We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous honeymoon :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara

Save Saved
You added Villa Lara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Lara
Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Smolensk, Russia
1 review
“Fabulous honeymoon :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I have spent in that wonderful place our honeymoon from 23rd of August till 02nd of September. It was awesome!!! To begin with when we arrived to the hotel a big bunch of flowers, fruits and a bottle of champaign were waiting for us. The views from the windows are spectacular and breathtaking :))))))). The breakfast was always served on the terrace with the views to the sea, rockies and Amalfi city. There were always fresh croissants, rolls and special cake baked by Luka's Mum (the man who works there, very friendly, hospitable, nice and attentive), cappuchino, local cheese and salami and all other tasty stuff.
The room was cleaned every day. It was furnitured very nice as well as the whole hotel.
The hotel itself is a very cute, comfortable, quite and beautiful place where you will want to be back.
There is wifi there and a computer in the hall to use internet for free.
The owner of the hotel Nello is a very nice guy with a wonderful sense of humour, very kind, hospitable and attentive. They always advised us where to go, how to go and what to do :)))).
The hotel is located up in the street so you will see only wonderful views, and there will be no noise from the crowds. Nevertheless it is very close to tje square and the sea and it was a big pleasure to walk up down and to look around :))))))).
We advise you that place very much!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    44
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
180
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for a full two weeks at Villa Lara and can highly recommend it as an ideal location to stay in, whilst in this part of Italy. The staff were all exceptionally helpful and friendly and very welcoming. Facilities were also excellent and very clean and the breakfast each day was more than adequate with fresh bread rolls, cheese jams fruit and cereal plus as much coffee as you could drink. A nice feature was that breakfast was available until 10.30am every morning so no rush to get up and we found that most mornings having a late breakfast meant we got the breakfast balcony to ourselves which was extra nice.
We appreciated Nello's advice about booking directly with them at the hotel as this meant we could take advantage of a discounted price if paying our bill in cash.. Many thanks to Nello Luca and team for making our stay so enjoyable .

Room Tip: We had the junior suite although the ceiling is very low near the bed due to roof beams
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Nice hotel with beautiful views, and the staff were very friendly and gave good service. The hotel rooms were spacious and clean. Amalfi is very busy and crowded in August, but even though Villa Lara has a central location, it is still very quite and nice. Reccomend the place strongly!

Room Tip: Spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The first thing that needs to be emphasized is just how incredible the Villa Lara staff is, especially Nello. They are not only welcoming and accommodating to their own guests, but to even random strangers. They epitomize the friendly culture of this town, and are a credit to its people.

I found this hotel through a friend of mine. He had visited Amalfi recently with his wife, and bought a very special souvenir in town to bring home. However, the souvenir was lost in transit. He found the Villa Lara online, and emailed Nello to ask for help. Nello spent several days going back and forth to the store in order to purchase another of this custom-made souvenir, and paid for it in advance. It sounds crazy that someone would help a total stranger across the Atlantic, even paying in advance for this stranger ... but that is the kind of people the staff at Villa Lara are.

In any case, my friend referred me to the Villa Lara. Our stay here was absolutely magical. I will not say a lot about the town, because obviously it is a gem of the Amalfi coast and draws visitors on its own. The hotel however made the visit complete. It is a beautiful property, with charming and comfortable rooms. The staff works day and night to keep the property clean and immaculate, paying even more attention to their patrons than they already do to strangers like my friend. I cannot understate the importance of having a home to go back to, and to relax at, after a long day touring the coast. The Villa Lara completed our Amalfi experience by providing the home we needed each night. I strongly recommend the Villa Lara for any traveler who is looking for a home away from home, where you will be welcomed like an important member of their family.

Room Tip: Contact Nello ahead of time. He will do everything he can to make your visit perfectly customized fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Amalfi. The staff were very welcoming throughout our stay and the place has a nice boutique, funky feel to it. Rooms are modern, large, very clean and very nice to come back to. Breakfast is served on the terrace which has a great view. Free internet access in the main lounge area with a chilled out vibe, magazines etc. Relaxing!
One tip - the owners will give you a better rate if you book directly with them so avoid expedia etc and go direct.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at the fabulous Villa Lara for 6 days on our vacation on the Almafi Coast. Everything was perfect! We were so sad when we left and cannot wait to return. Nello and the Villa Lara team were extremely helpful and kind. Due to a foot injury, I had some issues getting around...Nello and the staff went out of their way to make me feel at home and in good hands. The Villa Lara is located a short walk from the main town. The short walk from town (even with a bad foot) was rather convenient yet the distance made you feel as if you were in your own private hideaway on a cliff overlooking the coast. There were great patios under lemon trees and flowers that made you feel as if you were in heaven. Breakfast on the patio every morning was very special. We highly recommend the Villa Lara for anyone looking for a quiet get away in Almafi. Additionally, staying in Almalfi was convenient for getting to other close towns such as Ravello, Positano and Capri - I would recommend staying in Almafi as a base. One more note - the private elevator that escorted guests from the bottom of the base of the Villa Lara was a plus. We miss Nello and team! cannot wait to see them again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

It's a bit of a walk up the main street (5 minutes from the centre) - but gives you an opportunity to get out of the small main center and closer to feeling less like a tourist. Great breakfast buffet and view, and the gents managing are very accommodating. Also, the shower is very easy to use. Wifi is available from the main area which is nice, clean, and bright - but you should not be on the net while on vacation anyway! (There is also a communal computer here available in multiple languages - French, Russian, English, Italian and more). I very much liked that there was a mini-espresso bar inside and the team there was always willing to make me one :)

There is a small series of steps to take your luggage up and then you can access the elevator. I challenge you to try the steps (sans luggage) - great short workout (hills are everywhere). Also consider bringing some hiking shoes and walking through some of the mountains there - Not easy I suspect but wish I did.

Key things I did that the team (Luca, Alessandro, Nello) at Villa Lara suggested:
- Ate at Donna Stella pizza
- Walked to the neighbouring town for dinner
- Had a small boat take me to a private windsurfer beach
- Went to Ischia (and visited Europe's largest thermal spa - Posiedon - 3hr trip so be prepared but worth it!)

(PS. Luca speaks French, English, Italian and maybe more. I was amazed to how many languages some people on my trip spoke!)

Enjoy your trip!

(Amalfi was a great place to kick off my trek across Italy)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Address: Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.