We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast From the Past and Spectacular Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Blast From the Past and Spectacular Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This old Italian style hotel sits in the village of Pogerola, overlooking the town of Amalfi. If you want North American style hotels with modern amenities, this is not the place, BUT, if you want a taste of old Italy where you can have breathtaking views of the Sea, Amalfi, yachts floating by as you rest on your balcony, then this is the place. I really cannot speak to the costs as the hotel was part of our tour package. The head waiter Antonio is a darling, always greeting us with a smile and making sure we had our special seats, overlooking the sea. The concierge, Annie, is wonderful. She arranged our concert tickets for Ravello, made sure any of our problems were taken care of and spoke with perfect English. The free hotel shuttle provided allows you to get into the town of Amalfi where you can take buses all over the Amalfi Coast. This is a charming place when you want to step back in time and feel like a local traveller who will be offered up incredible vistas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks either Amalfi, the pool , or for a quieter area, a room facing the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    234
    103
    55
    41
See reviews for
105
369
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel views were spectacular, however it felt like you were living in the 80's. This hotel is in desperate need of a refurbish. The shower dribbled out, the beds were like planks of wood, the air conditioner didn't work, the Internet was extremely slow and there was no safe in the room. The positives out of our stay were the views, the free shuttle and the head waiter at the restaurant who ran a tight ship. Amalfi was beautiful, however I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

There have been some mixed views about this hotel. My wife and I stayed here during the last week in September and enjoyed our stay. It's true that the hotel could do with some refurbishment but this is really a detail in relation to the overall experience. Architecturally the hotel is very interesting and a pleasure to stay in.

Our room was a good size, clean and enjoyed remarkable views from the balcony. The quality of service from the staff, particularly the resteraunt and bar staff was exceptional. With one exception (when it rained) evening were served on the resteraunts balcony although inside seating was available for those who wanted it. We did'nt eat in the hotel every night not because the food was poor but because we wanted a change of scene. Individual portions were not large but over three courses were sufficient.

The pool is a good size but the seating area around it is not sufficently spacious to allow the use of loungers. A terraced area adjoins the pool via a bar/cave where there is further seating and light lunches are served. We did'nt visit the beach as quite frankly we thought that the extra charge of 10 euros per person per visit was a rip off.

The hotel is actually in the village of Pogerola a few miles above Amalfi and I think that the secret of staying here is to always have a couple of SITA bus tickets so that you are not totally dependant on the hotel courtesy bus. There a selection of good bars and eateries in the village with Gerry's Bar being particularly special.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel is very big but starting to look a bit tired. Very clean and tidy though. Only ate once in the restaurant as the food was awful and the portions were meagre. The bus service to the town is prompt and useful but unfortunately stops too early. Could have been a seasonal timetable as we did visit in October 2010.

The view from the balcony was positively amazing. The ports in Amalfi and the whole coastline was there to see. It's spectacular.

Room Tip: Amalfi is famous for its' coastline so ensure you get a room with a view so you don't miss s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very good Hotel. Ignore the negative comments of some reviews on this hotel. The views were beautiful from all areas of this hotel. The staff were lovely especially Antonio the Head Waiter nothing was too much trouble for him.
Our room was furnished in the Italian style with antique chests etc. Bathroom was modern and the whole place was always spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were good and the dinners which were served on the terrace were always lovely with a good choice.
A really lovely holiday made even better by the staff and the Excelsior Grand in Amalfi.
Thankyou to you all at The Excelsior Grand.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views although there was a view from all parts of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have just returned from a very good holiday at the Excelsior hotel in Amalfi. We booked through Thomsons half board and everything went very smoothly (though check your suitcase weight before you go as Thomsons are getting hotter on weights now 15kg each, we booked an extra 5kg which cost £20 beforehand. We met some couples who got stung for £40 ~£70).
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the maitre'd Antonio was excellent at breakfast and evening meals.
The Hotel is situated in a village called Pogerla high above Amalfi and it takes about 15mins on the free hotel shuttle bus to get down into Amalfi. You can get the local bus for €2.40 into Amalfi, but be aware if you miss the last bus back from Amalfi the taxi's cost €30 from Amalfi to the hotel which is a rip off.
You can walk into Amalfi down the 800 steps from the village of Pogerla and takes 45 mins. We didn't walk back up though !
The hotel and our room was dated but it kind of adds a little charm to the place and having been to a lot of hotels in Italy this is the norm (they are not modern by modern standards). We had a room very low (701) and not in the main complex it was very basic not 4 star but did the job and the views were stunning , we opened our shutters and you could see the sea from in your bed :).
The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels except for Sunday's also the rooms had Sky TV but ours didn't function properly and I gave up trying to get the handyman to correct it. No tea or coffee making equipment in our room just a basic mini bar.
The breakfast food was OK nothing spectacular unless you like pastry for breakfast and the evening meals were very good in my book as I am not a fussy eater. You had a choice of 3 starters 3mains which changed daily and the chef's desert (ice creams if you didn't fancy his desert) . The meals were served to you by the excellent staff so no horrible buffet to fight over. You could also eat inside or outside on the terrace over looking Amalfi if you so wished.
The hotel has a nice swimming pool though not heated so very fresh when you got in and only had deck chairs around it as there is very little space. Also the hotel has a private beach which you get to on the shuttle bus, it costs €10 each per day but is well worth it as it has good sun loungers/parasols and is well secluded and relaxing.
There were lots of Americans and Aussies staying at the hotel which made very good fun conversation/banter for me.
Did a day trip to the ruins at Pompei and a trip up Mt Versuvius which was well worth it. I loved Pompei but you really need 2 days to see it all. We walked up Mt Versuvius in sandals which was ok going up but coming down you get lots of little stones under your feet so maybe trainers (sneekers for the Americans!) would have been better. Great view from the top over the bay of Naples. Also went on a cruise trip to Capri which was good , I recommend doing the cable chair lift from Anacapri expensive in Capri though.
My only major complaint of the hotel is that there is no entertainment after the evening meal in the hotel bar so we ended up going to Gerry's pub in the village as it was cheap (€5 for a pint and a glass of white wine) and there was some live music on (Gerry wasn't Elton John though !!!)
I would go back to this hotel but would get a room high up in the main complex.

Room Tip: Go high in the hotel for rooms unless you like rustic rooms then go 701~703
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
payts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very good hotel with a welcome shuttlle bus.Friendly staff through out. Location has excellent views. Central for visiting other areas. Pool are only has deck chairs - loungers would be nice! Take the walk up the hill - well worth it. Good food & views also.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.