We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Tidy Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amalfi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amalfi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Amalfi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vico dei Pastai 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value Tidy Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Overall I think this hotel is good for the value and I would agree its a 3 star rating, so I have to keep that in mind when I give my opinion. It is conveniently located, but tucked into the main street in Amalfi so I don't think any room would have a view. Also be aware if you are driving in, don't even bother to try to find it from the car, we called and they had someone meet us. The rooms are a decent size but the decor is a bit to be desired. However they are well kept and clean. My favourite part of the room was the bathroom, it was a decent size and was bright with colourful tiles. The air conditioner is a must, but noisy. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food was fine for a continental breakfast with freshly made coffee. My husband and I decided if we ever came back we would pay extra and book a hotel with a view and a pool. It was the most picturesque area of our trip to Italy. I would also recommend the small boat tours for a day trip, it was well worth the money and a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    92
    36
    20
    8
See reviews for
39
109
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Modestly priced hotel in the heart of the lovely coastal town of Amalfi. Friendly staff. Room basic but surprisingly large toilet shower room. Some noise from (outside) steps below our second floor room but not excessive. Suggest ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. Air con v effective. Spotlessly clean (the whole hotel - not just our room). Breakfast was the usual "continental" but fresh fruit and yogurts available as well as bread cheese, ham etc.

Very handily located, just 5 minutes level walk to sea. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent two nights here on a weekend, paying Euro 85 per night for a double with breakfast and received a free upgrade from an Economy room to a Standard (which we assume was just a bigger room).

The strange staircase arrangement means you have to go outside to get from the 2nd floor down (if not taking the lift) but this was fine. Our room faced the courtyard, was relatively quiet (other than the church bells which ring every quarter of an hour from 7 a.m. onwards...), spacious, with a good-sized bathroom. Wi-Fi reception on the second floor is weak so we were provided with a cable for our laptop and the wired connection was better. If you only have a wireless receiver, then you will want to avoid a room on the 2nd floor since we were told Wi-Fi on the upper floors is fine.

A decent continental buffet breakfast. Excellent, central location and very easy to find if you arrive by bus or ferry. If you have heavy luggage, be prepared to haul it up a flight of steps but really, the old staircases of Amalfi are part of the charm and fun to explore.

A good value option for a tourist town.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester uk
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this lovely, homely hotel. The check-in was quick, the receptionist was helpful, spoke wonderful English, and was very informative.
Our room, 301, was overlooking the garden, at the back of the hotel. It was very clean and spacious, with a delightful en-suite and both solid and louvre doors to the outside.
Breakfast was provided on the top floor, both terrace and inside tables available. The continental breakfast was plentiful with many choices, the staff are attentive and charming.
Other guests have passed comment about the Wi-Fi but we found it to be fine, no problems in reception, on the terrace and 95% of the time in our room on the 3rd floor.
The air conditioning unit in the room doubled up as a heater at night as we were subject to a short cooler spell during our stay. The heater was quiet and more than adequate.
We did book a trip via the hotel, to Pompeii and Vesuvius, which was well organised, with a knowledgable tour guide.
The hotel is a 2minute walk from the square and 3 minute walk from the harbour, using a short cut through the labyrinth of charming passageways, from whence one can catch ferries, jetfoil to Capri, Sorrento and other destinations.
I would recommend this hotel for its amenities, position and general character, we look forward to visiting again.
Thank you to Paola and the rest of the staff for your kindness and help during our stay, we very much hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Our room at the back was quiet regarding street noise and late night passers by, however I imagine t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed there for two weeks and it was absolutely fantastic time. The stuff is so nice and friendly that i have never seen before. The hotel itself is cozy and clean. The bed was huge and comfortable, the room was clean and with lots of space to put things into.
the only thing that i didn't like was the lack of frigde and lots of noise from the street - but that is something one should get used to in Italy...

go there if you don't need any super-extra elegance and luxury!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Liked the idea of a family run hotel & our experience was a good one. The staff were quite friendly & helpful, the location is excellent in the centre of Amalfi but some may not like the need to climb some stairs from the street. We had the upper level a separate building in the courtyard which we very much liked, especially the small balcony which has a good view of the hills & the Amalfi buildings. Having breakfast on the terrace roof is good as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Family hotel who were very hospitable. Breakfast served by the piano was a nice touch. Its a fantastic location and great value. Very clean. Stayed here 2 nights in September 2011 after visiting family in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfi

Address: Vico dei Pastai 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amalfi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.