We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious simplicity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel

Save Saved
You added A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel
Piazza Umberto I, 5-6 | Amalfi, Campania, Italy, 84010 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Sälen, Dalarnas Län, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious simplicity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 8 nights at A'Scalinatella and had a fantastic holiday. Atrani is a beautiful, small village with very few tourists. It is authentic and realaxing, with only 900 inhabitants but 10 restaurants, a post office, and several small shops. Our room faced onto the small village square, and we often sat on our balcony watching village life unfold: families having dinner together, shop owners opening up their shops in the morning, fishermen going to work, children heading for the school bus, and locals sitting about at night just relaxing and chatting. Wonderful entertainment, much better than watching TV! (And there was no TV in the room, by the way, which suited us perfectly.) Yes, the building was old, as in 4th century old, but this just added to the charm. There was a delightful fresco in the ceiling, and the characteristic ceramic floor tiles in the bathroom. The room was simple, but comfortable, and we slept like logs, despite the social activity in the square and the church bells going off four times every hour. In fact, the sound of people enjoying themselves in the square (there was no thumping music, just the sound of people chatting and laughing), and the mad church bells, actually added to the atmosphere and the quirky charm, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Furthermore, we were only 50 yards from the beautiful beach, near the bus stop, a 10 minute walk from the tourist crowds of Amalfi (which was lovely to see, but also nice to escape from), and right on the hiking path towards Ravello. The bus services are excellent, and there is also a ferry service from Amalfi.
Because we were there for a whole week, we got to know some of the shop owners, and we managed to hold conversations with them in our broken Italian and using lots of sign language. The locals greeted us in the street, and the shop owners helped us with advice on bus routes and bus tickets.
Filippo and Gabriel, the owners of A'Scalinatella, were lovely and helpful and provided us with a great breakfast every morning, as well as advice on nearby tourist attractions, hiking routes, etc. They were always smiling, and we appreciated their warm personalities.
Wifi was available in the breakfast room and on our balcony.
We will definitely be back! Many thanks for a great stay, Sofie and John

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the square for a relaxing holiday in a genuine Italian atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    9
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
21
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We chose this place because we wanted to avoid the crowds in Amalfi - which we successfully did, this was a local area. However from about 3am until 12.45pm every day and every night the church bell rings on the hour, quarter past the hour and quarter to the hour and vibrates down all the alley ways - making for a pretty poor nights sleep!

The room was so basic and hadn't been cleaned very well and the door was made of glass and they hadn't bothered to cover it with a curtain - so you could see straight into the room. It has been the only place we've not felt very secure leaving stuff in the room.

We had no hot water from the first afternoon and the second morning, we went to get this sorted and to their credit they found us another bathroom to use quickly so we could still catch our bus.

There were much nicer places to stay down the coast for the same price and could have day tripped it to Amalfi instead.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Could not rate A' Scalinatella highly enough.

We were greeted by brothers Gabriele and Filippo who were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. We had a lovely spacious room with a balcony overlooking the square, which was such a bonus. All the facilities in the room were great, including a comfy bed, a decent shower and fresh towels supplied during our stay. Breakfast was a brilliant way to start the day, especially the excellent coffee served with a smile! Such a good mix of people staying at A' Scalinatella, from backpackers, couples and general holiday makers.

Atrani itself offers an array of charming people, stunning buildings and views. Being in such a superb location, Atrani gives you a real authentic Italian experience, with a two minute walk to the beach, direct access to buses and a vast selection of restaurants and bars to choose from, and Amalfi town only being a 10 minute walk away.

We would definitely recommend A' Scalinatella, as it really is such great value for money and for anyone who wants a taste of the Amalfi Coast without the price tag.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the Piazza is such a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hostel is located at the town right beside Amalfi called Atrani.

Perfect for budget travelers, backpackers, and people who are generally avoiding the tourist crowds. It's only about a 10-minute walk to the Amalfi, and other quiet, less crowded beaches nearby such as Castiglione beach. It's a bus ride away from the more popular places like Positano as well.

Stayed for 6 nights. Everyone at the Piazza Umberto square right in front of the hostel were so nice and fun to hang out with! I'd recommend this place to budget travelers looking for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the balconies that are closer to the square (versus the ones located much higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place was a gem in a great location, literally 15 metres from the beach. Great budget price for the location, decent breakfast with very friendly service. The guys who run this place are very friendly and helpful, we booked for a dorm room and when we arrived they 'upgraded' us to a private room for no extra cost. Simple rooms, no worries. I would also like to mention the cafe across the courtyard, who were awesome!


To get here just take the bus to Amalfi and either walk the coast line for 10 -15 mins or find the walkway cut into the mountain till you get to Atrani. Its in the first square opposite the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is the 4th time I come back to this hostel! In my opinion is the best cheap accomodation you can find in the Amalfi Coast! Only 200 mt from Amalfi but less touristy. You can really get the feeling you are living in a "real place". The rooms (very clean) are spread out arount the village, up and down the stairs. They serve you a big breakfast and the owners are super nice! They have a website that I would raccomand to visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I loved my stay at A'Scalinatella! Atrani is a gorgeous little town that has very few tourists so makes it a very relaxing and homely place to stay. The bonus is it's only a 10 minute walk to Amalfi. The owners are lovely and on my arrival I was upgraded to a twin share room (booked a six bed dorm) which was a lovely surprise! Rooms were fine, breakfast was perfect and loved the little smiley face on top of the Cappuccino. Would recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit the Amalfi coast but doesn't want to stay in a very 'touristy' place. Hopefully I'll be back one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel

Address: Piazza Umberto I, 5-6 | Amalfi, Campania, Italy, 84010 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Scalinatella Hostel Hotel
a Scalinatella Hostel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.