We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amalfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amalfi to your Saves list
Hotel Amalfi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vico dei Pastai 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Hotel Amalfi is a lovely family-run hotel, centrally located, clean and a warm, welcoming space. I stayed here as part of an organized tour, and I was very glad that I stayed here. You are steps away to the main square, shops and most importantly, the beach! The only downside was getting my luggage up a small incline, because the taxi driver couldn't bring his car around. Other than that though, it was a great place to call home, if only for a few days. Breakfast was delicious and the rooftop terrace was stupendous; like living and breathing a scene from a movie. A very sweet family run place; I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    99
    43
    23
    9
See reviews for
47
130
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at hotel Amalfi we had a lovely garden room which had a nice outlook to the mountains and other terrace gardens. There is a definite charm about amalfi and this hotel, not to far from the bus/ taxi drop off points and very close to the information centre where you can book day trips and access the net.
The beds were firm but the room was comfortable.
The hotel is close to everything and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We noticed some people whining about it being quaint however I think that if you stay in amalfi you are there to experience the culture rather than for a luxury hotel stay.
Lots of restaurants to choose from with our favorite being a small restaurant a few shops down from the information centre.
If you stay in the garden room I would recommend getting some mosquito repellant as we found that at night they loved to come and visit (not enough to complain about or ask for a room change)
Looking forward to our next stay. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After lots of research we decided on this hotel based on the location and our limited time in Amalfi. What a great surprise. This hotel was just wonderful. The cute ambiance and the friendly service just couldn't be beat. It is in the heart of everything. Wifi only worked in the reception area but no biggie. Rooms were clean and inviting. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Hope to return someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our group of 37 adults stayed here for 2 nights in mid-September, and all were very pleased with the hotel, service, breakfast, and location. Paula and the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms were very clean, bright, and spacious, as were the baths. Shops, restaurants, sights were all right there, and boat excursions to Capri are in easy walking distance. The Hotel Amalfi is a wonderful choice for anyone staying in Amalfi, a terrific value, and I would highly recommend it to anyone.
If arriving by coach, I would advise anyone who has trouble walking to make prior arrangements with the hotel for guest and/or luggage pick-up, as coaches are not allowed near the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Amalfi is a very nice hotel. They have a BEAUTIFUL terrace overlooking the village. This where the dining area is also located. Nice treat to see beautiful Amalfi while enjoying your meal:)

My room was the largest out of the places I stayed in Italy. It was also very nice. The staff is very nice and helpful too.

I'd definitely stay there again if I ever return to Amalfi.

I'd give it 4.5/5 stars overall

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed at this hotel during my brief stay in Amalfi Town. The hotel was nice, quiet, elegant and clean. The king sized bed room was extremely spacious and the showers came with spa jet settings, which made for extremely warm and comfortable showers.

The hotel staff spoke English and were very helpful. The older gentleman serving breakfast on the terrace, was extremely kind. The breakfast on the terrace that overlooked the mountain on one end and the Blue sea on the other end, was stunning and most memorable!!! Also, there is a big cathedral across the hotel and hearing the Bells toll from the cathedral, while I was enjoying the breeze from my balcony, was one of the highlights from my Italy trip.

The hotel is situated in the Center of town: the cathedral, the buses that take you around the Amalfi coast and up to Ravello, the eateries and of course, the Sea, are right next to the hotel.

Stay in this hotel while you are in Amalfi! This hotel will definitely add to your Amalfi adventures!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel Amalfi is located close to Duomo di Sant’Andrea and other tourist spots. The staff is both kind and nice. The breakfast is good and it is served at the terrace. The double room is nice and clean bathroom. It's a good choice for your stay in Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfi

Address: Vico dei Pastai 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.