We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking Views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breath taking Views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although we had read mixed reviews regarding the Hotel, we had a fantastic room with a view (403) looking over Amalfi Town, yes the furniture may be dated but we dont mind the rustic touch as the room was very clean, spacious, good balcony, air conditioning that worked. We also were given a dining table on the terrace for evening meal with a fantastic view, Antonio and John were very attentive in the restaurant. The wine and beer is overpriced and we decided to go to Gerrys Pub in the Village every night as there was no entertainment in the Hotel. The Shuttle bus (and drivers) are very good, however in the high season the Hotel may want to consider putting extra shuttles on especially the last beach bus time and the last bus from Amalfi town. We only went to the beach one time the price is off putting along with the shingle/pebbles getting into the sea you definitely need something on your feet!

Room Tip: High Floor facing Amalfi town - (Room 403 is very good)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    234
    103
    55
    41
See reviews for
106
369
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

just returned from the beautiful resort of Amalfi, Italy.
stayed at the Grand Hotel Excelsior (my 3rd visit) & as before can not find any thing negative to say about this excellent Hotel.
All rooms face the sea & have spectacular views looking down to the town of Amalfi.
Food, staff & facilities all excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were expecting great things of this hotel, just a shame it didn't deliver. The setting was fantastic with spectacular views over the bay of Amalfi. The restaurant for breakfast and dinner was good, thanks to Antonio's attention. But the rest was such a disappointment. On arrival we were told our room wasn't ready and advised to go for lunch on the terrace. But the previous occupants had left at 7:45am (as we did a week later) - plenty of time to prepare it and it transpired this was a common occurrence. Then the sea view turned out to have two trees in the middle of it. The tour company later said this still delivered what was promised in the description but it felt more like stretching the truth whilst still taking our hard earned cash. We requested another room and were given "the only one left" - but there was no parasol on the stand on the terrace, the two chairs had been borrowed from the breakfast area and one of the table legs fell off if you moved it. Add to this air conditioning which didn't function in our room and several others (we were told it was switched off during the day and you had to request its restart, which didn't always work anyway), a shower curtain with a hole in it which meant the bathroom flooded, drawers which wouldn't close plus some Reception staff whose attitude bordered on downright rudeness and we were pretty unimpressed. This hotel takes advantage of its setting to get away with rooms and service which in our opinion just aren't up to scratch. We would love to come back to Amalfi but definitely wouldn't stay here again - there are plenty more hotels with views.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed. . Tired old hotel staff not helpful and not interested. The views are magnificent but everything else is 2-3 star. The food was nice but its a set menu so its pot luck what you get for your half board ! Not good enough when you've paid 5 star rates . The rooms are shocking very old very tired furniture and needs a lot of updating

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The only real thing going for this hotel is its view. The hotel itself is old, run down and shabby. It is in definite need of a major overhaul. We stayed for a week in July. The mattress was absolutely horrendous - all springs and it separated and/or caved in in the middle. We asked for a crib in our room for our daughter and we got a sketchy looking playpen that we did not use. We also had an ant problem in our room. We were told that if we used the fridge, they would remove it from our room. They will also charge you for ice. We didn't always have water pressure or warm water in the shower. The walls are paper thin and you can hear every possible sound next door and in the halls. The front desk employees were most often rude and unhelpful. The staff in the dining area were absolutely amazing - so friendly and hard working! They would also give us a small plate of pasta for our daughter at no extra charge. The breakfast was okay - I was sick of the breakfast by the end of our stay. The dinner menus were interesting, but the food wasn't bad. I think i enjoyed almost every dish i ordered. Water was not included in the meal. We never used the hotel's private beach, but the pool was pretty nice. You are high up and need to take their shuttle bus into town, which is often crowded and sticky. I think the only thing that keeps people coming to this hotel is its views, but for me that does not justify the price because it really has nothing else to offer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, U.K
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My Wife and I stayed for week beginning of June 2013, initially in room 515, which afforded a sea view but not a view of Amalfi, so after we had harangued the staff, we changed our room to 503 which gave us the absolutey fantastic 'views to die for'. The hotels selling feature is its prime position and the fantastic views it affords. I enjoyed the pool but there were no sun loungers. The Cave Bar was not open due to the very wet May, and water dripping from the cave roof. Lunch on the terrace with the great views was very enjoyable. Although a couple of miles above Amalfi, there is a shuttle bus and local bus service, but a taxi is 20 euros. Although half board we thought that the breakfast was very good with an assortment of foods, but that the evening meal was poor, and as a result we ate out most evenings. We did not use the hotels beach during our stay, and I thought that 10 euros per person per day a little steep. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very popular (adults) hotel, but I believe that the hotel is living on its past reputation and is in need of a complete overhaul,(especially the bedrooms). Again the hotels main selling point is its glorious position overlooking the Amalfi coast, and the fantastic views.

Room Tip: There are 6 floors in the hotel, but if possible choose rooms 1-5 on a higher floor, e.g 501-505 on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel was in a great location with a great and glorious view. The staff were excellent and very obliging and helpful and Josette (the Thompson rep) was amazing. Antonio, the head waiter was jovial, always there and ready to answer any question on anything. Jiovani was the nicest waiter eager to please. Rooms were clean and quaint. The only negative report is there was not enough umbrellas for shade by the poolside. And yes! We would return.........

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms below the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.