We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Lara to your Saves list
Villa Lara
Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Villa Lara is a peaceful oasis in Amalfi.

We found Amalfi to be hectic during the day while the day tourists were in town, so having a retreat away from the crowds was wonderful. The evenings in Amalfi though are a delight, when the day visitors are long gone and the local people emerge to go about their business.

Circumstances meant that we stayed in two rooms, a room with a view of the sea and one that faces the valley. Both rooms were beautifully appointed, spacious and spotlessly clean.

The only time that we were aware of any other guests was when they joined us at breakfast time.

Two things you must do here are :

1. Linger over breakfast on the terrace. Whats the rush, enjoy the food and the company of Nello, his staff and your fellow guests as you look out over the coast and town.

2. In the late afternoon, sit on the terrace, enjoiy a glass of wine and watch dusk settle over the town.

I thought that Villa Lara would be hard to find, but it was quite easy. Just cross the main square and follow the only road in town until you reach the parking garage, walk under the arch and start looking for the sign on your left. Dont believe the sign on your right that you see that says "villa lara 20 metres" it is probably 200 metres.

We dont like hotels all that much as they all seem much the same without any personality and warmth. So for us Villa Lara was a highlight of our trip to Italy, as you could never say it lacks personality of warmth.

Highly recommeded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    48
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
32
197
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montecastrilli, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The biggest asset to this hotel is the staff who are really helpful and friendly. The rooms are small but clean and breakfast is good. If weather permits there is a pretty terrace to sit and have breakfast with lovely sea views.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in Amalfi for 4 nights in October 2012 at the Villa Lara. Everything about it was perfect. It started with the staff - everyone was very polite, helpful, down to earth and you knew they cared about your stay at the villa.

The location was great, it was about 5 minute walk to the ocean, the villa is tucked away in the mountains with a beautiful view. Don't be put off by the strange hallway leading to a creepy elevator - its part of the experience and it whisks you up into a private area you can call home.

Rooms were clean, very comfortable, made me feel at home.
This was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Lara in Amalfi as part of our honeymoon. Nello and staff were very attentive, courteous and knowledgeable. The location is perfect - close to the center of town, yet far enough from the crowds to provide a quiet and romantic experience.

The room was very clean and spacious. We were served breakfast on the smaller balcony with a beautiful view of the town and Sea. Definitely worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I reserved a superior double room [@ 150 EUR/night] nine months prior to our four night stay at Villa Lara Sept. 7-10. We were enjoying our accommodation, but were surprised to learn that we could not stay there our final night. "These things happen," we were told. Instead, Luca said we would be upgraded to a junior suite at Villa Adriana, an affiliated property across the street. So we paid our four night fee at Villa Lara and followed Luca across the street. There we were assigned to the Raphael room, which was very small. We balked at its size, but were told by the Villa Adriana attendant that we would have to pay an additional fee to upgrade to a bigger room. Luca did not intervene on our behalf, nor did he explain what happened to the junior suite we had been promised. Since we had already paid full fare at Villa Lara and had to repack and now unpack, we refused to pay the additional sum. Moreover, we were told by the same attendant that the Raphael room usually rents for 100 EUR/night. Needless to say, we felt disappointed and deceived by this experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villalara, receptionist at Villa Lara, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
1 ) I promised you the upgrade for free if the junior suite was available
2 ) you saw the sister hotel next door and we did not force you with a gun to move , you were very happy and entusiastic to move.
3 ) I accompanied you there personally and you could tell me there, you did not like the accomodation , not after left, you wrote the review
4) you paid 150 euro per night as you booked through a travel agent , whom we pay 20% commissions , so directly to us you paid less,
5) we bought a bunch of flowers costed Euro 50 that you did not mention
Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

It was by chance that we found this stunning villa, after a disappointment from another apartment in Amalfi. This villa is stupendous , designed and clean rooms, very nice breakfast, great location , very close to the center, yet far enough from the crowd, fantastic views , very friendly and helpful staff, we definitely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I experienced part of our honeymoon at this absolutely lovely place in Amalfi back in April 2013. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was. It is nestled high above one of the cliff tops. It has amazing views as we spent so much time just leaning on the railing looking at all that surrounds you. It is quaint place and feels like home. Nello and Luca (and the entire staff) make you feel just like family. Their hospitality was excellent and they didn't hesitate to go above and beyond to answer questions, recommend restaurants, call taxis, help with luggage and a ton of other little things. It was absolutely a pleasure to spend our time in Amalfi here and I'd recommend it to anyone wondering where to stay. Thank you Villa Lara. We hope to see you again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Address: Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.