We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but actual room was not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel

Save Saved
You added A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel
Piazza Umberto I, 5-6 | Amalfi, Campania, Italy, 84010 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location but actual room was not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is good for budget conscious travellers who want to relax in the small town of Atrani. The location is great and the brothers who run the hotel were very friendly and helpful. That said, do not come with high expectations for the actual room. We stayed in a dorm, which was clean but old and the bathroom was not up to par. See below for further details.

Pros:
• Very affordable for travellers with a budget
• The room and linen was clean, although the building was pretty old and somewhat run down
• The brothers who run the hostel were extremely friendly and helpful
• Breakfast was served in a common area and included a hot beverage, OJ and croissants
• The location was great for accessing both Atrani and Amalfi (Amalfi was only a 10min walk away)
• We loved the town of Atrani, which is very quiet and relaxing with a beautiful beach (located just minutes from the hotel)

Cons:
• The biggest problem with this hostel was the fact that the shower was not separated from the rest of the bathroom so whenever someone took a shower the floor and toilet got all wet
• Although free wifi is available, it is only available in the breakfast area, which means you can’t access it in the afternoon unless you sit outside the breakfast room (which is closed after 11am) and then the speed is pretty slow

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    29
    9
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
24
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The room we stayed in was great: a nice double room, really close to Atrani's wonderful main piazza with a little balcony. Breakfast was included and the owners were helpful and friendly. Rooms did seem to vary a lot in quality. Ours was fantastic but the twin rooms seemed a bit small for the same price. Comparing it with other places in Italy in August, it was pretty good value.

Room Tip: Doubles seem much better than twins for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The staff are terrific. Very friendly, they made us feel especially welcome at breakfast when they would entertain our seven-month-old son so that my husband and I could enjoy breakfast together -- we're not sure if A'Scalinatella should be reviewed as an accommodation or a baby-sitting service!

Everything is expensive on the Almafi Coast, so the prices at A'Scalinatella are okay, especially given the fantastic location. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable enough, but the washrooms are below par. Musty and damp, the bathrooms were more of an encouragement to head to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband stayed at Ascalinatella 6 years ago but Filipo remembered him, so arriving in Atrani felt very warm and welcoming. We had a great room with our own bathroom, and loved how close we were to the square (and Bar Birecto) and the beach. Every morning we had great conversations with Filipo at breakfast, and they looked after us so very well. We felt that our money was well spent here and we look forward to coming back!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights at the end of June. Our room was clean, comfortable and ideally located just away from the main square. The owners Filippo and Gabriele were extremely helpful and made us feel like locals rather than tourists.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruden bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our stay at A' Scalinatella was just amazing. Having booked into the hostel, we were offered instead, an apartment overlooking the Piazza Umberto. We felt so much part of what was happening in Atrani. The atmosphere was tremendous as was the help we received from Filippo. We would certainly return.

Jill & Steve, Slains Studio, Cruden Bay, Scotland

Room Tip: We would thoroughly reccommend the room above the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is in Atrani, a gorgeous 10 minute walk from Amalfi. We stayed in an apartment, which overlooked Piazza Umberto the cutest Piazza we found in Italy. The owners are great, more than willing to help. When we arrived with another couple we had booked 2 separate rooms, but he upgraded us to an available apartment for free. The hotel is pretty run down and dingy...it seemed that no one had stayed in this apartment for years. The floors/bathrooms/kitchen was so nasty (I never took my shoes off once). BUT if you could get over that part, the rest of the stay here was amazing. Great time!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel

Address: Piazza Umberto I, 5-6 | Amalfi, Campania, Italy, 84010 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Scalinatella Hostel Hotel
a Scalinatella Hostel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A' Scalinatella Hostel and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.