We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first-class hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hotel

Save Saved
You added Residence Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A first-class hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Residence in Amalfi.
The room was a standard, however, was of great quality and we were very lucky and had a sea view.
The staff were very polite and helpful and organised our transfers to and from the airport (Naples) with no fuss. They were also very knowledgeable about local areas and attractions.
Everyone made our stay very pleasant, and enjoyable.
By far the best part of the hotel was breakfast and evening cocktails on the Terrace, which probably has the best view in Amalfi. The staff in this area were exemplary.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    65
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
120
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

All of the reviews of this hotel talk about the great location - and it is a great location with great views. Plus the rooms were very nice. I loved the look of this hotel and would stay there again except for the staff. The staff was awful. They were just not helpful. When we asked for restaurant suggestions, they pointed to a list of restaurants on a tourist map. Not helpful! At breakfast, we had to get up to ask the waitstaff for coffee because they did not come to our table. We had several other problems with the front desk, and each time they were rude and just really unhelpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's is our second visit to this hotel ... We love the location and the decor in the rooms which is lovely and bright with gorgeous balconies and views of the sea , the staff are very helpful and the breakfast terrace is a very nice place to start the day ...

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had four nights at this wonderful hotel right next to the beautiful square in Amalfi. Our room was of a high standard with a spa bath and a balcony where we could look down on the square. Breakfast was great with a good selection served on the terrace overlooking the promenade. The terrace was also a great place for pre-dinner drinks. Excellent service and hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

we stayed for 7 days, and have only positives from our stay at the Hotel Residence, the staff were very professional and attentive, nothing was too much bother, room was spacious and well set out, with great balcony looking onto the square, breakfast was excellent with a great choice and fantastic setting on the balcony. The situation of the hotel is great, right in the centre of amalfi! within walking distance from some great restaurants, shops and ferries or buses.

Room Tip: Have breakfast on the balcony, fantastic setting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned from 13 nights stay in the Residence Hotel. The hotel is located opposite the beach, but also has the advantage of being central to all the restuarants and shops and you really do feel the buzz of Amalfi. We stayed in room 21 with great sea views and a small balcony. The room was spotlessly clean and each night the towels were folded and the bed turned down (not essential but a really nice touch) and the air conditioning was great. The staff were fantatsic very friendly, courteous and really couldn't enough to help from the breakfast Cappuccino to the final buonasera of the day. They even arranged for an early breakfast on our day of departure. The breakfast was good fresh fruit, cereal and srambled eggs etc ( Maybe after 13 nights could have done with a little variation) and the setting of the breakfast terrace overlooking the beach was perfect. Overall both the hotel and Amalfi were fantatsic. We had intended to do more trips, but in the end due to the idyllic setting only managed Positano, Capri and Ravello, all worth a visit. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would just like to say: Grazie per una vacanza fantastica. Ci ritorneremo.

Room Tip: Definitely pick a sea view room. We stayed on the second floor, but the first floor rooms although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here from 8/6/2013 to 18/6/2013 and we both agreed that our stay here was excellent. Definitely up there with some of the best places that we've ever stayed in. The hotel is situated right on the coast road that runs down the Amalfi coast and is in the centre of the town of Amalfi itself. Our room was front facing and was on the first floor. The view from the balcony is perfect, looking over the road and the beach out onto the harbour. This hotel has no pool but being over the road from the beach it isnt a problem because the water is so clean and the area designated for swimming is huge. The hotel even provides beach towels for free. The breakfast is extensive offering the continental option or simple cereals. The hotel also has a turn down service in the evening which is an additional touch of class. The rooms are spacious and are well serviced too! Initially we thought that the rooms would be a little loud due to the road but the doors to the balcony are well insulated so its really not an issue.

Room Tip: Room 3 was a standard room but very nice with a great view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hotel

Address: Via delle Repubbliche Marinare 9, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.