We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely LOVED IT.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We absolutely LOVED IT.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Let me start out by saying that I had found this hotel on one of the travel websites and was intrigued with the idea of the view over Amalfi and hopeful that I was making a good choice when I did go ahead and book it. After watching Tripadvisor for the past few months I had to wonder about the range of reviews. We loved it and were very pleased with the hotel once we arrived after a very long 4 1/2 hour transfer from Rome. The views are spectacular and the hotel had all the services we could hope for. The shuttle service made the location ideal. We could wander around crowded Amalfi, or any of the other villages nearby and soon we would long for the peace and tranquility of our "home away from home" on the mountainside. The sounds of the morning were roosters and churchbells....what more could you ask for.
We were impressed with the staff and a special thanks to Antonio the head waiter whose outstanding service and attention to detail were appreciated. The food was exceptional and we enjoyed dining for breakfast or dinner on the dining terrace with the stunning view of Amalfi and the entire bay of Salerno below....truly memorable and very romantic.
Be sure to take a walk up the mountainside to nearby Pogerola and enjoy the views from Gerry's Pub and be sure to say hello to the charming Benito who runs the outdoor cafe at the entrance to the village. We found this a nice change from the touristy villages which were crowded at times. We didn't use the beach service while we were there but many others did via the shuttle. We would definitely return and met many guests who were repeat visitors.
A true Italian holiday....stunning scenery, delicious cuisine, fresh mountain air and lots of charming spots to visit in the area....Ravello, Positano, Sorrento, Capri; all easily reached by Sita Bus (and/or ferry) ....don't miss this experience and the harrowing rides around the mountain roads...its all part of the experience....
A truly memorable trip.....thanks Grand Excelsior!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    233
    103
    55
    41
See reviews for
105
368
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My daughter and i spent 2 weeks in august at Grand Excelsior Hotel . True ,the views are amazing , situated on the side of the mountain overlooking Amalfi . The hotel is clean and the decor is a bit dated , there was no entertainment during the evening , apparently the hotel had arrangements with other venues i.e Gerrys Pub , a short walk away , We stayed half board , food was lovely , drinks a bit expensive , ( make sure you sign for every drink !! ) went on trips to pompeii , Vesuvio & Capri , (book on line before you go ) Capri has some wonderful views and expensive designer shops , Although we did enjoy ourselves , honestly dont think we would return .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've just returned from our honeymoon in at The Grand Excelsior Hotel. The location and views were incredible, with a regular reliable shuttle bus to take you to the beach, and into Amalfi.

The hotel was fantastic, from our arrival at 11.30pm we were greated with a smile and a tasty plate of mozzarella salad and bread. There was always a warm welcome from Antonio and his team for the delicious evening meals of pasta, fresh fish and local vegetables and yummy deserts, alongside lovely local wines.

By day we relaxed by the pool and took in the surroundings, watching the boats and listening to the chuch bells, took the bus (and on one occassion walked the 800 steps!) into Amalfi and pottered around the ceramic shops and patesseries. We also took the boat over to Positano, and the coach to Pompeii and Vesuvius. We spent the majority of our evenings in the hotel bar, which always had a great atmosphere, and on our last evening a local band played.

I don't understand people commenting that the hotel needs 'updating'. It's a wonderful Italian hotel. We had a large room with lovely floor tiles, which had a large balcony (with a table, two chairs and three deckchair recliners!) which had beautiful views of the coast and sea.

