We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway! Stop looking and stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway! Stop looking and stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent the first week of our honeymoon at the Residence Hotel. It was truly a magnificent experience. Staff was friendly, and did everything possible to make our stay a good one. We never felt like a burden to them, and they were more than happy to arrange transport from the airport to the hotel, make dinner reservations for us while we were out on the beach, and seemingly anything else that we could have wanted. Francesco and Vittorio at the front desk were excellent.
We had a sea view room with a balcony and the views were stunning. The rooms were immaculate and were attended to regularly. A nice touch was having our sheets turned down at the end of the day before bed time. Breakfast was excellent, offering both North American and Italian items, served on a terrace with sea views.
The hotel is located in the centre of the city, close to the beach, restaurants, and ferries. The beaches are pebbly, but there are loungers for rent along the shore. Staying in Amalfi is a great choice as well, as it is relatively close to all other attractions along the coast (Positano, Capri, Sorrento, etc.)

Room Tip: Sea view is worth any extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    65
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
126
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel Residence was perfectly located so that you could easily access the ferries, restaurants, buses and beach. The rooms are in very good condition, beds are comfortable, sound proofed and have shutters so you do not hear noise from the street or other rooms. I was facing the beach with a balcony in a deluxe room and loved it!

The concierge team went above and beyond their duties and ensured their guests left with a smile on their face. They are very friendly and happy to help in any way they can.

In leading up to my stay, they were very quick to respond to emails and booked restaurants for us. If you are getting the train to Salerno, I recommend getting them to organise a transfer form the train station to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

First off, we felt Amalfi was a great "base point" for our Amalfi coast vacation. Spent 6 nights here and we easily got to Positano, Ravello, Sorrento (longer trek). The hotel is also right across from the beach, the town square, and very close to the bus and ferry terminals. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay comfortable. We stayed in a Superior Room and it was very spacious. Turn down service was a nice pleasant touch to the hotel. Would definitely return here again the next time we are in Amalfi!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel Residence in Amalfi is a place that one only dreams about. The perfect view from the room's balcony (room on the second floor) was overlooking the water with a very active square. There were comfortable beds and unbelievable service by the entire hotel staff. It seemed like a family-run operation. The breakfast terrace was manned by very helpful waiters. By the 4th day, they would actually set a table for us actually expecting us. One day, my wife wanted a banana but they did not have any. A waiter took it upon himself the next day to set a table with a banana on a plate waiting for us to arrive. We also would stop on the terrace for drinks before and after we would go out for the night. When our stay was over the waiters said they looked forward to seeing us again some day.We(3 couples) also had a one in a million situation arise. It was June 27 which we found out was The Feast of St Andrew. We saw hundreds of people gathering by the water and the streets at night were decorated with many lights, statues, bands and processions. Our hotel balcony was the central point to observe all that was happening. We also discovered that there were to be fireworks at around midnight. All of us have seen many fireworks displays but none were ever like this. The fireworks started and we observed that they were being shot directly across the street from us. So they were basically directly over us on our balcony and they were lighting up the entire sky. Never has any of us seen such a scene. For a half hour, it was one unreal scene after another until the finale which incredibly was even better. Thank you, Hotel Residence, for an experience that will be with us forever.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the water was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

the hotel is very nice and elegant rooms , the location is perfect where u can find near by everything ( pharmacy ,souvenir shop , gelato shop and a church and a wide variety of restaurants ) the hotel owner is so welcoming always asking if we are fine . the employees so helpfull from my first mail sent until check out. the breakfast area is so romantic terrasse when u can have an ok breakfast to start your day witth .. the sita bus and boat bus are just 3 minutes waslk from the hotel.. so recommended cheers to all hotel employees ..

Room Tip: seaview with balcony and jacuzzi shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this great hotel. Fabulous location for cafes, shopping, walking etc. Our room was so lovely and we had a lovely balcony to relax on. The room was very clean and bed extremely comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We would definately stay again and would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A four-star hotel in the perfect and central Amalfi location. Perfect spot for all your excursions, situated across the road from the ferry, bus, tours. Ferries go from here to Capri, Sorrento, Positano and Salerno amongst others. Bus trips include Positano, Ravello, Maiori and Minori. We asked for a room change onto a higher floor which was obligingly given.

Room, lovely bright and airy, bathroom good, lovely balcony and view over the seafront. Toiletries minimal with the smallest soap ever encountered (we went out and purchased a large soap).

Concierges very helpful, although barely any tourism literature to speak of. Best to make your plans beforehand or be able to use the internet on arrival to find out tours etc. We ordered two English newspapers which they kindly delivered to us each morning (with no surcharge). Excellent service! Breakfast room and terrace lovely but with a limited breakfast range. Free Wi-Fi. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Would suggest a higher floor sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.