We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still has that charm.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Still has that charm.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed at the Excelsior in july, this is our second visit having stayed there 4 years previous, a few teething problems with the room, as they gave us a ground floor room and having stayed at the hotel before we were disappointed, but on explaining to reception we were given a room on the second floor which is what i was expecting 2 days later, not a good start but we soon got back into the swing of things. We love the hotel and the area,and the stunning views, the restaurant with it's outside dining area, not many with views like it! now the food is simple italian and we find it perfectly good but we enjoy authentic local food, the hotel in places is a little tired looking, in a sixties timewarp, but it is all part of the appeal,, if you like airport hotels with absolutely no character and personal touch, then don't go, Hey we love it! and if and when they spend the millions bringing it back to it's former glory, i and many other regular visitors will probably find it beyond our means, and it will probably lose it's character anyway?

Room Tip: Higher rooms better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    234
    103
    55
    41
See reviews for
106
369
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I have just returned from this lovely hotel it was great ,I have stayed in many hotels worldwide but this one is a gem.Antonio is an asset to this hotel ,he remembers everyone by name and ensures that they are happy,the food is lovely for those that moan I can only presume they are the egg n chips brigade don't go to Italy and look for a full English breakfast remember "when in Rome" any way back to it staff are great helpful friendly and willing to go the extra mile for you, room was above expectations .I wonder at those that give negative views of this hotel perhaps their lives are the half empty glass types,now back to booking my return visit,go visit and enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are good with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maulden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Have just returned from a week's stay at the Excelsior Grand Hotel in Amalfi and really loved it! We had booked a superior double room, but due to us arriving late, nearly 11pm, after a very long drive all the rooms in that category had been assigned, so a very welcoming concierge gave us a free upgrade to a large split level suite with a fantastic private terrace overlooking the stunning Amalfi coast! It was absolutely brilliant! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Even if we hadn't had such a great room, I'm sure we would have liked it as all the guest rooms look out over the Amalfi bay. The views really are amazing. The hotel is located high on a cliff overlooking the coast and although it is a bit out of the way, the views more than make up for it. We had our own car, so transport was no problem. But the hotel runs a regular free shuttle service to Amalfi and to the hotel beach. We used the hotel bus on several occasions so that we could both have a drink with our dinner. Hotel facilities are good; free Wifi in main areas, excellent and quiet air conditioning system and an absolutely fantastic pool!
The breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Can't comment on evening meals as we didn't actually eat in the hotel. It's true that the furniture in the public areas looks a bit dated, but to be honest with views like that, who cares! And the friendly staff certainly made up for it anyway.
Overall, I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel and would love to go back there!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the coast, but generally the hogher you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overseal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We arrived very late after a manic drive from Naples to Amalfi and were greeted by a very pleasant and helpful member of staff. Our room was large and spacious with an equally large bathroom. The bed was firm, but not uncomfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. Next morning when we opened our shutters, all I can say is WOW, what a view, we were more than pleased with our room, and every room has a sea view.
The dining room for breakfast is on the first floor and you can either eat inside or out on the terrace overlooking the sea. For us breakfast was a little disappointing, scrambled egg, streaky bacon and hot dog sausages or cold meats and lots of cakes, The same every day and generally the hot food was cold. This is served as a buffet.
Dinner is served in the dining room on the second floor and is waiter service and most nights is served out on the terrace. It was ok but very limited in choice. The actual service is excellent as the staff are all pleasant and efficient (I can't understand that one reviewers comment about the staff, do they have the right hotel?)
The hotel lounge and bar areas are all amazing with absolutely stunning views. The pool bar is through a cave, which you can sit in and is one of the few places where you can cool off.
Overall this is very good hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it. We would go back if we ever visit the area again.

Room Tip: all rooms are sea view, we had 102, which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just returned after a 2 week holiday. I had read some of the reviews before the holiday and went with an open mind. The views from the hotel are amazing, in a fantastic location. Close enough to walk to the small village of Pogerola, where you can mingle with locals who are very friendly and use the shuttle bus or local bus to go to the busy town of Amalfi. All the staff at the hotel are so helpful and accomadating. The food was very good and a good selection for our family of four.Overall a brilliant holiday in a beautiful part of the world. The rooms are a little dated and could do with a makeover, but it did'nt effect the enjoyment off the holiday.We will deffinately be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just returned from a long stay here and had an excellent time! Reading the previous reviews I can not disagree enough with some of the negative comments about the staff and the food. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the head waiter, and the food was absolutely delicious! The views from the hotels were stunning and it was a quick shuttle bus ride into Amalfi. All in all I had a brilliant holiday and would return in an instant!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

After reading all the reviews on this hotel: some good; some not too good, I came with an open mind.

That said, I found the view from the hotel wonderful and that was about it.

Absolutely dreadful staff.... no customer service skills whatsoever. Very aggressive if you merely mention the slightest thing. They were absolutely awful.

Pool area totally crammed...inches apart from the next lounger. Only four sun umbrellas in total. So if you want to feel like a sardine...this is the place for you.

Food: nothing to write home about. Same menu every day and wasnt that good.

As for the hotel...it was clean but in desperate need of updating. Old and tatty furniture looking aged and worn.

Would I stay here again or recommend it? Never! Dreadful place.

If the hotel ever reads these reviews please please please take note and invest in some customer service training for you staff...your staff ruined the holiday!!!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.