We've come home relaxed, happy, and looking forward to a future vist to the Excelsior!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have just returned from stunning Amalfi and all we can say is the scenery was second to none it is one of the prettiest places we have been to so far,
The Grand Excelsior hotel has the best views over the town of Amalfi and although the facilities on the site were fairly limited and tired it was a decent place to stay, so if you are looking for a hotel with all the bells and whistles this is not for you. It is a perfect base to go out every day on the many trips which are offered in the area eg Pompeii, Capri, Ravello, open top bus along the beautiful coast road and the town of Amalfi itself with its many bars, café's and restaurants. There are several boat trips over to the island of Capri which is meant to be a wonderful sight to see, we were unable to do this as the weather was unpredictable this time.
In our opinion the hotel was a little tired in places and needed a touch of TLC, but it is still a very nice hotel, clean, well situated with an excellent courtesy bus running every forty five minutes to and from the beach and the centre of Amalfi.
Staff are all very friendly and helpful at all times especially Antonio the Maître Di who always made a special effort to make everyone in the hotel feel especially welcome, The prices were very reasonable for drinks and lunchtimes and in general the food was of a very good standard with a different menu every evening. Not really suitable for children as they may get a little bored as there is not much for them to do on site. We would definitely recommend a trip to Ravello which is a pretty little place with lovely views, bars, restaurants and its gorgeous little shops with murano glass jewellery and lovely souvenirs, lace dresses which are handmade in Positano so beautiful and not to be missed. Wonderful authentic italian family restaurants buzzy atmosphere which was terrific.
We would reccommend the gelato as it is delicious so many difernent varietes you will be spoilt for choice. we will visit Amalfi again in the future maybe a bit earlier in the season as we went at a very busy time of year August. This was our first visit to Italy and cant really compare this hotel to others in the area, but overall it was very good.
The bar staff were very efficient and friendly and do try the Rossini Prosecco with strawberry syrup very special thank you to Josette the Thompson representative who was extremely informative and always keen to assist and advise she gave us a lot of information re the best trips to go on and where to go etc cant thank her enough for all her help keep up the good work you are doing a marvellous job. Thompson rate this as three star plus which is a fair rating for this hotel.

Room Tip: Balconies are very small and not at all private there are larger terraces in some rooms, but we thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Location was excellent, shuttle to Amalfi was good ...but head front desk person, was not too accomodating or friendly, others were nice.Meals were just enough for supper, nothing spectacular. Didnt like the fact the we had to pay to use the beach that belonged to the hotel...$ 10 euro per person per day, should\ve been free & we had to rent their dollar-store towels - put a deposit. Didnt want any outside food, brought in town, left in room's mini-fridge & there was a sign saying that if any was found...the MINI-FRIDGE would be confiscated - what kind of nonsense is this ??....rooms were a bit old fashioned...had a lot of fun at Gerry's pub up the road. Yes, all coffees were not included with any meals - they should've been. Amalfi was amazin but i wont stay here again - great views, beautiful location ....supper, breakfast staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful location with wonderful sea views. The breakfast selection is quite large and the supper at the restaurant is excellent. The portions are enough to fill any reasonable stomach size. The waiters and waitresses offer a service with a smile. Has a free shuttle service to the town centre, about 15 minutes drive. Carry your shuttle time table on you at all times inorder to choose the correct pick up time from the city centre back to the hotel. Will recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is positioned up on the mountain side above Amalfi in a quite peaceful position with breathtaking views.The hotel offers a regular free coach service to take guest down to Amalfi and to also return guest to the hotel, the journey takes about 15 minutes. if you try to use taxis it can be expensive. The hotel is a bit dated but is clean and is run by a very friendly well organised staff especially Antonio the resuarant manager and his team. We found the choice and quality of the hotel food to be very good and we were pleasently full after each evening meal dispite at first glance the portions appearing small, our only criticism being that for breakfast the hotel could do with guest toast making facilities. All guest rooms have balcony sea views but not all look down on Amalfi. Our room had a second dividing door between the bedroom and bathroom that insured a good night sleep if closed. The hotel is isolated in the evening but if you take a ten minute walk up to the local village by turning right at the end of the hotel drive you will find a small village with a couple of bars were you can have a evening drink in the mountain air. It is well worth catching the local ferry from the harbour in Amalfi to Positano, Capri or go to Solerno., it is also worth taking a bus trip up to Revello. A lovely hotel in a lovely beautiful place.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balcony views of Amalfi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.