat to Capri, etc.

From our experience, the Marina Riviera scores so much more than the Residence – we would return to Marina Riviera, but not the Residence. To list the little things that made the difference: at the Marina Riviera we had a bottle of water in our room every day; a bowl of fruit when we arrived; a box of tissues; draws with handles; very attentive staff; a good choice of breads and croissants (that never ran out) and eggs cooked to order; and of course a rooftop pool. None of these applied to the Residence, although it is also a 4 star hotel. The Residence was not terrible, but missed the little touches. Because of the timing of our bookings we paid less for the Marina Riviera (early booking) than the Residence. We had a Double Room at Marina Riviera and Deluxe Double at Residence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    92
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
47
173
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The reception manager's (most of the time he's at the desk) is very not nice, not tourist friendly, acting arrogant and Antipathetic. Contrary to all the hotels we've been, check out time is already at 11.
There is no hotel parking. If you are coming by car you have to park in a public lot just about 10 minutes' walk from the hotel at a cost of 20 euros per day. If you leave the parking lot after the 12th time you start to pay for each additional hour.
The hotel's location is good and very centralizes. Nice breakfast, less than expected.
The hotel itself looks good, the room was fine, but was a bit stuffy and there is enough lighting.
For the price we paid we expected to get much from the hotel and a much better attitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful, breakfast was great. We were there for 3 days and they helped us navigate our hikes and then suggestions for dinner after we were cleaned up and ready to go out. Every evening we enjoyed a prosecco on the terrace and the bartender was always extremely friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and saw what we believe to be bed bugs and marks on our bed. I immediately told the gentleman at the reception desk and showed him the bugs. He quickly dismissed them and said they were just mosquitos. I obviously know they are not mosquitos. I asked to change rooms but he would not do us this courtesy. He only offered to change the sheets and the mattresses after I insisted they be changed. The gentleman was not only rude and dismissive, he was downright offensive in his attitude. After they refused to switch rooms, we asked for them to at least discount our rooms since we did not feel comfortable sleeping in our bed. He refused and simply said no without offering anything more than a drink at their bar. The location is great, yes, but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was rude and dismissive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location, friendly staff and lovely rooms. Breakfast on the terrace was good, with a very good selection of food, especially for Italy. The wait staff were very helpful, especially the 2 Antonio's and Rafaelle. The Hotel is across the road from bus stops and is around the corner, literally 1 minute away, from the main plaza. Ferry boats are on the doorstep and we found shopping prices cheaper than Positano. We would choose this hotel again. John and Anna - Australia.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I arrived from Australia via France and had expected this hotel to be ok - it is not ok, it is outstanding. First the staff - they are so helpful and always have a smile. The room was much better than we expected, with a wonderful view over the main beach and marina. Walking to most places is very easy, and we are surprised at the small number of stairs. Breakfast at the hotel is excellent, and it is wonderful to sit in the bar having a drink watching the world go by.

Will definitely recommend this highly to anyone of my friends or family.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view. It is a little noisy during the day but great fun. We stayed on level 2 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Residence Amalfi is conveniently located across the road from the beach, Sita buses to Ravello, Scala, Bomerano, Positano and Sorrento as well as ferries to Sorrento, Capri, Ischa and Positano. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are of a good size and are light and airy.
The staff are courteous, accommodating and knowledgeable in terms of timetables and how to get to the attractions.

Room Tip: I loved room no 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#11 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.