We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Alpington, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel and while I pre-emptied it was going to be dated by other trip advisor reviews, this was not a problem our room was clean and had the most stunning view to make up for it I was dissapointed that there was no coffee/tea making facilities provided though . Also I found the charge of 10 Euros each to use the hotel beach excessive. The public beach was half the price and less painful to walk on!!. However its a great place for a base to explore this part of Italy with plentiful boats and buses to get about if you dont fancy driving (thats not advisable for the faint hearted!!) My partner also found that the eveing meal was extremely small. I would recomend this hotel if you dont eat a big meal in the evening!! We didnt mind being woken by the Cockerel and the Donkey but others may.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went on a Thompsons half board deal and found a great hotel with a bit of faded italian chique,excellent food in the evening, very good staff and a great base to explore the Area.
Would happily return.

Room Tip: higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy9n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Excelsior Grand Hotel is located high up on the hill overlooking Amalfi town and the Gulf of Sorrento. Each room has a balcony and a commanding view of the sea. I had a room in the annex block which is a short walk away from the main building. Rooms 700 - 710 are in the annex block. If you have heavy luggage, you will have to drag your luggage for about 30 meters before reaching the annex block. There are no elevators in the annex block so you will have to walk down the spiral staircase with your luggage. Although the room is basic, the best thing about it is the wonderful view from the balcony overlooking Amalfi. Free wifi is available in the lobby area but not in the rooms. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was sumptous and the serving staff were friendly and chatty. The hotel has a shuttle bus service at regular intervals to Amalfi. Outside the bus schedule, you would have to take the SITA public bus at 2.40 euros per trip. Overall, my stay at the hotel was a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged, ask for a room in the main building and not the rooms in the 7xx s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aukahkay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is not the newest one but is in a very nice location. We had the room with sea view which really had an awesome sea view. The rooms are a bit old, no Internet in the rooms. The hotel is very clean. Breakfast is ok - not an international buffet, rather Italian with a lot of different cakes. The hotel has also avery good restaurant with amazing view and really good food! The hotel is about 15 min from Amalfi city centre and 10 min to the private beach! But the hotel offers a regular shuttle from the hotel to the beach/Amalfi and back which is really convenient. The hotel personal was very friendly and helpful! If we would go again to Amalfi we would definitely go to the Exelsior again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AAVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This old Italian style hotel sits in the village of Pogerola, overlooking the town of Amalfi. If you want North American style hotels with modern amenities, this is not the place, BUT, if you want a taste of old Italy where you can have breathtaking views of the Sea, Amalfi, yachts floating by as you rest on your balcony, then this is the place. I really cannot speak to the costs as the hotel was part of our tour package. The head waiter Antonio is a darling, always greeting us with a smile and making sure we had our special seats, overlooking the sea. The concierge, Annie, is wonderful. She arranged our concert tickets for Ravello, made sure any of our problems were taken care of and spoke with perfect English. The free hotel shuttle provided allows you to get into the town of Amalfi where you can take buses all over the Amalfi Coast. This is a charming place when you want to step back in time and feel like a local traveller who will be offered up incredible vistas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks either Amalfi, the pool , or for a quieter area, a room facing the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel views were spectacular, however it felt like you were living in the 80's. This hotel is in desperate need of a refurbish. The shower dribbled out, the beds were like planks of wood, the air conditioner didn't work, the Internet was extremely slow and there was no safe in the room. The positives out of our stay were the views, the free shuttle and the head waiter at the restaurant who ran a tight ship. Amalfi was beautiful, however I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoobs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There have been some mixed views about this hotel. My wife and I stayed here during the last week in September and enjoyed our stay. It's true that the hotel could do with some refurbishment but this is really a detail in relation to the overall experience. Architecturally the hotel is very interesting and a pleasure to stay in.

Our room was a good size, clean and enjoyed remarkable views from the balcony. The quality of service from the staff, particularly the resteraunt and bar staff was exceptional. With one exception (when it rained) evening were served on the resteraunts balcony although inside seating was available for those who wanted it. We did'nt eat in the hotel every night not because the food was poor but because we wanted a change of scene. Individual portions were not large but over three courses were sufficient.

The pool is a good size but the seating area around it is not sufficently spacious to allow the use of loungers. A terraced area adjoins the pool via a bar/cave where there is further seating and light lunches are served. We did'nt visit the beach as quite frankly we thought that the extra charge of 10 euros per person per visit was a rip off.

The hotel is actually in the village of Pogerola a few miles above Amalfi and I think that the secret of staying here is to always have a couple of SITA bus tickets so that you are not totally dependant on the hotel courtesy bus. There a selection of good bars and eateries in the village with Gerry's Bar being particularly special.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing