We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to relax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel to your Saves list
A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel
Piazza Umberto I, 5-6 | Amalfi, Campania, Italy, 84010 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Paris
1 review
“The perfect place to relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

It is a GREAT place ! It is close to everything, easy to go to and the staff is VERY VERY NICE!
The rooms are pretty and clean, so are the bathrooms.
Only 2 minutes walk to the beach. You can easily go for a walk, the landscapes are wonderful, gorgeous! It is very calm and peaceful.
There are many things to do around.
If you like nature and relax on the beach, you should go! You will fall in love with the place and would never want to go home!
We just loved that place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    10
    9
    12
See reviews for
5
26
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Good location, friendly owners, and having read the reviews I didn't expect much from this hostel but a couple of things almost sent me packing to a more expensive place.
The ensuite bathrooms I was shown were half-bath size with no shower stall. The whole bathroom WAS the shower stall - damp and cramped. We used a separate bathroom along the hall that had an actual shower.
The beds had only sheets, no blankets.
The cloth tacked over the glass bedroom door to shield us from the hallway light was so thin it was pointless. Just one more piece of evidence that the bare minimum of expense is used here.
I can't believe it cost 90 euros!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hämeenlinna
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

If you like walk around and relax in the piazza where all around are not tourists, Atrani is a perfect place to stay. We found A Scalinatella very pleasant place to stay, it´s on the Piazza Umberto I and on the beach and a SITA bus takes you up mountain if you prefer go steps more down than up. Amalfi is 15 mins away through a maze of steps and narrow passages between and under the houses of Atrani and Amalfi. We had booked a room with shared bathroom but were upgraded to a small bathroom in the room. Breakfast was better than in the hotel in Rome. We are a Finnish couple and like more places like A Scalinatella than soulless hotels with lots of stars and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

I spent only one night in this horrible place and ran away as fast as I could. Rooms have no windows, and are incredibly damp. It really feels unhealthy to sleep there, and quite suffocating since cealings are really low and there is almost no air flow. The town of Atrani is great, but I would never stay at Scalinatella again, and it's not cheap either.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We were recommended to stay at A'Scalinatella by a friend of my travel companion who said it was just great. Being off season we had no problem booking the day before we arrived and when we got there and found the reception and eventually got someone to come to the door we were taken to our room.

As all the other posts on here say, the hosts are great. Very friendly and helpful and basically just nice guys, and the breakfast was generous and tasty. However, there is one thing I insist on when staying anywhere and I don't care what price I am paying and that is a clean room.

This room was awful; even taking into account different standards in different countries. I am sure the room had not been cleaned for a long time. There was enough mould in the bathroom to write your name in but the worst thing was the small curly hairs all over the matress protectors. We were given linen to make our beds but still I felt as though I was staying somewhere grotty and it spoiled the stay in Atrani somewhat for me.

Further, according to Lonely Planet the accommodation provided use of a kitchen and facilities. There was a kitchen sink and empty cupboards but nothing more than that. We had to ask the hosts if we could borrow a knife and we scrounged some plastic plates off a cafe!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

I have come to the A'Scalinatella Hostel for more than 10 years now and find both the hostel and the town of Atrani still an intriguing and funny place to stay. I simply cannot understand, why some guests have written such negative reviews. The tiny town of Atrani is situated right next to busy and touristic Amalfi, a mere 5-10 minutes walkway away in the next little bay. Both the town and the hostel resemble labyrinths, the houses and also the numerous rooms and dormitories of the hostel are situated one atop the other. Although I have stayed here at least 15 times, I still cannot tell, how many rooms there are altogether. The rooms themselves are very simple and basic, but clean. There is a huge dormitory in an arched cave that has comparatively cool air in the summer heat. Some rooms facing the street might get noisy due to the church bells. Apart from the dormitories, there are also numerous private rooms and semi-private rooms separated by Spanish walls from each other at various locations in the town. The beach is only 50 meters away, where one can find "Le Arcate", a perfect pizzeria-restaurant, which offers very generous pizza for take-away at a very low price. Ideal for hiking and swimming. It is the best deal in this pricey area of Amalfi.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Italy is an annual escape. And this past European winter it was very, very cold in the Abruzzo mountains. So the thought the sun always shines at Amalfi prompted me to get on the bus and find the beautiful beach at Atrani. Well, it rained and rained and rained on the Amalfi coast as well. Anyway, this only made me look for other things ... and it was still a great trip. The guys at A'Scalinatella are always great and they do everything to make my stay at Atrani terrific. Thanks again. Looking forward to getting back at the end of the year again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
1.9 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#17 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#25 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#29 of 30 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#28 of 30 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#18 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ostello Brikette
Ostello Brikette
#37 of 40 in Positano
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel

Address: Piazza Umberto I, 5-6 | Amalfi, Campania, Italy, 84010 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Scalinatella Hostel Hotel
a Scalinatella Hostel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.