We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely holiday !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely holiday !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very good Hotel. Ignore the negative comments of some reviews on this hotel. The views were beautiful from all areas of this hotel. The staff were lovely especially Antonio the Head Waiter nothing was too much trouble for him.
Our room was furnished in the Italian style with antique chests etc. Bathroom was modern and the whole place was always spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were good and the dinners which were served on the terrace were always lovely with a good choice.
A really lovely holiday made even better by the staff and the Excelsior Grand in Amalfi.
Thankyou to you all at The Excelsior Grand.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views although there was a view from all parts of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    197
    95
    50
    35
See reviews for
83
312
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have just returned from a very good holiday at the Excelsior hotel in Amalfi. We booked through Thomsons half board and everything went very smoothly (though check your suitcase weight before you go as Thomsons are getting hotter on weights now 15kg each, we booked an extra 5kg which cost £20 beforehand. We met some couples who got stung for £40 ~£70).
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the maitre'd Antonio was excellent at breakfast and evening meals.
The Hotel is situated in a village called Pogerla high above Amalfi and it takes about 15mins on the free hotel shuttle bus to get down into Amalfi. You can get the local bus for €2.40 into Amalfi, but be aware if you miss the last bus back from Amalfi the taxi's cost €30 from Amalfi to the hotel which is a rip off.
You can walk into Amalfi down the 800 steps from the village of Pogerla and takes 45 mins. We didn't walk back up though !
The hotel and our room was dated but it kind of adds a little charm to the place and having been to a lot of hotels in Italy this is the norm (they are not modern by modern standards). We had a room very low (701) and not in the main complex it was very basic not 4 star but did the job and the views were stunning , we opened our shutters and you could see the sea from in your bed :).
The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh sheets and towels except for Sunday's also the rooms had Sky TV but ours didn't function properly and I gave up trying to get the handyman to correct it. No tea or coffee making equipment in our room just a basic mini bar.
The breakfast food was OK nothing spectacular unless you like pastry for breakfast and the evening meals were very good in my book as I am not a fussy eater. You had a choice of 3 starters 3mains which changed daily and the chef's desert (ice creams if you didn't fancy his desert) . The meals were served to you by the excellent staff so no horrible buffet to fight over. You could also eat inside or outside on the terrace over looking Amalfi if you so wished.
The hotel has a nice swimming pool though not heated so very fresh when you got in and only had deck chairs around it as there is very little space. Also the hotel has a private beach which you get to on the shuttle bus, it costs €10 each per day but is well worth it as it has good sun loungers/parasols and is well secluded and relaxing.
There were lots of Americans and Aussies staying at the hotel which made very good fun conversation/banter for me.
Did a day trip to the ruins at Pompei and a trip up Mt Versuvius which was well worth it. I loved Pompei but you really need 2 days to see it all. We walked up Mt Versuvius in sandals which was ok going up but coming down you get lots of little stones under your feet so maybe trainers (sneekers for the Americans!) would have been better. Great view from the top over the bay of Naples. Also went on a cruise trip to Capri which was good , I recommend doing the cable chair lift from Anacapri expensive in Capri though.
My only major complaint of the hotel is that there is no entertainment after the evening meal in the hotel bar so we ended up going to Gerry's pub in the village as it was cheap (€5 for a pint and a glass of white wine) and there was some live music on (Gerry wasn't Elton John though !!!)
I would go back to this hotel but would get a room high up in the main complex.

Room Tip: Go high in the hotel for rooms unless you like rustic rooms then go 701~703
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
payts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very good hotel with a welcome shuttlle bus.Friendly staff through out. Location has excellent views. Central for visiting other areas. Pool are only has deck chairs - loungers would be nice! Take the walk up the hill - well worth it. Good food & views also.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 11 days in JUly 2012, weather superb, service excellent and the meals on the terrace looking out over Amalfi are brilliant, on the negative side the rooms are a little dated , but having said that you spend so little time in the room it is not a big issue. The walk to Pogerola is pleasant and the small village is not at all touristy , Amalfi is bustling as always and more expensive than other places, the shuttle service is good the only drawback being that the last one down in the evening is at 7.30ish and back from Amalfi is 10.45 ish with nothing inbetween which is a shame as with all Italian dinners you are still eating at 8.30 with no way of getting down town.
This hotel is a great place to go on excursions, which all start form the lovers fountain in Amalfi, generally at 0800 hours, the shuttle bus leaves the hotel at 0745 which gives you time for breakfast and to catch the excursion, interesting places to go are Pompeii, Herculaneum and not to be missed Paestum with 3 Greek temples, later occupied by the Romans with an amphitheatre and a fantastic museum. Do not hesitate, go to this destination you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend and i went to this Hotel for a week on 27th August. We arrived at Naples Airport and were met by our Thomson Rep. We went in the minibus and after an hour arrived at the Hotel about 7pm. We walked through Reception to the Terrace and were amazed at the fantastic view. We ate all our meals outside overlooking Amalfi. We went everywhere in our week, Capri, Positano, Mairori, Revello and Pompei, which was magnificent. My friend enjoyed the evening meal more than me, i found it quite small and lacking in vegetables, The Head Waiter Antonio, was excellent and a real gentleman, a great asset to the Hotel. We found the decor alright, it is Italy and they don't go in for modern furniture as we do. We loved the Hotel, Amalfi town and everything and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Amalfi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Excelsior. The views were spectacular from every point - restaurant, pool, cafe. The dinners were lovely - a well chosen selection of local specialties. The hotel has its own beach and what an experience that was - going down two elevators to a lovely private area, with umbrellas and a cafe. A relaxing experience - mixed with a bit of sight seeing via the courtesy bus.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at hotel nice greeting by staff showed to room 201
Bed was so bad that you were laying on the springs asked for a change fully booked.
They put a sheet of timber under mattress that made it worse .
Air conditioning didn't work
Ants in bathroom and bedroom moved to room 302 the following day bed just as bad don't have any doubles just singles joined together
There is no way this hotel is 4 stars more like two very dated

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.