We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Lara is magnifique!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Lara

Save Saved
You added Villa Lara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Lara
Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Villa Lara is magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at Villa Lara for three nights in April and thought it was fantastic. Nello, the manager, was warm and friendly, filling us in on the region and answering all of our questions. Luca was patient with us as we tried to figure out how to use a phone card. Alexandro attentively had our morning breakfast (an assortment of fresh Italian pastries and fresh fruit) and cappuccino for us.

We found the location perfect and the hotel quiet. A few minutes walking distance from the busy downtown area and built into the side of the mountain, the hotel gives you an extraordinary view of the town of Amalfi and the Mediterranean. After a day of walking and visiting other towns along the coast, it was always a pleasure to return to Villa Lara. We'd go back there in a heartbeat.
Marilyn F. and Jim C., Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    43
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
29
182
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Very friendly, helpful and interested staff - important for the lone traveller.
Excellent super clean room.
Good breakfast.
However, were the lift to fail then you have 200 steps from the street to your room !
Nevertheless, I would have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravenna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Nice place Villa Lara to recharge the batteries and have a pleasant starting point to visit "Costiera". Beautiful and clean rooms, quite and small hotel where Nello and all the staff will help you to organize the visit of Amalfi and the other towns of this paradise. Breakfast in the morning is served on the (small) terrace, with "sfogliatella" and other sweets; the same terrace, overlooking on Amalfi streets, is the right place to taste a glass of wine before dinner.The hotel has few rooms and this is a guaranty of silence and quite (that means good sleeping). In few words Villa Lara worths a stop of several days to appreciate Costiera with the sympathy of Nello and the professionality of Alessandro and the others guys.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for five nights with a friend - we both thought it was great. The rooms are stylish, clean and comfortable, and generally have good views over the town. The location is good - just a couple of minutes walk from the front, and the owner and staff were all really helpful and friendly and full of good advice about the best places to visit. It's a small, personable and charming hotel that's definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

A short 15 minute walk (uphill) from the bus/ferry terminal. Easy to find, although it's a bit of an adventure to get to the B&B from the street. The 50 second elevator ride up to the building is a godsend for people with luggage. I suggest walking DOWN the steps once during your stay just to see what you're missing! The reward for all this?? From the patio, you'll enjoy one of the most beautiful scenes imaginable. We literally could have sat here for hours, surrounded by cliffs on 3 sides, the Mediterranean on the horizon, all while observing the bustle of the little town of Amalfi far below... drop dead gorgeous! The rooms themselves were small, clean, and very modern. The staff was entertaining, and this will be a place I'll remember the rest of my life.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great view, great location, and great service. Everything you can ask for when your on vacation. The staff is friendly and helpful with helping you arrange day excursions and at the end of the day your always welcomed back to a fresh and clean room and a warm welcome. Make sure you spend the time to enjoy the belcony with a beautiful view and a bottle of wine from the local wine store. Oh, and don't forget the chocolate that they make in Almalfi, fabulous!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

What a gem. My husband and I are so glad we stayed here, and are just sorry we had only planned two nights in Amalfi, because this hotel was such a pleasure to stay at. The room was gorgeous, the shower was the best we came across during a three-week trip. We felt so refreshed after showering here, and so relaxed after sleeping here. Breakfast in the morning is on a terrace overlooking Amalfi and the Meditteranean. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. When we went out for dinner on our last night we mentioned as we left that we were headed to Rome the next day and wondered if it was best to go through Salerno or Naples. The man said Salerno and when we got back from dinner he had written out the times and prices for all the trains from Salerno to Rome the next day for us. And at what we paid for the room it was an absolute steal. We would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Lara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lara

Address: Via delle Cartiere, 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Lara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lara Hotel Amalfi
Lara Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Lara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.