We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for a family or for those on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amalfi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amalfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Amalfi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vico dei Pastai 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great hotel for a family or for those on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We recently spent 5 nights at the hotel Amalfi and had a wonderful experience. We booked out hotel room on Expedia.com, and since we were a family of 4 we opted for a delux room with 3 beds (one King and 2 double). We also requested a refrigerator in the room (extra 10 euros per night).

The room was clean and bright and we had a little terrace that was charming. Continental breakfast was included, that offered pastry, yogurt, fruit and coffee. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Samantha at the front desk was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    81
    34
    20
    7
See reviews for
32
103
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our journey along the amalfi coast.
The hotel is in an excellent location, with the heart of amalfi on yor doorstep. The staff were all excellent and very keen to help and gave us plenty of advice and information of what's going on in amalfi and neighbouring towns.
Rooms were ok..not too exciting, but I guess it's reflected in the price...a bit on the gloomy side. The breakfast was ok, simple croissant and bread with a small selection of fruit..coffee was good.

All in all it's a nice place to stay and cant be beat on its location..not one for those looking for luxury, but decent enough for a stop over. Staff were excellent

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We found this hotel on the internet and read several different reviews about it. We booked an upgraded room for six nights ( only 60 euro extra ) and got a lovely room with our private balcony in the hotel garden ( room no 316)
Just above our heads there were lemon trees - smelly and beautiful
The room was great, always clean and comfortable. I`ve read about thos who have complained about "rock hard" beds - but this was not a problem.
And as we were staying behind the hotel in the garden area the bells from the church was not a problem. I thought it was a little bit charming.
The location of the hotel is perfect. In the middle of Amalfi town
And the staff, what can you say about them : Always polite, helpful and friendly.
The breakfast was ok - not great but ok. And the breakfast room was at the roof top of the hotel with a view over the city.
I will highly recomend this hotel - but do try to get room 316 - you will get so much extra for the value of your money

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Great location in Amalfi, which is a central town from which to explore the Coast. Very good breakfast in rooftop restaurant. Helpful for all our questions. Ask about local hiking; the Valley hike and Path of the Gods were unforgettable experiences! Room was large and pleasant, bathroom likewise/ We'd love to return for another stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

After reading a not so great review about this hotel, I was a little worried. When we got to the hotel, all worries went by the wayside. Because my husband and son are both 6' and over, we were concerned about the size of the bathroom in the room. The hotel very kindly upgraded us to the family room. The air conditioning worked very well and was free and the breakfast was very good. They helped arrange a car to take us to Pompeii and back, and were very gracious. As for the bells, I don't think it matters where you stay in Amalfi, you will hear the church bells, but they weren't that loud.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

The location of the hotel is desirable. We traveled all along the Amalfi Coast with a quick walk to the bus stop, the ferries and the beach. There are numerous shops and restaurants within yards/meters of the hotel. However when we got in our room which was situated in the back of the hotel, our room was amazingly quiet. Except for the birds and the church bells every 15 minutes. The lobby is just a pass through with a few seats. But the upper deck on the fifth floor with kitchen/bar/breakfast room is roomy and airy. The views at breakfast were awesome. Rooms had tiled floors, no screens on the windows, tightly spaced bathrooms and are fairly standard for all hotels in the area. The linens and floors were spotless and well-maintained. The pillows and mattresses were pretty hard. There were other reviews that complained about the older model televisions. Well, they replaced them with flat screens. But for the English-speaking, you get CNN, BBC, Sports and one other station. If you've traveled to the Amalfi Coast, and spent a full day traveling from the United States you won't be watching television in your room anyway! We had rooms off the hall which had a little private terrace the cleaning ladies hung the linens on. Which worked well for us to hang our bathing suits and towels after a day at the beach. There were five of us, two parents and 18, 16 and 12 year old and we were all happy staying at the Amalfi Hotel. Please note: hotels ask for your passports right away on check in and then return them. This is standard practice, so don't be alarmed.
Also, this hotel is up a flght of stairs between two buildings, around a corner, up a few more steps and would not be easily accessed by someone without two sturdy legs. Someone with a baby carriage or wheel chair might want to arrange access through the hotel's garage entrance at street level and take the lift up.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

The location is good, and that is all there is to say.

The rooms are small and dark.

The owners are extremely unpleasant and I cannot stress enough that you SHOULD NOT STAY at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfi

Address: Vico dei Pastai 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amalfi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.