We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Scenic Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spent a week in Amalfi at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. The hotel was exactly what we had expected but more. The hotel sits high above Amalfi and we arrived from Rome tired after a five hour bus drive from the airport. The drive along the motorway was exciting, but paled in comparison to the drive through narrow streets of Naples and over the Tyrrinian
Mountains (phonetic). On arrival the driver who managed to thread the coast road and road up the mountain to the hotel continued to amaze all of us by backing the bus to drop us at the front door. Quiet efficiency was the rule for assigning rooms, keys and arranging luggage delivery to our rooms while we ate our first dinner.

On completing a very Italian menu of antipasta, main course and desert we wandered to our room. The small elevator to the fifth floor was not equipped for a large number of persons so we huffed up the 4 flights to our room. We were shocked by the size of room. We were prepared for typical small local hotel rooms, but instead were met with what was a well appointed gigantic room, private bath, small satellite tv and a balcony straight out of a Sophia Loren 1950's movie. The view from the balcony, the French shutters and doors were something to behold. Over the next week it was tough to leave the balcony, and head for the bed. Bed was good but not spectacular. European king size I.e. a two double mattresses on a frame. Very firm and comfortable if you can pull yourself away from the balcony.

We often left the doors to the balcony open throughout the night. Security seemed to be a non issue unless someone had spider man abilities. It appears most if not all rooms face the dizzying drop to Amalfi, hundreds of feet below. The drop broken by terraces of lemon orchards, pomegranates, olive groves, gardens and the thin sinew of pavement winding its way from Amalfi.

Meals were consistent. You should expect seafood, pasta, tomatoes, cheese, and little meat dishes. It is all local and well prepared. It is real Italian and you should not expect North American style food. Breakfast was sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs, ripe tomatoes, cucumbers and a wide variety of breads and pastry. Coffee of all types, tea, juices all added to a good start for exploring the coast.

The hotel is a bit isolated from the town. You can easily walk Ito the adjoining village, walk down the roadway (tempting but very narrow with lots of traffic trying to make single lane road wide enough to allow to coaches to pass each other)' take te old path and stairs or use the hotel shuttle, public bus or taxi. The latter is cost prohibitive at about 30 Euros one way to the bottom of the hill.

Shuttle operates once an hour in the morning then stops for the afternoon siesta and resumes later in the afternoon.

Staff were fun, friendly, helpful and clearly show respect for all guests as befits a family run operation.

great value for the money! A solid 3 to 4 star by North American standards. If walking or climbing is a challenge you may best be advised to stay elsewhere. However for the cost, the view, service, and cleanliness we would go back in a heartbeat. Unfortunately, it is closed during the winter season.

Room Tip: Any room facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    234
    103
    55
    41
See reviews for
105
369
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Situated high up in Pogerola with superb views of the Amalfi coast this is a fairly good hotel. We had a room on the sixth floor which was large and had a reasonably sized terrace.
The downside was the paper thin walls - especially with loud speaking guests next door.
Breakfasts were of a poor quality and the coffee from a machine appalling.
Lunch was of good quality and for the price of 100 euros a night and the amazing views I would stay here again if on a tight budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have been here many times and can say our trip in October was excellent.
A busy hotel but we have always been treated as individuals and with Southern Italian Style .
If you like the BBC4 Inspector Montalbano series I'm sure you'll love it here.
If you are a walker bring some stout shoes and walking poles and enjoy the fantastic walks on your doorstep.
I love fish and every night for 2 weeks there was a different type on the menu, cooked just right with delicate flavoured sauces. I usually finish off with a bowl of fruit or one of there beautiful desserts
Antonio, Giovanni,Tizziana, the two Marias,and all the dining room team are very good and look after you very well.
Breakfast is a feast with something for all tastes.
Our Rep Josette Vassalo from Thompsons is brilliant and nothing is too much trouble for her.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpington, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel and while I pre-emptied it was going to be dated by other trip advisor reviews, this was not a problem our room was clean and had the most stunning view to make up for it I was dissapointed that there was no coffee/tea making facilities provided though . Also I found the charge of 10 Euros each to use the hotel beach excessive. The public beach was half the price and less painful to walk on!!. However its a great place for a base to explore this part of Italy with plentiful boats and buses to get about if you dont fancy driving (thats not advisable for the faint hearted!!) My partner also found that the eveing meal was extremely small. I would recomend this hotel if you dont eat a big meal in the evening!! We didnt mind being woken by the Cockerel and the Donkey but others may.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went on a Thompsons half board deal and found a great hotel with a bit of faded italian chique,excellent food in the evening, very good staff and a great base to explore the Area.
Would happily return.

Room Tip: higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Excelsior Grand Hotel is located high up on the hill overlooking Amalfi town and the Gulf of Sorrento. Each room has a balcony and a commanding view of the sea. I had a room in the annex block which is a short walk away from the main building. Rooms 700 - 710 are in the annex block. If you have heavy luggage, you will have to drag your luggage for about 30 meters before reaching the annex block. There are no elevators in the annex block so you will have to walk down the spiral staircase with your luggage. Although the room is basic, the best thing about it is the wonderful view from the balcony overlooking Amalfi. Free wifi is available in the lobby area but not in the rooms. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was sumptous and the serving staff were friendly and chatty. The hotel has a shuttle bus service at regular intervals to Amalfi. Outside the bus schedule, you would have to take the SITA public bus at 2.40 euros per trip. Overall, my stay at the hotel was a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged, ask for a room in the main building and not the rooms in the 7xx s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is not the newest one but is in a very nice location. We had the room with sea view which really had an awesome sea view. The rooms are a bit old, no Internet in the rooms. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast is ok - not an international buffet, rather Italian with a lot of different cakes. The hotel has also avery good restaurant with amazing view and really good food! The hotel is about 15 min from Amalfi city centre and 10 min to the private beach! But the hotel offers a regular shuttle from the hotel to the beach/Amalfi and back which is really convenient. The hotel personal was very friendly and helpful! If we would go again to Amalfi we would definitely go to the Exelsior again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.