We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Dei Cavalieri to your Saves list
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite 32 | Amalfi Coast, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at end of June in the villa which was a surprise as thought we were getting a room in the hotel. Yes decor is a little dated but this is a 3 star and who goes to Amalfi to stay in the room or reception area! Staff in our mind were very good and answered everything we needed to know and made us aware of the local beach, restaurants and the feast of St. Andrea the towns patron saint which was taking place whilst there which was very interesting.

Stunning views from balcony area and a huge room which was cleaned each day to a high order. Breakfast was amazing for Italy with plenty of fresh produce. There is a walk into town but due to the weather no problem at all and a chance to be in awe of the views. Taxi back if staying out for dinner is 10 euros which isn't too bad.

We would have no issues with returning to this hotel if staying in Amalfi again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    85
    48
    24
    17
See reviews for
47
133
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My fiance and I really loved this hotel. It is small and antiquated. The decor is true to the region with our room being tiled such as that in Amalfi and the Isle of Capri.

We did have to wait about 3 minutes for hot water in the shower, but we were there for quite hot days and we didn't have a problem with having luke warm showers, at least until the hot water came minutes later.

We found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant. We met with three different receptionists and they were all good to us.

The breakfast here is incredible. This is the first 3 star hotel where the breakfast had real bakery treats, a fruit salad, Batista made cappuccino, ready made toast (Bruschetta), toasted granola and tomato and cheese salad. They also had packeted treats you could pack in your bags for your day in Amalfi.

They are a 10 minute walk from Amalfi down from an incredible view; but its up quite a hill. They have a shuttle service into and from town but they cease at 5:30pm which means that if you are in Amalfi for dinner you must walk back. The walk to town is along the a typical Amalfi coast road with no shoulders and wide enough only for two cars.

We parked there without any problems. They have a fair size parking lot for the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and book the room with a view. It really is a beautiful view (we didn't and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Villa Meridiana which is managed by the Hotel dei Cavalieri together with 2 other couples. The house has four bedrooms and is located about a half mile outside of Amalfi. This house is in need of a major renovation.... While the house itself is charming in many ways, there are also many many problems. For one thing, it is very very difficult to take a hot or even luke-warm shower!! There was rarely ANY hot water at all in the three upstairs bathrooms. Most days, the 6 of us took turns showering in the one bathroom located on the first floor. We continually asked the manager of the Hotel Cavalieri to remedy the situation.... he would tell us it was all fixed.... but that would prove to be incorrect. Furthermore, the air-conditioner was broken in one of the upstairs bedrooms for 4 out of the 7 nights we were there.... In order to cool off THAT room, we had to leave the doors to the other bedrooms (where the air was working) open..so that we could cool off the entire second floor. For $6,000.00 for the week, this seems to me to be a little ridiculous!!!!! The furniture in the sitting area is in a terrible state.... it looks like it was donated from a second hand shop.... there was nothing charming about it at all!! It should be replaced immediately!! Luckily it didn't rain at all when we were there, so there was no reason to stay in doors. I would NOT recommend this property in it's current condition.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Sunday and while the room was clean there was no hot water and the beds were really hard.
They also turned off the air conditioning so the room was so hot!
After 2 days of complaining they gave us a room with hot water but still no A/C!
We slept with the window open but there was so much noise from the street!
The place also needs a good paint job!
We will not return and do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Information doesn't flow from one clerk to another in this hotel: I called them one week ago to cancel a booking and was told that it was done, only to discover today that not only the cancellation had not been recorded, but they've also charged me one night for the no-show. Any attempt of getting a refund failed, as Mr. Giancarlo, one of the most arrogant persons I've ever spoken to, refused even to listen to me.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Loved just about everything about this hotel! The best part was that it was so close to a fantastic beach: Lido degli Artisti! Just a few minutes walk away from hotel (head uphill) and down "many steps" (464 actually) to the beach. For some reason Antonio at the front desk seemed reluctant to tell us about this beach at first--we'd read about it in someone else's review and had to ask specifically about it. If we hadn't already known, we might have missed THE BEST part of our trip. Very clean, spacious room. Generous breakfast buffet with LOTS of choices. Loved Milo the parrot in the lobby. Staff not as willing to arrange shuttle for anything but scheduled times (though other reviewers have said they had no problem doing so). For example, our ferry to Salerno was leaving at 12:45 and we were told by Antonio that the last shuttle was at 11:00. We ended up calling for a taxi to get to the town center. Also, the hotel's last shuttle from town is at 5:00 pm. We wanted to stay in town to eat dinner at a restaurant there. We called the hotel shuttle number after dinner. There was no answer--another taxi trip. Wifi in lobby only--quite variable and slow at times only other negative. Really a great place though! Would happily go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is good. It's close to Amalfi, but I wouldn't walk on the roads. Instead, we took advantage of the shuttle service provided. They even happily ran an extra one for us so we could get a particular ferry. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We'd had a rough start to the holiday, and they helped every time we phoned them. The alarm call was on time. The room was simple, but very clean and cool and fresh, with a stunning view. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of room in the bathroom. Breakfast was really good, with great coffee and juices and lovely fresh bread that you could toast up or just enjoy as it was. I really enjoyed my stay, and the staff made it for me.

Room Tip: Get a balcony with sea view if you can, it's beautiful. If you need anything, just phone the rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Cavalieri

Address: Via Mauro Comite 32 | Amalfi Coast, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dei Cavalieri 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a panoramic rooftop terrace, Hotel dei Cavalieri is only 1.5 Km from Amalfi. Rooms come with a TV, air conditioning and private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available at reception. Some rooms are decorated in a Mediterranean style, while others have Renaissance-style furniture. Some also have a minibar and balcony. Some rooms are located in the seafront Villa della Marchesa annex, just across the road. Guests enjoy special rates and free transfers to a partner pool set 800 metres away. Decorated with antique furniture and bronze statues, Cavalieri Hotel includes a relaxing garden overlooking the sea. Friendly staff can suggest restaurants and places to visit in and around the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Cavalieri Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dei Cavalieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.