We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What can I say about this would never been enough comparing to the great time I've spent in Amalfi and in this hotel. A great always-smiling staff, starting from the reception, to the bar, to the restaurant and at the beach. It is an old hotel, however the view from all rooms is extraordinary, and the pool is amazing. WiFi is available only at the reception area and the breakfast is really good.
The hotel has its own private beach and a courtesy bus running through a schedule all day to both the beach and the city center, another good thing about this hotel that it is near to Gerry's Pub (only 10 minutes on foot) which u shouldn't miss in your trip to Amalfi at all.
A free parking is available which is a huge advantage not only in Amalfi but also in all Italy.
The prices in the hotel are fare, and when compared to the prices in Positano and Praiano and even in other places in the Amalfi u will sure justify them. The only thing that might be a disadvantage is that the furniture needs a renewal for sure.
Surely I will be visiting them again.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms (723-724) at the beach out of the hotel with a breakfast served to the room, if u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    201
    95
    50
    34
See reviews for
89
318
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our last hotel on the amalfi coast, and sad to say it was the only one which diden't meet our standards.
It was the most expensive we booked, €150 per night. Everything was old, the food in the hotel is cheap but very poor, They lie about the fish, we asked multiple times if it was fresh, which they said it was, but turned out to be frozen.

Then there is a sign in the room which says, that if you put something of your own in the minibar, The will remove The mini bar from the room!

So if you don't have to stay here, Don't!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel and we were very disappointed. The pictures of the hotel on their website and the facilities look very promising, but we we felt a bit betrayed when we arrived.
The decor badly needs an update, it feels like you traveled back to the 80s when you come in, everything looks very outdated.

We had a sea view room, our room wasn't very clean, the open soap bar from the previous guest was still there, gross. Overall their complimentary shampoo and soap bar (who uses a soap bar nowadays??) looked like they hadn't changed in 30 years.

Food was average, like I would describe most of the features in this place.

They pretend they have wifi, but the wifi only works in the lobby and even there it's a poor connection.

The hotel is furthermore quite a ride out of town, they do have a shuttle service going up and down several times a day.

They have a good pool, which is lovely, at the same time I'd say this is their only selling point.

I'd recommend to stay somewhere else. For the money we paid I think we could've done much better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently returned from a brilliant holiday break overlooking the Amalfi Coast. The Excelsior Grand Hotel really lives up to it's name. The staff were always friendly and helpful and the senior staff we came into contact with spoke English with little difficulty. We will always remember very helpful Annie on reception who was soon expecting twins and the friendly Antonio Caprio who always welcomed guests to the restaurants with a friendly smile and ran them with a calm efficient authority. The food was typically Italian very palatable attractively presented and certainly as much as we ever wanted. As for the hotel itself, all rooms appeared to face the sea and certainly most if not all had very generous balconies from which to admire the magnificent views of Amalfi and the coastline many hundreds of feet below. I should mention there is a free courtesy bus to take you to the centre of Amalfi so although the hotel position has those magnificent views guests are only some 10 to 15 minutes from the centre of Amalfi itself. I suppose the little extras such as private free safes located in reception and free use of a personal computer close by which I found very useful when the differences in the keyboard were explained to me. These are the little things that make all the difference to a holiday. There is also a good swimming pool on the sun terrace a very pleasant bar lounge adjacent to the main restaurant both surrounded by viewing balconies and many other facilities for which a hotel brochure is really necessary to fully illustrate the appeal of this beautiful hotel.
A very short walk takes you to the village of Pogorola and Gerry's Bar where there are even more views of mountains, coastline with Scala and Ravello our favourite place to visit in the distance. The food was good there as well. All in all The Excelsior Grand Hotel was every thing we could have wished for on the beautiful scenic Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: This is also a walkers hotel with many beautiful walks to enjoy for those inclined. An easy one st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Many tour companies book this hotel as part of a package. This is fine as long as you get a room with a balcony. The hotels try and give the tour guest the cheapest room in the basement ( or rooms in the 700 area). These are the dungeon and not acceptable rooms. There is no elevator to those rooms and many stairs. Do not accept those rooms and complain. That is the only way to get a superior room with a balcony.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a bit of a mixed bag. The views and the many balconies are great. The first room (118) we were given would not even rate 2 star. Ripped couches and a one inch thick mattress. When we complained we where then moved to room 705, which was better but still not part of the main hotel. We had to take two elevators and about 15 steps down with a further walk again! Level minus 1 (The porter broke the handles of both our luggage getting them down there). The meals are scarce on quantity and ingredients! The main reception couches were filthy dirty, and should be replaced at best, or at least steam cleaned. The yellow couches in the other area had at least been cleaned.
We saw someone else's room that was on the Emerald tour, and the room was reasonable, although very outdated. It depends on the room you are given and This hotel gets away with a lot, I think, because of the views and location. We were certainly shocked after staying at a four star hotel in Sorrento, which met expectations, to come to this place, well below par to say the least.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay, staff really friendly in particular salvatore the bar tender amazing cocktails, ask for his special you will love it. Lots to see and do. Capri, positano and make a point of visiting Ravello beautiful town, plenty of places to eat. If you want somewhere to stay with plenty of options for day trips yet a relaxing hotel you must come here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.