We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Lara to your Saves list
Villa Lara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Stromstad, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Really nice and cosy place in the background of Amalfi. Fantastic view over the city and the ocean! The service was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed there for 4 nights in july/august in 2010, and if we go back to Amalfi once again. -Villa Lara will be our choice of hotel.

Bengt Johansson

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    49
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
33
204
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the delightful Villa Lara in a pink attic room for 5 nights in October 2013.
We found the pink attic room utterly charming. It was spacious & clean & comfortable & we loved looking at the night sky through the attic window whilst lying in bed at night.
As mentioned previously, Amalfi can get quite hectic with the daytime tourists during the day, but just a short walk up the hill & you can escape the crowds in your own retreat at the hotel.
Breakfast & evening drinks are served on the outside terrace & although the fare is simple, the views overlooking the town & the harbour are amazing.
We loved looking out over the harbour each morning during breakfast & seeing the latest cruise ships that had arrived, whilst munching on the delicious lemon cake served at breakfast. The lemon cake is homemade using the famous Amalfi lemons which grow in abundance all along the coast. Apart from the famous lemoncello, these beautiful lemons are also used for making lovely little chocolates, lemon soaps & hand lotions etc. A great gift to take back home. We bought a number of little soap bundles, which you will see all over the place, for gifts back home & they were a great choice! Easy & light to transport back home & they make your clothes in your suitcase smell divine.
The staff at the Villa Lara were wonderful throughout our stay. Always asking at breakfast what your plans were for the day & assisting with both suggestions & practical information like timetables for buses & ferries, ordering taxis, etc. We needed to do some laundry during our stay & Luca suggested a laundry across the road from the hotel where the laundry staff did our laundry during the day while we went sightseeing, all for a very reasonable price.
We loved our time at Hotel Villa Lara & felt that Amalfi was a great spot to base ourselves & visit the nearby towns on the local buses & ferries. If you don't suffer with motion sickness & winding, narrow roads don't scare you, this is an affordable & exciting way to visit other places around this coastal area. The views are fantastic!
One day we spent travelling on the Hop on Hop off bus from Amalfi to some of the nearby towns & we really enjoyed the day. Sometimes Hop On Hop Off bus trips can be a bit hit & miss, but this one was probably the best one we have done!
Lastly, a big thank you to both Luca & Nello for both their patience & encouragement when I used them to practise my limited Italian with.

Room Tip: Choose an attic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for a week in the attic room. It was comfortable and roomy. The bathroom was new and everything was clean.
We were made to feel very welcome and looked after by the team at Villa Lara, Thanks to Nello, Luco and Alfonzo for making our stay so special.
We enjoyed the quietness of the Villa. It was only a 5 minute walk downhill to the cafes shops and transport services to the other villages on the Amalfi Coast.
As other guests have mentioned the terrace is a beautiful spot to sit and have your breakfast, which by the way was an excellant spread. Always plenty to eat and bottomless cups of coffee/Tea.
Thanks Guys!

Room Tip: The attic room has a dormer window with fantastic views of the town and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We loved this hotel in Amalfi, the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms were spacious. We stayed two nights, and really after the frightening road to Amalfi, didn't want to leave this peaceful beautiful place. It's a walk uphill to get there and a few stairs to the elevator and to the hotel itself from the elevator, but worth the steps. Amalfi was crawling with tourists from the cruise ships, 3 in two days that were in the bay. But at the Villa everything was cool and serene. I would stay here again, and couldn't say enough nice things about it. The scenery from the terrace is pretty spectacular. And a bargain at the price. The only downside to the whole experience was the powdered juice at breakfast Stick with tea or coffee.

Room Tip: We had a standard room in the attic, but it was cool and although it only had a skylight for a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We booked for three nights for the superior attic room (as we saw there was the bathtub for after that long walk). The first night we were transferred to a neighbouring hotel (Analara) with the same style. The second night we weren't given the attic but--like the first night--we were too tired and just went to bed. We curiously asked the next day and according to Melo, we've been upgraded and he sent a bottle of wine to make up for the mishap. He offered the attic room but we couldn't be bothered to move again. Plus the rooms are all comfortable and nice.

The best part about this hotel is that the view you see from the terrace where the sunshine greets you in the morning while you're sipping your coffee and looking over the beautiful ocean. This hotel is not just one of the highest located but also has an unobstructed view to the see.

Thanks to their effort of providing a lift, we'd otherwise have to take the many staircases after a long day of walking. I took the staircase down in the morning for a good exercise and enjoying the scenery.

We could see a beautiful valley from our room window and we only see beautiful scenery from this place in general. The area is quiet.

I read some reviews about how difficult coming in with the car. Well we were on 2-week road trip in Italy and the ZTL could be an intimidating affair in city centres in Italy. Just stay calm and drive through all those pedestrians and small alley, it adds to the excitement in this country. I wasn't calm at all at the beginning but decided to let my friend drive. Luca guided us to get to the hotel as the hotel sign was not very clear and our GPS screwed up. Then he called the garage to vallet park our car (thank you!). And then Alfonso (?) helped my friend with her luggage although it was fine with the elevator, that was really nice gesture and we appreciated it.

We will stay here again next time we are in Amalfi.

Room Tip: Superior. Attic superior if you want (tiny) bath tub. But attic may have lower ceiling in some parts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Villa Lara is an amazing B&B with one of the most dramatic locations in Amalfi. We loved everything about Villa Lara - the location perched above the town with wonderful views yet close enough to the shops, restaurants and town center, the friendly and warm staff,( with a special nod to our host, Nello) , the delicious breakfasts and stocked in-room refrigerators. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. We will be back. Thank you, Villa Lara.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we stayed two nights in Villa Lara- one in the superior room and the second in the junior suite and they both were so great. the view from this place is fenomenal, the service is kind and friendly, and the rooms are very comfortable.
the breakfast is very simple but all in all this place is highly recommended. Don't miss the lemon cake...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Address: Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.