We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icing on the cake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amalfi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amalfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amalfi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vico dei Pastai 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Icing on the cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Hotel Amalfi – Amalfi
The Hotel Amalfi is the quintessential Italian family hotel. The Lucibello family, under manager Signora Carmella, can, will and do arrange anything and everything you need to explore Amalfi and the Amalfi coast, from transfers from Salerno to private vehicle tours to Pompeii. The roads in the area are quite scary and transfers by competent drivers are a must – and that’s exactly what you get from the Hotel Amalfi. A much appreciated feature of the housekeeping was the daily change of bedding. Breakfast on the terrace with views of the mountaintop and the town centre was a great way to start the day. All the staff were gracious, attentive, and made us feel completely at home! The visit to Amalfi was a wonderful experience in itself – finding the Hotel Amalfi was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony over courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    90
    36
    23
    9
See reviews for
44
118
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon City, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had two rooms in a cottage in the garden. Very quiet and beautiful flowers and lemon trees in the garden. Breakfast served on the rooftop terrace. Great little hotel! Driving through town to get to the parking garage and being assisted by their gentleman was a fun experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, NJ
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights after returning from Paestum while exploring the Amalfi coast. Amalfi was our favorite town since it was easy to get everywhere by bus or boat from here and the cathedral was one of our favorites. There are also many restaurants and you could reach everything by foot from this hotel. The family who runs it could not be nicer and more accommodating. We were very unhappy with our first room (309) which was near the elevator and lots of kids were running thru the halls. We were shocked since the reviews we read on TripAdvisor led us to believe the rooms were quiet and many had terraces or garden areas. So we asked for a different room and were given #315 which was indeed in the garden and could not have been quieter and more isolated. The views from breakfast virtually took our breath away and the staff was very helpful. We would not stay anywhere else when in Amalfi..

Room Tip: Our room was #315 which was lovely, in the garden. The room right above us would be even better si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a family run hotel set in an old building in a small alley 25 stairs above the main street. Don't expect a luxury hotel, rooms are not modern or recently renewed but are discrete, a kind of old fashioned but come on, you don't stay in the room all day looking at the new modern tap in the bathroom and you didn't come to Amalfi in order to admire Italian styling. Rooms are clean and give you all you need during your stay. Bathroom in our room could be a little larger but it was OK.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Location is perfect in this small town (main street), but if you come with your own car there's a parking problem - no public parking place all over the village. BUT! if you add 20 euro per day (consider it as hotel cost), Massimo will meet you at the town gate, will take you to the hotel and will park it in his garage, whenever you need your car, or whenever you're back - just call him. You can call it a valet parking service (all arranged by the hotel on you request).
Breakfast is served on the 5th floor terrace. A nice view, fresh sunny-morning air and a good Italian cappuccino or a caffe-ristretto - what a wonderful way to start your day in Amalfi

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was really good to stay in a typical Italian family run hotel in the centre of the town. The hotel was very clean and comfortable for our weeks stay. Although the hotel does not have a pool you are only 3 mins from the beach. The beds were comfortable but our room only had 2 hard chairs so no comfortable seating. The bathroom and shower were very good with plenty of hot water.If you can't climb steps the hotel is not suitable as a narrow passage of steps leads to the main entrance. There is a lift inside. Room wifi worked well. The breakfasts were rather unimaginative and got tedious by the time the week was over! It would not be any trouble to give more variety! Staff were very helpful and friendly. A good stay in the heart of town.

Room Tip: Away from main street - less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Hotel Amalfi is a lovely family-run hotel, centrally located, clean and a warm, welcoming space. I stayed here as part of an organized tour, and I was very glad that I stayed here. You are steps away to the main square, shops and most importantly, the beach! The only downside was getting my luggage up a small incline, because the taxi driver couldn't bring his car around. Other than that though, it was a great place to call home, if only for a few days. Breakfast was delicious and the rooftop terrace was stupendous; like living and breathing a scene from a movie. A very sweet family run place; I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at hotel Amalfi we had a lovely garden room which had a nice outlook to the mountains and other terrace gardens. There is a definite charm about amalfi and this hotel, not to far from the bus/ taxi drop off points and very close to the information centre where you can book day trips and access the net.
The beds were firm but the room was comfortable.
The hotel is close to everything and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We noticed some people whining about it being quaint however I think that if you stay in amalfi you are there to experience the culture rather than for a luxury hotel stay.
Lots of restaurants to choose from with our favorite being a small restaurant a few shops down from the information centre.
If you stay in the garden room I would recommend getting some mosquito repellant as we found that at night they loved to come and visit (not enough to complain about or ask for a room change)
Looking forward to our next stay. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfi

Address: Vico dei Pastai 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.