We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home! Willa and Barry - Goderich, Canada” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Goderich, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home! Willa and Barry - Goderich, Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

What's not to like about the Excelsior! This was our third stay here in the last three years, and the staff makes us feel like we are coming home! Everything about the Excelsior is pure Italy, and that's just one of the reasons we keep returning! It's the staff ( I won't mention names because they could all be mentioned ), the rooms, the food , the atmosphere and the amazing views that make for an excellent holiday each year. The location gives us access to countless walking trails, villages and easy travel to other attractions along the Amalfi coast. After a busy day, it is nice to get off the hotel shuttle, and enjoy the peaceful sounds of roosters crowing and church bells ringing. Our hats are off to Lorenzo and his great staff! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    264
    110
    58
    45
See reviews for
115
418
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I think this is our 24th visit to The Excelsior.
Over the years the hotel has got better and better.
A friendly family run business with charming staff.
The food is very good and typically Italian. Delicious pasta with non creamy sauces and excellent meat and fish. A good choice of desserts
The swordfish, grouper, scorpion and bream were very tasty and moist. Beautiful Roast beef veal and turkey were fantastic.
Contrary to a previous report the Wi-Fi was available in reception and there is also a hotel laptop for guests to use. The courtesy bus is free and there is also a Sita bus from the hotel to Amalfi at E2.5.
The sunrises while we were there were amazing as was the pool. Refreshing after a day out in the sun with hot showers both around the pool and in the cloakroom area.
Although we went at the end of the season the hotel was still busy but never gave the impression of being crowded.
Josette our Thompson representative is the best we have ever met. She really works hard to make your holiday the best it can be in this beautiful part of Italy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. It is a beautiful place, full of character. Every room has a fantastic view over the sea.
Our room and adjoining bathroom were well equipped, clean and comfortable. We went half board and the food was excellent both the breakfasts and the evening meals.
The staff were all very good. They were welcoming, friendly, efficient and all helped to make our stay extremely enjoyable.
I know that some people have criticised the furnishings and suggested that the hotel should be refurbished. We rather liked the furniture and, particularly, the decor and the beautiful ceramic tiles. I hope that if the owners do decide to refurbish the hotel, they keep the character of the place.
If you like a very modern hotel that looks as if it could be any hotel, anywhere in the world or if you want exactly the sort of food you would get in the UK, then this is probably not the hotel for you. If you want a charming Italian hotel with good food, beautiful views and friendly, helpful staff then I would recommend the Excelsior Grand Hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Have recently returned from a one week stay at The Excelsior Grand Hotel Amalfi, 7th-14th October 2013. The location was breathtaking. A room with a beautiful sea view. The hotel was very clean and all the staff could not do enough for us. A special mention has to go to Giovanni the Restaurant Manager who did an excellent job and all his lovely, helpful staff. Also Antonio (Mamma Mia!) who was also very cheerful and helpful. We can understand when talking to the guests why they return year after year. Home baked bread, cakes and pastries but to name a few choices on the breakfast menu. Excellent. Hope to return again another year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The location and views from here are absolutely stunning, our room was in a sort of annex which was away from the main building. We thought this was going to be a problem, however it turned out good and we were very happy there. The staff were friendly and helpful and the dinner on the terrace was excellent. Pool area and pool were also very spacious and well set out with great views over the sea. Free scuttle bus to the town ran regularly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located high above Amalfi town and has great views. The good news ends here. The hotel has not been renovated since the 70s? - no wifi, no entertainment, grumpy bar staff and not convenient if you miss the hotel's complimentary shuttle bus. Stay closer to Amalfi town

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We recently travelled to amalfi italy. We stayed at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. The staff there is amazing and couldn't do anything more to make our stay enjoyable. What a view from the rooms!! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#13 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.