We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views shame about the music.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Felice Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Felice Relais to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Felice Relais
Salita Tuoro 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice views shame about the music.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The staff at Villa Felice were very friendly and the views from the hotel were fantastic. The deluxe double room had a large terrace with sun loungers which was excellent for relaxing during the day. In the evening from 6.30pm to 10.30pm there is a shuttle service to Amalfi which was very good.

We booked a deluxe double room as it had a large terrace with sun loungers and a sea view. Unfortunately the room was far from deluxe, there was a jacuzzi bath with a shower over the bath but there was no shower curtain, so we were unable to have a decent shower without flooding the bathroom. We had a mini bar in the room, but no glasses to allow us to use the bar, we were given two plastic cups on the first day and nothing after that... we were there for four nights! Worst of all, there was a restaurant that had a swimming pool opposite Villa Felice that plays loud music every night until 1am and on two nights had a laser light display. We were unable to sit out on the terrace in the evening because the music was so loud, one night it was so bad we had to ask the manager to contact the hotel to ask them to turn it down, they didn't of course! Apparently there have been problems with this restaurant playing music for some time now. The idea for us to book the deluxe room was to use the large terrace but we were unable to do so at night. This spoilt our enjoyment as we would have liked to have sat on the terrace enjoying the views of the sea and Amalfi at night, relaxing with a bottle of wine (bring your own glasses) but due to the loud music and laser show, so we had to stay inside and close the door. Unfortunately, the air conditioning didn't work very well, so we slept in a hot stuffy room. Until such time when the problem of the music is resolved, we wouldn't recommend this hotel for a quiet relaxing retreat, however if you like loud music this is the place for you. We will return to Amalfi, but next time we will stay in another hotel.

The staff were very friendly and lovely and the views were fantastic. The deluxe double room had a large terrace with sun loungers which was excellent for relaxing during the day. In the evening from 6.30pm to 10.30pm there is a shuttle service to Amalfi which was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    48
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
22
94
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Villa Felice is a small hotel just outside Amalfi with the most spectacular views over the Amalfi coastline and the Bay of Salerno , Its a family run hotel where you will be warmly welcomed and looked after throughout your stay by Maddalena and Christiana who will go out of their way to ensure all your needs are catered for .
Our room was spacious and we enjoyed having the balcony which overlooked the magnificent vista . The room had a fridge , safe , flat TV with english channels , a quiet aircon , very comfortable bed .... and we slept soundly every night .
Breakfast was continental style , and there was plenty for everyone. The locally made croissants were the best I have ever tasted . Breakfast starts at 08h30 , but they will help with an earlier start if required .
There is parking if you arrive by car , but its not easy travelling around by car and parking in the Amalfi coast towns is near impossible . At the last minute we decided not to hire a car , and travelled around by train , bus , ferry , and pre-booked transfer back to the airport. It all worked out perfectly for us doing it that way .
We stayed at Villa Felice for 4 days and travelled around mostly by bus which is quite convenient as the local Sita bus stops right in front of the hotel . We travelled up and down to Amalfi , Ravello , Positano by bus and it I personally enjoyed mixing with the locals and other tourists doing it that way . At night the hotel operates a courtesy car service up and down to Amalfi which we used every night.
Its a 10 minute car/bus ride from Amalfi to the hotel , so its quick . There is also a 20-30 min walk along a pathway which takes you down to Amalfi Town and we took that route one day to enjoy the breathtaking views and see how the locals live on the steep Amalfi hillside . It is ok to do this walk on the way down , but not advisable to try walking up from Amalfi as it is too steep a climb with lots of steps .
WiFi is free , but the service is a bit intermittent all over the area , and not just at the hotel . I still managed to get all my internet work done so it was not a problem.
Overall a very enjoyable stay , and many thanks to Maddalena , Christiana and Jacobo .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel with dedicated staff that makes it all for you Especially maddalena who made every thing to make our staying so fun like a family .
The rooms are spacious and clean and the view are spectacular ,Meals are served on the terrace overlooking the Bay of Amalfi . There is free parking for hotel guests And a shuttle back to the hotel in the evening if Necessary .
to Couples I recommend to book in advance the rooms with balconies It upgrades the experience of staying at the hotel .

Room Tip: to Couples I recommend to book in advance the rooms with balconies It upgrades the experience of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesloch, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed with 2 other friends for 1 night and would definitely recommend Villa Felice. We arrived late after a long drive and were so warmly welcomed, they prepared a tasty dinner, served it on the balcony (stunning view at the sea) and gave us a chance to enjoy the food and the evening. Had a lovely breakfast, they have a shuttle to Amalfi. Rooms were clean and cozy:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel Villa Felice is situated in a quiet residential area about 10 minutes by bus or car from Amalfi town centre. The hotel runs a shuttle bus service which is really handy; but there is also a bus stop right outside the hotel. Just make sure you buy some bus tickets at a tobacco shop first! The hotel itself is well kept, quiet and the rooms are clean and fairly large (we had a deluxe room). Breakfast is taken on a terrace with superb views. The food is simple but varied with lots of local fruit; you can even squeeze your own orange juice. The staff are very friendly and obliging, particularly Roberto and Jacobo. We would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay there again if we re-visit the Amalfi coast.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room for superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Villa Felice was a great hotel, with an amazing view to the sea! Everything was clean, the people who worked there were very friendly and my friend and me enjoyed the great breakfast on the terrace with a incredible view at 7 am (because of our bus)...usually the breakfast buffet is open from 7.30, but it wasn't a problem to have it earlier! My friend and me were really happy about the free shuttle service to the center of amalfi and back...the hotel was 10 min by car from the center and it would be too far to walk...there were also 'public busses', which we used more, because the last public bus is at midnight and the last shuttle service at 23.15...but to be honest...amalfi is not a party-place, = it was not neccesary to come back later...midnight was perfect...a dinner...a drink in a bar...and thats it...i REALLY liked the whirlpool shower in the room!! What a nice experience! The only bad thing was, that the wifi signal was very bad, but there was s laptop, that we could use for free!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone, specially for couples...amazing view, whirlpool-shower, a quiet place...just very romantic...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is simply beautiful.

Location - Located a 10min drive from the centre of Amalfi, it will cost you approx 15-20 euros to get there, but once you are there, there is a regular shuttle service run by the hotel. Its unique location offers stunning views of the coast of Amalfi. Here is a short timelapse video I took from the balcony of our room.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XKVEMfFU3K4

ROOM - We had a large room, with a VERY large terrace. Rooms are kept very clean, and the air conditioning works very well.

BREAKFAST - Varied and lots to choose from, no complaints here.

STAFF - Very helpful and friendly, attentive and hard working.

HOTEL - Kept very clean and run professionally.

A few points to note, there are a few stairs to climb, but this is expected in the Amalfi coast. There is no on site swimming pool, but there is one you can use nearby for a small fee.

Would highly recommend this hotel to travellers, and I would definitely stay here again.

Thank you to the staff for making our stay so relaxed!

Room Tip: Try and get one of the 2 rooms on the top floor offering very large terraces and amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Felice Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Felice Relais

Address: Salita Tuoro 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Felice Relais located in Amalfi, Amalfi Coast, Its suggestive refined environment is still redolent of the cultural and spiritual upheaval that made it renowned as a kind of "Cenacle". Today the atmosphere that reigns here is pure serenity.Three types of rooms very comfortable and furnished with style and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Felice Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Felice Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.