We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Lara to your Saves list
Villa Lara
Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
“Charming and Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I experienced part of our honeymoon at this absolutely lovely place in Amalfi back in April 2013. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was. It is nestled high above one of the cliff tops. It has amazing views as we spent so much time just leaning on the railing looking at all that surrounds you. It is quaint place and feels like home. Nello and Luca (and the entire staff) make you feel just like family. Their hospitality was excellent and they didn't hesitate to go above and beyond to answer questions, recommend restaurants, call taxis, help with luggage and a ton of other little things. It was absolutely a pleasure to spend our time in Amalfi here and I'd recommend it to anyone wondering where to stay. Thank you Villa Lara. We hope to see you again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    48
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
32
197
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I and 6 month old daughter had the most wonderful week in Amalfi staying at Villa Lara. Grazie mille to Nello and Luca for being such excellent hosts. The hotel is well priced offering a homely charm and breakfast. We loved it.
Thank you Villa Lara.
Mano, Julie Diem and Prosper xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlieCapp
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I had booked the Villa Lara several months before my scheduled trip to Amalfi and I was trying to find the entrance to the hotel from Google maps. I found what I thought was the entrance, and took a screen shot and sent an e-mail to the hotel along with the screen shot. The next day I received and e-mail back telling me that that was not the entrance. I also received another screen shot that showed me exactly what the entrance looked like. The e-mail was signed Nello and even in broken English, I understood exactly where I had to park, and where the entrance to the hotel was.
One week before the trip I sent another e-mail to Nello asking that he make a dinner reservation at a restaurant (EOLO) for my wife and I to celebrate her birthday at 6:30 PM. I received an e-mail back saying that restaurants there don't usually open until 7:30PM and he asked if I wanted a reservation then. We had quite a nice exchange of e-mails and I was looking forward to meeting Nello and Lucca.
On arrival we discovered a stairway with 150 steps leading up to the hotel entrance. We also discovered a sign pointing to an elevator that took you right to the front door, a welcome sight considering we were carrying 3 bags.
When we got into the hotel, we found a charming seven room B & B with a beautiful view of the town and the Mediterranean harbor of Amalfi. The breakfast area is on a patio and has the view I just described. The room was large with skylights, and the bath area was wonderful.
Both Nello and Lucca went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable. They answered all of our questions, recommended restaurants and other shops, and advised us on what sights to see in Amalfi, Positano, and of course, the Isle of Capri.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone.
Charlie Cappello

Room Tip: All of the rooms that I saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Villa Lara for one week in August. It was a great hotel. Very quiet and an excellent view from the balcony. A great place to relax and enjoy the ocean view while being served a great Italian breakfast. The staff are really polite and friendly. Nello, Luca and Alfonso. We really felt that they were our friends. They helped with anything we needed. I highly recommend this hotel. The room was very clean. I will definitely stay there again. I loved Amalfi. I will go again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wonderful Inn, delightfully just outside the main tourist bustle, but still only a 10 minute walk to all the activity. The magnificent setting, and excellent guest accommodations, were only exceeded by the real local warmth of the staff, who were both incredibly helpful and delightfully proud of their spectacular home. Would return again in a heartbeat! Phil

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

An extraordinary experience. The view from the terrace is exceeded only by the service. In particular Luca was extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with, guiding us to the best dining and sights! The hotel was very solicitous of our needs and even contacted us before our arrival! A lovely experience that felt authentic and non touristic! Arun

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just returned from Villa Lara after a marvellous 11 day holiday.
We choose Villa Lara due to the very favourable reviews and yes they are all true, maybe even understated.
Nello, Luca and Alfonso treat you like family and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The position of the villa is stunning with views down to Amalfi and also up into the mountains. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking Amalfi may be the new 7th wonder of the world!!
Amalfi and the surrounding areas are very beautiful and there are many walks you can easily do although I would recommend walking down from Ravello rather than upto it!!
We stayed in the junior suite complete with hot tub and large balcony and are already planning our return trip to Villa Lara next year.
Thanks again Nello and team ciao

Room Tip: Junior suite is worth the extra if you want that something extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Address: Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.