We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Trip to Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Anniversary Trip to Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel has an excellent spot, with superb views from rooms, restaurant, pool, etc. Staff were helpful, particularly in the Restaurant. Antonio, the man in charge of the Restaurant is a wonderful character and a superb ambassador for the Hotel.

The food was excellent. We only ventured out once for Dinner, down to Amalfi, for our anniversary. Our trip out started well with the Hotel giving us a complimentary bottle of Prosecco!

Two slight downers for us were that the air conditioning in the room was not particularly good (so much so that we ended up sleeping with our balcony doors wide open most nights), and that they had deck chairs round the pool (not proper sunbeds). They did rectify this on our last day (typical) when they brought the sunbeds up from the private beach. Bit too late for us though (deck chairs made sunbathing very uncomfortable and you couldn't do the back of you!)

All in all a wonderful holiday and I would recommend the Hotel. Don't think you could get a better view, that's for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in 205. Wonderful views, and very quiet whilst we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    234
    103
    55
    41
See reviews for
105
369
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice enough hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. What an amazing view! Other than that, the food was a bit bland and the general atmosphere was that of an old peoples home.... Definitely needs a new management outlook, facelift and general modernisation.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Have just spent a wonderful 2 weeks staying at the Excelsior. The hotel sits on a cliff approx 1000 feet up overlooking Amalfi from where the views are jaw-dropping.. There is a regular free hotel bus service, as well as public transport, which meant Amalfi was only a 15 minute ride away.

The standard of cleanliness in my room and the rest of the hotel was very high - this also extended to the excellent pool and sunbathing area. I found all the hotel staff very courteous and obliging. The receptionists were particularly helpful.

There was a good selection of food and drink for the buffet breakfast including a wonderful choice of cake, doughnuts, croissants, etc. The evening menu offered 3 choices for starters and mains plus a dessert ( however, alternatives were offered if requested). An a la carte menu was also avalable. I made a point of trying dishes I hadn't eaten before and was never disappointed.

My main piece of advice to any new visitor is to take every opportunity to enjoy the amazing views the hotel has to offer, from the sunbathing area next to the pool, to eating on the restaurant balcany. For me my overriding memory will always be having breakfast on the restaurant balcony around 7am, just as the sun was rising, looking down over the bay of Amalfi where the sea was like a millpond.

The decor and some of the furniture would probably benefit from an update, although this was a minor issue in the overall scheme of things.

Having heard great things about the Amafi coastline it certainly didn't disappoint and the hotel just enhanced the experience.

Room Tip: The very best views are probably above level 3/4. My room on level 3 had a good view but was partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

stunning hotel with fantastic views across the amalfi coast and town . great swimming school .
although located high up the hotel offers free transport all throughout the day which was very helpful . also the hotel has a private beach for its guests which we enjoyed thoroughly and would have gone again had we stayed more . The breakfast was rather lacking in taste and choice but the rooms were very spacious and all have sea views !!

I would come here again

Room Tip: they all have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel. Staff so friendly and helpful. Wonderful views. Rooms large with balcony. Food very good. Perhaps a little tired but very good value for what we paid. Just a bit of a problem with shuttle bus which was often full up and we had to stand. We will probably go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great view. Service and food- worst place we have ever stayed. Meals cold, forgot the wine and after 2 hours no dessert. Maitre de prances around saying hello to everyone but delivers no service. A long way from with No shuttle bus in the middle of the day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I believe this hotel to be only 3* and the cost of the hotel did match 4* This hotel could do with a complete facelift, décor is very tired looking and furniture old and falling apart. Security not very good as doors only wooden slated doors which made the worst sound ever when shutting up at night. Internal glass doors secured with a handle, but unfortunately the cleaning staff do not bother to secure after cleaning the room.

Breakfast not too bad if you arrive quite early, but food very often cold. Evening meal very small portions and you have to pay 2.50 euros for water with your meal or pay for other drinks. You cannot pay cash for anything during your stay, all purchases are added to your bill and given to you at the end of you stay. This can be quite an eye opening total.

The views are spectacular, but in my opinion did not make up for the sleepless nights from noisy air con and loud noises when people were shutting their balcony doors. I would not book with this hotel again. Very disappointed with the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.