We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best hotel in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

the hotel is very nice and elegant rooms , the location is perfect where u can find near by everything ( pharmacy ,souvenir shop , gelato shop and a church and a wide variety of restaurants ) the hotel owner is so welcoming always asking if we are fine . the employees so helpfull from my first mail sent until check out. the breakfast area is so romantic terrasse when u can have an ok breakfast to start your day witth .. the sita bus and boat bus are just 3 minutes waslk from the hotel.. so recommended cheers to all hotel employees ..

Room Tip: seaview with balcony and jacuzzi shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    69
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
33
128
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this great hotel. Fabulous location for cafes, shopping, walking etc. Our room was so lovely and we had a lovely balcony to relax on. The room was very clean and bed extremely comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We would definately stay again and would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A four-star hotel in the perfect and central Amalfi location. Perfect spot for all your excursions, situated across the road from the ferry, bus, tours. Ferries go from here to Capri, Sorrento, Positano and Salerno amongst others. Bus trips include Positano, Ravello, Maiori and Minori. We asked for a room change onto a higher floor which was obligingly given.

Room, lovely bright and airy, bathroom good, lovely balcony and view over the seafront. Toiletries minimal with the smallest soap ever encountered (we went out and purchased a large soap).

Concierges very helpful, although barely any tourism literature to speak of. Best to make your plans beforehand or be able to use the internet on arrival to find out tours etc. We ordered two English newspapers which they kindly delivered to us each morning (with no surcharge). Excellent service! Breakfast room and terrace lovely but with a limited breakfast range. Free Wi-Fi. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Would suggest a higher floor sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent four delightful days in this charming and perfectly located hotel. The room was lovely and very clean, with a a balcony on which to sip a cool drink, or a glass of limoncello and admire the stunning view unfolding before our eyes. The hotel is conveniently located near all modes of transportation, excellent restaurants and the beach. We had a room facing the sea, and although it was very busy below, the windows had such excellent shutters that you could not hear anything of the hubub on the street at night. Breakfast was very good with great cappucino and plenty of choices to stimulate any appetite. Best of all, it was served on a beautiful terrace with a gorgeous view. Lastly, we were very impressed with the service; both in the breakfast room and the reception. The staff was very helpful in all ways and we thank especially,Francesco, for his guidance. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Room #15 has a small but lovely balcony with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

After a long flight and very long drive due to being a bit lost we were thrilled with our welcome at Hotel Residence. Francesco stayed past his shift to make sure we had arrived and checked in with ease. We had a large van which Francesco quickly offered private parking for an extra 5 euro a day. Breakfast was perfect. Staff went out of their way. Location was perfect. We would definitely return and miss it already.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had planned to stay only 2 days and when the kids wanted to stay 2 extra days, Francesco made sure we had accommodations for the extra 2 nights. All the rooms we stayed in, we moved to other rooms around the hotel in order to stay extra time, were incredible. We become so familiar with the hotel, the staff and the owner of the hotel. We did not ever want to leave. We love this place and of course Amalfi. Un grande saluto a Francesco, e tutti al Hotel! Grazie di tutto e alla prossima volta. Baci Gabriella, Serena, Luca, e Robbie!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the sea. The front rooms overlooking the the sea are absolutely brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Amalfi Coast is a magical place and our stay at Hotel Residence gave us great service and and a great starting off point for all of our excursions.The staff was fantastic. Friendly, helpful and courteous. We started our mornings with the delicious breakfast and a beautiful sea view. Gorgeous view from our room as well. Excellent location, easy walk to the beach, the center of Amalfi, ferries and buses. We were extremely happy during our nine day stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.