We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful situation but not enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful situation but not enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent a week here as part of a package holiday and found that the upper rooms - with the magnificent views - were allocated to guests staying only for a few days. We had a room on the ground floor, overlooking the gardens with a glimpse of the sea through trees. Although clean and comfortable, the room was adequate if a little tired. Food was reasonably good but portions were very small and if you wanted to upgrade to a la carte, your pre-paid for table d' hote meal was not offset. Breakfast was good if you stuck to the bread, pastries and t-bags. Coffee and juice was from a machine and disgusting. Because of the position of the hotel, there was no sun in the pool area after 3pm which was very disappointing. The staff were incredibly efficient and friendly. Antonio, the maître d' greeted everyone by name and was on duty from breakfast until last serving of dinner. The deck-chairs around the pool, added to the old fashioned ambiance of the hotel and the view from the terraces - a different one for breakfast and dinner not to mention the bar area were breathtaking - but I'm afraid the view wouldn't temp me back to this hotel. Amalfi is beautiful and if I returned, it would be to a hotel in, not above the town, where we could venture out in the evening without having to pay for a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    264
    110
    58
    45
See reviews for
115
418
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed a few days in this beautiful place, the staff were courteous and helpful, the views from the terrace where you have breakfast or dinner are amazing !! A bit of a trek to the town but the courtesy bus provided a good service . We had a room with a view of the coast and the sea it was a pleasure to wake up to. Rooms could do with a reno but overall clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms have views but ours did and it was fantastic ...open the door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I only stayed for two days & wished I had had time to stay much longer, but it was a great place to stay and rest my feet after eight days of exploring Rome.
I had a wonderfully large room with all amenities including mini bar, and it was amazing to wake in the morning to the beautiful views of the Amalfi coast. I had a large balcony with table, chairs, and lounge. Just wonderful to rest my weary feet !!! Without having to leave the hotel, there were spectacular views from everywhere in the hotel.
Breakfasts and dinners on the balcony were fantastic as was the food. There was a good selection of everything you could think of and the service was terrific.
I found all the staff , especially the receptionists , to be very obliging and nothing was a problem for them.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and I know I will be back sometime soon and I will be certainly staying much longer.
Thank you to everyone for a very enjoyable stay.!!!.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Excelsior recently and were pleasantly surprised with the standard of the hotel. The views are amazing and the courtesy bus to and from Amalfi was a bonus although it was necessary at times to get to the stop early to be sure of a place. There are other local buses which also run on the same route but they are not cheap and it would have added extra expense if we had needed to use them continuously.
The bedrooms in the hotel are spacious although somewhat dated and tired. The staff were, on the whole, pleasant and helpful and the food in the dining room was excellent with good choices on the daily menu. We were on a half board package and had originally intended to eat out some of the time. We found, however, that the food on the Amalfi coast is generally very expensive and the hotel offered a much better option.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip - fantastic location and breathtaking views from our room and the restaurant balcony!

Décor is dated throughout but the friendliness of the staff and excellent service more than makes up for it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife & I have just come back from a week's half board holiday at the Grand Excelsior Hotel. Hotel, panoramic view and staff absolutely fantastic. The downside is we were all told on day 2 that we were only allowed one tea / coffee per breakfast, any additional will cost 3e each. Now having paid full whack to Thomson of £1350, we didn't expect to pay an extra 54e for the week, water / wine yes but not tea / coffee!
The owners had a cunning plan. There was two menus for Dinner to choose from, one being a la Carte and the other a daily set menu. The daily menu consisted of 3 starters, one being a soup such as Cream of Potato, Chick Pea soup, the others being Pasta such as Pasta with Mussels & Clam. Tons of uncooked pasta a few mussels & clams. 3 main meals such as Braised Chicken Legs (Drumsticks!) Cod in fresh tomato sauce with Potatoes ( Cod was seriously salty & the sauce was just a chopped up tomato). So we had to order off the A La Carte such as Tomato soup with Croutons costing 7e. Extra cost for week for food was 56e. The majority of main meals did not come with veg. Grilled veg was 5e off the a la carte menu and was always slices of aubergines, courgettes and a horrible reddish cabbage.
On the last day we were expected to have breakfast at 05.45 and get coach to airport at 06.00 arriving at airport at 08.20 for a 11.25 flight. After complaining, breakfast was changed to 06.00 & leaving at 0630. The last breakfast consisted of fruit juices, slices of cake and muffin. No tea / coffee!
One of the guests at this point had enough and she managed to find a kettle, tea bags, cups and saucers so we all had a tea. Another problem is because our holiday was off peak the bedrooms did not have air conditioning which was turned off in September. If you left the balcony shutters open then you were covered in fruit flies.The last hotel shuttle bus left Amalfi at 18.45, so if you wanted a red meat meal in town then you had to get a public bus back or an expensive taxi. On the plus side the staff including the Legendary Antonio were excellent.
So I definitely say that the best time for a stay at the hotel is during peak summer days only, don't bother with off peak stays. If paying by Debit Card, keep an eye on the receptionist, as they seem confused that this wasn't a Credit card, and they put my payment through twice. Had to get a refund 0530 on the last day.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a balcony. Rooms have Sky TV with Sky News & some channels in English. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

What's not to like about the Excelsior! This was our third stay here in the last three years, and the staff makes us feel like we are coming home! Everything about the Excelsior is pure Italy, and that's just one of the reasons we keep returning! It's the staff ( I won't mention names because they could all be mentioned ), the rooms, the food , the atmosphere and the amazing views that make for an excellent holiday each year. The location gives us access to countless walking trails, villages and easy travel to other attractions along the Amalfi coast. After a busy day, it is nice to get off the hotel shuttle, and enjoy the peaceful sounds of roosters crowing and church bells ringing. Our hats are off to Lorenzo and his great staff! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#13 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.