We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel - Kaye & Jim, NewZealand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Fabulous Hotel - Kaye & Jim, NewZealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this great hotel. Fabulous location for cafes, shopping, walking etc. Our room was so lovely and we had a lovely balcony to relax on. The room was very clean and bed extremely comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We would definately stay again and would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    92
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
47
173
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A four-star hotel in the perfect and central Amalfi location. Perfect spot for all your excursions, situated across the road from the ferry, bus, tours. Ferries go from here to Capri, Sorrento, Positano and Salerno amongst others. Bus trips include Positano, Ravello, Maiori and Minori. We asked for a room change onto a higher floor which was obligingly given.

Room, lovely bright and airy, bathroom good, lovely balcony and view over the seafront. Toiletries minimal with the smallest soap ever encountered (we went out and purchased a large soap).

Concierges very helpful, although barely any tourism literature to speak of. Best to make your plans beforehand or be able to use the internet on arrival to find out tours etc. We ordered two English newspapers which they kindly delivered to us each morning (with no surcharge). Excellent service! Breakfast room and terrace lovely but with a limited breakfast range. Free Wi-Fi. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Would suggest a higher floor sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent four delightful days in this charming and perfectly located hotel. The room was lovely and very clean, with a a balcony on which to sip a cool drink, or a glass of limoncello and admire the stunning view unfolding before our eyes. The hotel is conveniently located near all modes of transportation, excellent restaurants and the beach. We had a room facing the sea, and although it was very busy below, the windows had such excellent shutters that you could not hear anything of the hubub on the street at night. Breakfast was very good with great cappucino and plenty of choices to stimulate any appetite. Best of all, it was served on a beautiful terrace with a gorgeous view. Lastly, we were very impressed with the service; both in the breakfast room and the reception. The staff was very helpful in all ways and we thank especially,Francesco, for his guidance. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Room #15 has a small but lovely balcony with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

After a long flight and very long drive due to being a bit lost we were thrilled with our welcome at Hotel Residence. Francesco stayed past his shift to make sure we had arrived and checked in with ease. We had a large van which Francesco quickly offered private parking for an extra 5 euro a day. Breakfast was perfect. Staff went out of their way. Location was perfect. We would definitely return and miss it already.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had planned to stay only 2 days and when the kids wanted to stay 2 extra days, Francesco made sure we had accommodations for the extra 2 nights. All the rooms we stayed in, we moved to other rooms around the hotel in order to stay extra time, were incredible. We become so familiar with the hotel, the staff and the owner of the hotel. We did not ever want to leave. We love this place and of course Amalfi. Un grande saluto a Francesco, e tutti al Hotel! Grazie di tutto e alla prossima volta. Baci Gabriella, Serena, Luca, e Robbie!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the sea. The front rooms overlooking the the sea are absolutely brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Amalfi Coast is a magical place and our stay at Hotel Residence gave us great service and and a great starting off point for all of our excursions.The staff was fantastic. Friendly, helpful and courteous. We started our mornings with the delicious breakfast and a beautiful sea view. Gorgeous view from our room as well. Excellent location, easy walk to the beach, the center of Amalfi, ferries and buses. We were extremely happy during our nine day stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great room, location and view. Breakfast included was delicious! Cleaners, Butler & Wait staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Staff at the front desk were nice but could make more effort. Nothing complimentary given for honeymooners.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#11 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.