We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth consideration for stay in Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dei Cavalieri to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite 32 | Amalfi Coast, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth consideration for stay in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Pros- I loved the view..and the terrace of this hotel..The staff was also extremely courteous. Rooms were decent.
Cons- A short uphill walk away from main city (arnd 700 mts)..while i did not mind that, it can be a trouble for older people, and a little scary at night, considering thin roads and steep cliffs. Also the wifi is not available in rooms, and if 2 people from a room access the wifi using the same password, then be assured that one person will not be able to access the wifi..Also, in emergency, there is no supermarket nearby, you have to walk all the way to the main amalfi town, about 700mts away.
But that said, great value for money for compared to many other Amalfi Hotels

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    88
    49
    25
    17
See reviews for
48
138
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is a little old- some peeling paint and not a lot of curb appeal. But for the price, it is close to downtown amalfi and the buses. They have a free shuttle that will drop you off in the town square. You can walk, but there are lots of stairs! We went to the community beach within walking distance to the hotel, but there are over 400 stairs, so make sure you are in good health! Amalfi is so beautiful you won't spend much time indoors. The shower is tiny and the curtain sticks to you, so beware.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayes for a week at this Hotel. the pictures are very missleading. The hotel seriously needs refurbishing. The room we were given was very small and the bathroom even smaller. It was not possible to shower without the curtain sticking to you. I informed them at reception and was told they were full, however next morning the manager showed us the " Villa " accross the road. This was much larger but still in need of refurbishing. The rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels.
The views are beautiful if you get a seaview!!
Breakfast in the morning was adequate. The only down size was the wait for your tea/coffee. Dishes were not topped up whem empty you had to ask.
The hotel states they have use of a pool . What they dont say is that it costs 10 euro pp per day for the use. The same with the free shuttle service to the "private beach " . yes the boat is free but when you get there it is 15 euro pp per day for the sun beds. Not worth it ,the beach there is very rocky. We went to the local beach . Turn right out of the hotel and walk up the hill . Bout 7/8 min away, but than there is steps to go down 465 to be precise. Not for thoes who are not reasonably fit. If you can welll worth it.
Town is a good 15-20 min walk. Shuttle stops at 5pm. Local bus stops outside but infrequent. The hotel is a 3 star and it shows. Views are great but not for you if you have not got a degree of fittness.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ordered a room with sea view, on arrival, they have a parking place for free, we were offered to stay in a room the Villa, 90 stairs but great terrace with sea view, actually we were alone in the villa and enjoyed every second of it. The room is very elementary, very simple furniture and internet doesn’t cover the villa.

Breakfast is OK, not fabulous.

Room Tip: The hotel itself is about 15- minutes’ walk to Amalfi so going towards Amalfi is downhill getting ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our room was old but clean. The view was beautiful if you not look down . Pictures they post are not up to date. No balcony with grass and chairs like in the pictures. All tacky and old . When we got up in the morning there was no water in the taps . Reception said there will not be any water until noon . Reception knew this already when we rented the room. Share us with the information was the right thing to do!!!!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent a little more than a week in this hotel and found our stay rather pleasant. The hotel is about 15 minutes walking from the city center of Amalfi, the Hotel run a few shuttle services every day to it, but public transport is also available to and from town. We found the breakfast and the service excellent, staff was always very helpful and gave us a lot of tips; only downside the internet connection, that is only available at the reception and at times at pre-dsl speed, but surely you don't want to spend your days surfing the internet while you have Amalfi and its coast within a stone's throw :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ended up at this hotel due to a booing error at another Amalfi hotel. We loved the Amalfi coast and were thrilled to be there. The hotel itself was adequate, although very dated. The hotel rooms were so small you could barely walk around the bed. The fan in our room and our children's room was so loud it kept you awake and the shower was horrible. We only slept, showered, and ate breakfast in the hotel so it was fine, The walk down into the square was more than 10 minutes and very treacherous on the road. We took alternate routes that included steps, steps, and more steps. The cab ride back to hotel in the evening was less than a mile and costed 15 euros for our family of 5. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Address: Via Mauro Comite 32 | Amalfi Coast, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a panoramic rooftop terrace, Hotel dei Cavalieri is only 1.5 Km from Amalfi. Rooms come with a TV, air conditioning and private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available at reception. Some rooms are decorated in a Mediterranean style, while others have Renaissance-style furniture. Some also have a minibar and balcony. Some rooms are located in the seafront Villa della Marchesa annex, just across the road. Guests enjoy special rates and free transfers to a partner pool set 800 metres away. Decorated with antique furniture and bronze statues, Cavalieri Hotel includes a relaxing garden overlooking the sea. Friendly staff can suggest restaurants and places to visit in and around the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Cavalieri Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Cavalieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.