We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great character - wonderful stay:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Lara to your Saves list
Villa Lara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great character - wonderful stay:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Aquamarina room in the Villa. It felt like we had a penthouse suite and the price was very fair. The room had a lot of character and the sunken hot tub was a real treat. The outdoor terrace seemed to run the width of the Villa and offered incredible views of Amalfi and the stars stretched down to the horizon.

Nello is so friendly and hospitable. It felt like we were staying with an Italian relative of ours. We would absolutely come back and stay at Villa Lara next time we're on the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Ask for the Aquamarina room for a romantic ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Villa Lara for three wonderful nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This intimate establishment is set back from the hustle and bustle of Amalfi giving you your own peaceful retreat, yet within 5 mins walk you can be amongst it all. We had a good sized room, with a large bed and best of all a private balcony with lovely views. Breakfast is simple but everything is fresh and a good quality and you can sit on the balcony with beautiful views of the water and start your day. My husband thought that it was the best breakfast of all the 4 hotels we stayed at in Italy based on the quality of the items. Fresh bread, salami, cheese, cereals, yoghurt, croissants, lemon cake - all washed down with a coffee made to order. However, what sets this place apart from other places is the service. It is second to none. Nello, Luca and Alfonso make you feel so welcome and take the best care of you. They booked our transfers, made reservations at restaurants, gave recommendations and I woke up on my birthday to find they had organised a beautiful bouquet of flowers for me (they noticed it was my birthday when we checked in and organised this!!!!!). They made our trip very special.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiNessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay a few weeks ago at Villa Lara. The location of this accommodation is fabulous because it is set back from the hustle and bustle of Amalfi and yet within a few minutes walk of the town centre. Views from the balcony at breakfast time were just gorgeous. The room we had was clean and comfortable enough. The service of the staff at Villa Lara was excellent. Luca delivered service with a smile every day and it was always a pleasure to walk through the door and see Alfonso's smiling face. This is a great place to stay whilst in Amalfi and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Villa Lara has fewer of the sometimes pointless services that high end hotels seem compelled to provide and delivers more of the rich qualities that process driven operations never succeed in attaining. Villa Lara is set towards the top of the valley in which Amalfi is located with spectacular views over the town towards the bay. The street sign as you approach from the centre says B&B with some understatement but I wish all B&Bs could be as satisfying as this one. This is a small villa containing seven well appointed bedrooms with a series of terraces stepping down the hill where guests can enjoy a slightly cooler micro-climate in the shade of umbrella pines. But the real treat is the breakfast terrace from which most people choose to view the rising sun. Here you can squeeze in and enjoy a serendipitous conversation with fellow guests in a way that conventional hotels do not facilitate, all orchestrated by Luca or Nello with a light touch of Italian provocation. Salami and cheese with real ciabatta just seem to taste so different perched on the edge of a cliff with a long lazy Amalfi day stretching out ahead of you. But be careful not to carelessly lurch into an order for café Americano a lapse which brought one of our Scandinavian fellow guests a strong rebuke. For those concerned about accessing such a lofty perch, no need to worry. The previous owners of the villa burrowed into the rock and provided a lift which whisks you to the top in seconds a welcome respite after a days excursion. Excellent service, invaluable local knowledge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Perfect says it all. Rooms were fantastic, great views (we had a very private balcony with beautiful views over roof tops down to the sea). Perfect location, beautiful area. But above all, Nello and Lucca made our stay so so memorable. Nello who is fluent in so many languages made us feel like family, sharing local information, history, wise on politics and philosophies on life. He is one of those people in life you don't forget. So welcoming, made us laugh and made our stay so memorable. If you prefer privacy, then they respect that also, but will warm your heart if you are happy to chat.

Very happy to organise transport / excursions etc, and wise on suggestions for places to visit.

The only one thing I would do differently next time is to make sure I book directly with Villa Lara via their website, rather than a booking agent. Direct email communication was speedy, and it just seems a shame that Villa Lara have to pay commission fees to agents when they put so much effort into making everyones holiday such an individual and memorable experience. Also I believe if you book directly and pay in cash, discounts are passed on directly to customers.

Thank you Nello and Lucca. We hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Villa Lara to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary- we loved this place so much. Breakfast on the terrace with a view of the town and sea is a perfect way to start the day! Our room is lovely too- spacious and modern. Nello and the team there was so helpful and charming- they really made us feel at home and made us laugh. We highly recommend this hotel.

Suki and Raj

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suki_Kan_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and stayed at Villa Lara in Amalfi for 5 days. We have been to other parts of Italy, but nothing has even compared to our experience in Amalfi thanks to Villa Lara.
This beautiful Villa hotel has incredible rooms which were very spaciously laid out. The Staff were outstanding and treated us like family.
The complimentary breakfast was delicious and we got to enjoy it every morning on the terrace overlooking the town and the Mediterranean.
We will stay here again without hesitation the next time we go to Italy.
We really recommend Villa Lara! You won't be disappointed.

Malena & Bobby

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Address: Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Lara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing