We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice and well-located hotel with odd procedures” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A nice and well-located hotel with odd procedures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was my first trip to Italy and my first hotel in Italy, though I travel quite often...
As to the good points of the hotel I cannot but mention the very helpful personnel of the Reception, and the hospitality of Mr Antonio Caprio (not 100% sure of his position - possibly the restaurant manager or administrator). The location of the hotel and the view down to the Amalfi coast is unique and goes without saying, but sadly I found a few disappointing things about this hotel, which are probably the questions to the management. Thus,
- the swimming pool hours were from 9 am till 6 pm. Why?!
I presume all the guests who came there for their holidays, sun, swim and leisure would find this most inconvenient: no chance to swim before breakfast. Being a hotel located on the cliff and far away from the beach, it would be only logical to open a swimming pool as early as 7 - 7:30 am, at least in the warm season.
- only hammock chairs, but no sun loungers by the swimming pool, so people could only sit rather than lie sunbathing by the pool.
- the hotel features a really unique bar - this is a bar "built-in" in a cave, and together with a panoramic terrace that opens up to the Amalfi coast it could have been a lovely place to sit at sipping a cocktail in the evening and contemplating a magnificent view down to the town. Instead, the bar was closed as early as 6 pm. What a strange idea to close the bar as early as that, especially such a nice bar as this one!!
- the system with getting " a permission" for the beach was rather peculiar and complicated: a guest was supposed to come to the Reception in the morning to get a pass to the beach, the receptionist immediately referred to a "secret list" and if the guest WAS in this list, he/she was given a yellow sheet of paper with the name, room number and the current date on. This yellow card then was supposed to be given to the employee at the Reception on the top of the Beach Reception to be exchanged for yet another smaller sheet of paper with the word "lift" on it. And that was "a permission" to use the two lifts to go down to the beach level. On the very beach the guest was approached by a beach-attendant, named Giovanni, and asked to produce this "lift pass". .. The procedure was to be repeated from the very beginning, should the guest want to leave the beach in the middle of the day and come back to the beach later!!
- no way of paying the services during your stay: the guests were to sign their bills (with just names of the services and dates on them, but no prices), and then to pay upon check-out. I found it utterly inconvenient! Later I came across with the same strange procedure in another hotel, thus I presume it is widely spread.
- one afternoon the hotel free shuttle-bus was broken, and another minivan was immediately found to take the guests to the centre of Amalfi. The was a certain festivity going on that evening, and a part of the road was closed for traffic (but not the part the hotel was on). Yet no bus was sent for the guests that evening to pick them up from the centre and about 20 people were left in the the middle of the night in the town. Of course we bought a ticket for a public bus and arrived to the hotel 1.5 hours later than expected. But no excuses and no compliments from the hotel were made, and the personnel, although very helpful other times, kept shrugging their shoulders.
- breakfast could be better for a 4-star hotel, although pastry was fresh and quite tasty.

To sum it up, this hotel could do much better to justify the proud name and the stars it bears :)

Room Tip: Rooms (700+) are located in a separate annex building, quieter and with a spectacular view, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    202
    98
    50
    35
See reviews for
87
317
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Yes we do need food as well as a fabulous view & do not expect an enforced diet while on holiday. I have travelled far & wide but never in any hotel have been served such small portions of food, some of it tasty some downright bland. Oliver twist comes to mind, please serve your guests an adequate portion for dinner Excelsior Grand you are ment to be a 4* hotel. Breakfast was serve yourself so no problem here? Well that's ok if the flies don't beat you to it first, it's more than off-putting, surely this can be set out in a far more hygienic way. Also even a small change in choices to eat now & again would be a very welcome change. Italy have fabulous products why not use them.One last small niggle about the dinning room on occasion you had to wait for a table in the evening as it was not possible to book so we had been told, but some got looked on more favourably than others & tables set aside for them. When the question was asked why? The answer "oh they have been coming here for years". Overall the
dinning experience in the hotel was extremely disappointing & I won't ever get my table held for me because I'm never going back to eat there again.
But yes the views world beating, it's the best thing going for the establishment, staff cheerful &
helpful, decor dated, our room was clean nice linen & well maintained. the mini bus service very
useful & a reasonable sky tv service. Take your own hair dryer their's is not up to scratch, take fly
swats or spray & a must is mosquito repellant. I was surprised to find a notice forbidding us to
use the mini bar fridge for our own drinks, then another note telling us no drinks or food of our
own us allowed for hygiene reasons. So no hope of aleviating the hunger there.Also a note from
the rep. telling us to watch out for the snakes on the hotel steps that lead down to Amalfi, are
they poisonous was the question asked yes! came the reply, how poisonous? we are yet to get
an answer to that.
Amalfi is as lovely as it is interesting, the area with it's beautiful coastline, hamlets, towns &
villages, has an abundance of trips & sightseeing opportunities organized or on your own, to do.
It is an expensive part of the world, very busy in most places along the coast & at times difficult
to find a place on local transport, turn up early for your bus & try to keep your place in the que. A
lot of pushing in goes on.
On the whole we enjoyed our Amalfi holiday, would not return to this hotel but only because of
the food or should I say lack of it. but we do complement the hotel on it's charming staff.

