We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Feeling At Home at Villa Felice"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Felice Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Felice Relais to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Felice Relais
Salita Tuoro 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 34 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Feeling At Home at Villa Felice"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

We have just returned from 22 lovely days in Europe , we visited Rome, where the hotel Priscilla was considered adequate after several nights. We then went on to the Amalfi Coast where we stayed at Villa Felice, lovely place, wonderful views all around including the coastline.

We found people to be helpful and polite, but the stars go to the staff of Villa Felica; Andreas, Carmen, Velerio and Madelina who constantly work so extremely hard to ensure each guest had the best experience that could be provide. These people are always available to assist at anytime.

We had a great time at Villa Felice and certainly would like to return.

If you go, ask to visit La Carcara Ristorante - Pizzeria, in Pogerola where Bruno and his family will treat you like family ; excellent food and prices.

  • Liked — Location, staff, rooms, ambiance etc.
  • Disliked — No spur of the moment meals, only off the premises( if you dont drive staff will take you anywhere in the area free of cost)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    51
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
22
98
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

Despite some negative comments on Tripadvisor about this inn, I booked in the hope that their website and responses I received from them were honest. And, indeed, they were! What a lovely inn we found in Amalfi. Our quiet room 208, large, clean and cheerful, had a very large, private terrace overlooking the coast, air conditioning that was quiet, new and totally effective and and a large screen HDTv (so we could watch the fires ravaging our own beautiful California coast, when we wanted to). The bathroom, too, was large, clean and cheerfully decorated with local, colorful tiles. All seemed new, clean and spiffy.

I had contacted The V. Felice regarding my concerns about "the noise level" and finding the inn itself, two things that seemed to have caused some visitors problems. My inquiries were answered promptly. The room was as quiet as could be and we had no problems in finding the villa, as their directions were "right on" and there are signs on the road prior to your arrival. Parking was no prob either.

Unfortunately, their kitchen for dinner was available only one night and I did not appreciate an abrupt response to my inquiry from the woman who appeared to be the - matriarch. "No!" dinner was not available, with no explanation. I speak Italian, so language was no excuse for this. Other than this, the inn seems to be run primarily by a very competent group of four young people. The shuttle to & from Amalfi was always available to us and because their kitchen was not available, we did make use of their service every night, usually, to dine at Da Gemma, a very decent restaurant right in Amalfi with an excellent wait staff. One night we did dine at Santa Caterina and it was a hoot! - intense formality, including a kitchy pianist who played the likes of That's Amore" and the meal was not fine.

One note - if stairs are a problem for you, our room would be a difficult matter, as there are several flights of stairs, which occasionally left me huffing & puffing.

  • Liked — clean, cheerful, quiet, spacious room with excellent view, fine young staff
Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

Some distance (uphill) from Amalfi,our lower ground room had a view of the bay from a two foot x one foot deep balcony,some adjacent rooms appearing to have only a small window.
Note that the room costs are per person and the optional evening meal we thought expensive.Perhaps better to eat in a local restaurant.Told alternative rooms not available yet evidently few other guests.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

My husband and stayed at the Villa Felice last September and we loved it. THe villa has an amazing view. I reccomend the big deluxe room with the balcony and the view.
The staff is great and very helpful.
As the villa is 4 km from the centre you use the hotel car to go to the beach or in town. You call them at anytime and they are there for you in 5 minutes.
Great experience, great Place.
The only bad thing was the food. We would not reccoment to dine there..just go into town ...

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

We spent in the hotel 7 nights in January. The hotel and the rooms were clean and the staf were friendly and helpful. However, be aware that
1. The hotel is NOT in Amalfi, but in the village above it - about 5 minutes uphill car ride. Definitely too far for a night walk.
2. We stayed in a standard room, as long as we were alone in the hotel (January!) everything was ok. After more guests arrived, we found out that the walls between the rooms were very thin - we could clearly hear everything in the neighbouring room (and the corridor as well).

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2005

My Husband and and I spent 4 days at this Amalfie Hotel, we found it to be less than satisfactory.
The Hotel is advertised as an international hotel, yet we could not raise reception not get an outside telephone line after 10 p.m. The food was lacking with not a great choice, it was a family run hotel where the people running it had no apparent idea how to run an International hotel, we were very disapointed

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

stayed for one week, would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. The staff (Antonio, Valerio and Pasquale) were so very helpful and welcoming and ran a very tight ship without taking the 'comfort' feeling away. Every aspect of making your stay comfortable/enjoyable had been thought of and applied. The deluxe room on the top floor includes a huge terrace plentiful with outdoor furniture, with fantastic views all around. The breakfast was plentiful with choices of cake, croissants, cereals, yoghurts etc, a help-yourself affair but with attentive service from the staff. We ate Dinner here one night, quite nice but was not tempted to do this more than once as there are loads of restaurants in Amalfi and surrounding areas (ie try La Caccacia Trattoria five minutes drive away, on main road towards Positano - excellent!)

The complimentary 'ride' into Amalfi, on demand it seems, was an added bonus to the whole stay. On a whole, excellent value for money, excellent location and extremely friendly people - when in Amalfi stay at the Felice!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Felice Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Felice Relais

Address: Salita Tuoro 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Felice Relais located in Amalfi, Amalfi Coast, Its suggestive refined environment is still redolent of the cultural and spiritual upheaval that made it renowned as a kind of "Cenacle". Today the atmosphere that reigns here is pure serenity.Three types of rooms very comfortable and furnished with style and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Felice Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Felice Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.