We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular View!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The spectacular view was the best part of my 4 night stay at this hotel. Continental breakfast was adequate. The room was large with a terrace. Unfortunately it must have been fly season so I was unable to take advantage of the outdoor spaces. Travel to town required taking the shuttle or city bus service. I had dinner only one night at the hotel. The food was nothing to rave about and the service was lacking.

Note~. Watch your step entering the breakfast room. For some my eyes didn't pick up the step and I almost fell. A traveller in my group did fall and the staff did not even come to assist.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the countryside and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    221
    100
    55
    40
See reviews for
103
351
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Excelsior Grand Hotel in Almafi. The hotel was lovely. The bedrooms could do with updating but they were very spacious and so was the bathroom.
The rooms could have done with some information about the hotel, breakfast time, lunch time and pool opening times. They quickly went through some of this upon arrival but when you have been travelling all day and are tired you do not remember everything. The staff were excellent very pleasant, polite and obliging. The food was excellent three choices everynight, meat, fish and a vegetarian option. Hotel bus could have done with running more often as the bust soon got full and you had to wait an hour for the next one. Out of the hotel if you turn to your right and walk up the hill about 15 mins you come th Gerry's bar which served lovely pasta and the owner was very funny and welcoming. He even put on a large screen as football was on when we went in there and could not see the TV properly. They have a entertainment night in there on a Wednesday evening. Outside the hotel a local bus passes for 2.50 Euros single trip. These can be purchased at the hotel or in a tobacconist in Almafi. Once you stamp the ticket you have 45 minutes to use it so if your journey is more than that then you need the 24 hour ticket which is 7.60 Euros. You can use this ticket on all the SITA buses which run to Ravello and Sorrento. If you go to Ravello you are best taking the Hop on Hop n off tour bus this is open top and cost 3 Euros each way which was well worth it for the comforr and coolness if it is hot. At the back of the Hotel is a small lift if you go in it 2 floors down from here you can walk down to Almafi in 20 minutes, but only do this if you are steady on your feet as there are lots of steps, steep and crumbly in parts but fine if you are okay. There are hand rails but if you miss the hotel bus its quicker than waiting and its a nice walk down.
Maria who serves is so nice and funny as are the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: All the double rooms have a balcony with fabulous views except the one we had and my sister and her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 10 days at the Grand Excelsior. What an amazing trip it was. This hotel is so unique and different from anywhere we have ever stayed. From the moment you walk into the lobby and look out over the incredible views you know that this is something special. We were in room 512 and our view was out over the ocean and down onto the village. We woke in the morning to roosters crowing, church bells and dogs barking. This is true Italy!! After a day of sightseeing we were so happy to return to this beautiful haven and sit on our balcony and just absorb all the sounds and sights. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated but that only adds to its glamor. Also, the cleanliness of the hotel in our opinion deserves a 10 star rating, it is immaculate!! The staff are amazing and treat you like family. The food was wonderful and Antonio, the matre de, was one of the most entertaining and lovely person we have ever met. His staff were wonderful and breakfast and dinner were an extremely enjoyable time. Last of all but not least of all, the views. You are perched high on a mountain top looking down on the most amazing sights. In the evening as the sun went down the sky was painted with the most beautiful colours. If you are considering the Amalfi area for a vacation I would highly recommend this hotel. And the Amalfi coast itself is one of the most incredible places we have ever visited. We willl definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We were in room 512. The views were amazing and the bed very comfortable. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Excelsior is what I call true Italy because it has everything you would want from a hotel but with classic style and soul.
- The view as you enter the hotel reception (and from then on) is breathtaking, especially at sunrise and sunset over Amalfi and beyond
- The rooms are modest but very old italy with pretty floor tiles and shutters on the wondows and they are perfectly comfortable.
- The breakfast was fabulous (try the oil baked rolls, still having dreams about them now)
- It is worth going half board for the value. You get three courses - with each you have three choices. Ask for a table on the terrace and eat under starlight.
- The pool was quite cold but very refreshing after lying in the heat of the Amalfi sun.
- The shuttle bus into the Amalfi was frequent and reliable as well as additional SITA buses or boats onwards to other parts of the coast.

Tip - if you want to eat out one night go to Scala by SITA bus. Il pinguinos restaurant is lovely and they will prepare things off menu.

Room Tip: stay in the main building, every room gives an unforgettable view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just come back from this hotel and what a find ! Rooms are quirky and rest of hotel is old fashioned but somehow graceful. We had an amazing view from our balcony which made up for the one down side which was rooms had an adjoining door to next room which made it very difficult not to hear every word being said by the occupants. The food was wonderful and we ate sitting on a beautiful terrace overlooking the harbour. Staff are lovely and the whole area is amazing. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to go back !!!

Room Tip: All rooms over look the sea so just enjoy !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have just had a lovely fortnight's stay at this hotel. Most worthy of praise are the staff, who are knowledgeable and obliging. When I didn't know how to operate the TV in our room (my fault) and phoned reception for help, someone came quickly to fix it and explain how to do it (twice). Our accommodation was excellent, - a big bedroom, with good-sized bathroom, nice, sunny balcony and a stunning view out over the bay. The restaurant is attractive and the food quality good, although we would have preferred fresh fruit juice and fresh fruit with the otherwise satisfactory breakfasts. It's the end of the season and we think some of the decor will need to be freshened up for 2014. Also, we had a jacuzzi bath in our bathroom which had obviously been broken for quite a long time - it needs replaced. Good points - a very attractive pool and poolside terrace; a frequent shuttle bus to Amalfi centre, which was most useful, free use of the hotel's computer - and a bookcase with lots of books in various languages. What would we like to see that isn't there now? Maybe, occasional music in the bar in the evening? Such a nice setting would benefit by this. But only minor niggles. we will happily return, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Some people complained about their rooms. Not us. Ours was 506 and was big, roomy and near the lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is amazing. I had such a great stay. The views are breathtaking. Hotel rooms were clean, staff was super nice, and dinners were delicious. I honestly couldn't have asked for a better hotel. I actually enjoyed it so much, I can't wait to go again!

Room Tip: Higher floor if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.