Room Tip: High room for the fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel has an excellent spot, with superb views from rooms, restaurant, pool, etc. Staff were helpful, particularly in the Restaurant. Antonio, the man in charge of the Restaurant is a wonderful character and a superb ambassador for the Hotel.

The food was excellent. We only ventured out once for Dinner, down to Amalfi, for our anniversary. Our trip out started well with the Hotel giving us a complimentary bottle of Prosecco!

Two slight downers for us were that the air conditioning in the room was not particularly good (so much so that we ended up sleeping with our balcony doors wide open most nights), and that they had deck chairs round the pool (not proper sunbeds). They did rectify this on our last day (typical) when they brought the sunbeds up from the private beach. Bit too late for us though (deck chairs made sunbathing very uncomfortable and you couldn't do the back of you!)

All in all a wonderful holiday and I would recommend the Hotel. Don't think you could get a better view, that's for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in 205. Wonderful views, and very quiet whilst we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice enough hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. What an amazing view! Other than that, the food was a bit bland and the general atmosphere was that of an old peoples home.... Definitely needs a new management outlook, facelift and general modernisation.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Have just spent a wonderful 2 weeks staying at the Excelsior. The hotel sits on a cliff approx 1000 feet up overlooking Amalfi from where the views are jaw-dropping.. There is a regular free hotel bus service, as well as public transport, which meant Amalfi was only a 15 minute ride away.

The standard of cleanliness in my room and the rest of the hotel was very high - this also extended to the excellent pool and sunbathing area. I found all the hotel staff very courteous and obliging. The receptionists were particularly helpful.

There was a good selection of food and drink for the buffet breakfast including a wonderful choice of cake, doughnuts, croissants, etc. The evening menu offered 3 choices for starters and mains plus a dessert ( however, alternatives were offered if requested). An a la carte menu was also avalable. I made a point of trying dishes I hadn't eaten before and was never disappointed.

My main piece of advice to any new visitor is to take every opportunity to enjoy the amazing views the hotel has to offer, from the sunbathing area next to the pool, to eating on the restaurant balcany. For me my overriding memory will always be having breakfast on the restaurant balcony around 7am, just as the sun was rising, looking down over the bay of Amalfi where the sea was like a millpond.

The decor and some of the furniture would probably benefit from an update, although this was a minor issue in the overall scheme of things.

Having heard great things about the Amafi coastline it certainly didn't disappoint and the hotel just enhanced the experience.

Room Tip: The very best views are probably above level 3/4. My room on level 3 had a good view but was partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

stunning hotel with fantastic views across the amalfi coast and town . great swimming school .
although located high up the hotel offers free transport all throughout the day which was very helpful . also the hotel has a private beach for its guests which we enjoyed thoroughly and would have gone again had we stayed more . The breakfast was rather lacking in taste and choice but the rooms were very spacious and all have sea views !!

I would come here again

Room Tip: they all have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel. Staff so friendly and helpful. Wonderful views. Rooms large with balcony. Food very good. Perhaps a little tired but very good value for what we paid. Just a bit of a problem with shuttle bus which was often full up and we had to stand. We will probably go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.