We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Lara to your Saves list
Villa Lara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Lovely place to stay in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We spent few days in Villa Lara last week, it is an amazing place, small hotel, few rooms
cleaned and well refurnished. Staff, specially Nello and Roberto are at your disposal all the time, handsome and so polite to let you relax on the astonishing terrace.
View on the village and direct to the Cathedral.
We really were satisfied of this Small hotel , right in the center of Amalfi

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    52
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
34
224
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The hotel is great. It is a short walk from all the main tourist attractions in Amalfi but it feels like a world away when you are sitting on the terrace watching the sunset. The rooms are large and very clean and the skylights in both rooms mean that they are bright and welcoming. The staff are fantastic. Alec and Nelo were very day managers and very helpful and friendly. Alec provided us with some good suggestions for walks in the hills around Amalfi as well as recommendations to local restaurants. The night managers were also very nice but we did not learn their names.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I booked this hotel for 1 night for my next holidays in the Amalfi coast in July. The following day I received an email from the hotel saying that unfortunately they could not accept my booking because they were fully booked for that date.

They explained to me that they had had a technical failure and shown the hotel as available but it wasn't. I believed them and accepted the cancellation but warned the hotel that they were offering rooms available for my date in several websites.

They said that they were working on it and again I trusted them and didn't complain, but at the end of the day I found out that everything was a big lie. The thing is that they did have availability for the date I had chosen (and they still have even today...) but for 2 nights. So they had cancelled my confirmed booking to have rooms available for longer stays.

Of course I lost all interest in lodging in such a place. Beware if your booking is for 1 night only, they could try to do the same to you.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We can't praise the team at Villa Lara enough for a great experience. Service was outstanding, friendly but not intrusive. They made all of our family very welcome.
The rooms were great, Pietro and Nello ensured our children were in a room next to us, which made safety much easier.
The rooms were really comfortable. One of the largest and most comfortable beds we have stayed in. They were spotlessly clean.
Location was perfect, a couple of minutes from the centre of the town, meaning the hotel was always quiet.
Breakfasts were super - either on the balcony in the morning sun (looking out to Gergio Armani's yacht in the bay), or in the comfortable lounge.
Nello, Pietro and Alex were knowledgeable and provided great recommendations for walks and restaurants.
In summary, stay here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Situated within an old villa, approximately 100 yards beyond the end of the high street, in a quiet location. The villa itself sits on top of a small hill, with it's own lift within the hill, taking you to reception! The seven rooms are all individual and nicely appointed with clean comfortable beds. The best thing about the hotel are the staff, who are unbelievably friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the tiny terrace overlooking the town and the sea is also superb, with great coffee! All in all, the hotel and staff made our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed for one-night only during a brief tour down the Amalfi coast. Good value stay. The hotel is high up - tip: take the lift from street level - with good views over Amalfi. Not right in the centre, perhaps 10 minutes walk up the valley / gorge from the centre. Very welcoming / helpful staff. Room comfortable, though quite basic, with views to the rear / up the valley. TV with only terrestrial channels (which are not that good in Italy), with mixed reception quality - but not unlike similar hotels. Well equipped bathroom - though the shower was small. Simple breakfast served on the terrace - coffee / juice / croissant / home made cake. Would recommend on basis of good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We arrived in Amalfi by bus from Sorrento. It's a pretty straightforward walk from the marina/bus stop, up the main street (for about 2km's up a gently sloping incline) to the hotel. A lift takes you up to the hotel and by the time you get there you're quite high up on the hill so the hotel has amazing views.

After a very friendly greeting we were taken to our room which was very clean (the room is modern and our bathroom was an older style but again very clean), overlooked the back of the property - there's no building at the back so you are not overlooked and its extremely quiet.

The only drawback, if I have to point one out, is that it is a 1-2km walk up to the hotel which might be an issue for some people - if it is, I'd advise catching a taxi.

We had a great stay - the staff are very personable, the hotel small and service excellent - so have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#25 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#12 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Address: Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.