We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Better than before” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Devon England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Even Better than before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was our 23rd visit to The Excelsior and it has improved in several ways since our last visit in October 2011.
Although we arrived at 11.00 at night there was a lovely cold plate of meats, vegetables and salad waitng for us and the services of a waiter.
The Restaurant service has become far more efficient from the point of view of less waitng time before being served and once served the food always arrived in a good time, well cooked to the right temperature.
The breakfast has also improved, good last time but this time more choice of cereals and yummy pastries.
Two new coffee machines which require far less attention from the staff serve a good selection of drinks.
The waiting staff are very attentive, friendly and helpful.
Our room is cleaned thoroughly every day and the bedding changed every three days.
It is brilliantly positioned for hill walking and would recommend getting The Sunflower Book of the area before visiting and get some practice at walking up and down long flights of steps.
Although high above Amalfi there is an efficient courtesy bus running most of the day
Thank you Excelsior for another very good holiday

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    213
    98
    51
    37
See reviews for
99
331
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Having been here last year, we returned to this hotel with my sister in law and her husband during the early part of May for 4 nights. (it is located approx 3.5 hrs south of Rome). Once again we have found this hotel to be a beautiful place in which to spend our time, on our top floor balcony liesurely reading a book, gazing upon the waters and soaring birds far below...just lovely. The staff were the same from last year, seemed happy with what they were doing and did everything they could in making our visit a pleasant one. The included dinner was delious and varied from day to day and the menus were posted first thing each day in the elevater for consideration. The purchased wine that complimented each of our meals to be honest was some of the best we have had and our table was reserved each evening at the window overlooking Amalfi town. There is a free shuttle that runs on the hour into Amalfi, which by far is more practical than taking a car and will drop you off at the town square and pick you up in the same spot..very effecient and timely. The pool was open and we enjoyed relaxing here as well. The cool water offset the heat of the day. On one day we drove the coast to Sorrento and Positano areas which took approx 5 hours after making stops for pictures, shopping and fuel. Traffic as always was busy but posed no specific problems..(just watch your mirrors and the traffic ahead- go for a small car)...on another day my brother in law and I hiked into the hills behind the hotel which really was something special...with the views and scenery, peace and quiet (wear good hiking shoes and bring water)..we would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel to anyone...the rooms are extremely conmfortable and clean and are decorated tastfully..... keep in mind this hotel is older and is decorated in a 70s style...but that was what we expected and actually enjoyed. We did not go with expectations of a 5 star resort, and if that is what you are looking for ,you may not enjoy this hotel. We loved the classic Italian feel... please don't change a thing : )...It is without a doubt one of our favorite places on earth and we have had our fair share of travelling to compare to...we will return:)

Room Tip: go for the top floor..which offers an even better unobstructed view of the coastal areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

First let me say the cons arent really cons more preference.
Pros:
AmaZing views
Massive balconies
Really cool hotel vibe because you feel like you went back in time as old vintage furniture
Comfy beds
English channels. Was able to watch nba playoff games :)
Breakfast was ok, but view wa awesome

Cons/preference:
(keep in mind We are 28 and 30 husband and wife)
You CAnT walk to this hotel from city center. That was something we wish we had known. For someone like me who gets motion sick, I wish I had known because I am dreading bus ride down to city haha. Hotel has a free shuttle which is handy!
Crowd is an older one
Breakfast wasn't great. Cappuccinos were made from one of those vending machine type things.
Some staff Arw friendly. Just a weird vibe here. Nothing like othe hotels we have been at.
Bottom line, if you are looking to relax and have amazing views this is the hotel for you!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is as previously described in other reviews as dated and stuck in a 60s timewarp, it could do with a lick of paint and some modernisation, it is quite a charming hotel in its own way and the view over Amalfi is spectacular.  It's ran in an unfriendly way though, there's a petty rule about not bringing in food or drink that has been bought outside the hotel to consume in your room, they don't want you using their fridges for your food and drink basically, and if they find you have they threaten to remove the fridge, they cite hygiene for this policy. The real reason I suspect this is in force is because the hotel is in quite a remote location and they want to exploit you to use their mini bar and hotel bar which is quite over priced, on the first night we asked where the nearest shop was, (which incidentally is a little 10 min walk down the hill) and rather than answering the question, the young American receptionist in an obnoxious way alerted us to this rule. In all the hotels in the world I have stayed in I've never heard of anything like this, it's a pathetic rule, and when on holiday and have spent quite a lot of money to stay in this hotel,  to impose a whole host of "you must not do this & you must not do that type rules" like this on guests is unacceptable.  Also it is worth noting, anything you do get at the bar in the hotel is on a tab system which cannot be paid until you check out, they will not allow you to settle on a daily basis, what you can do is get an itemisation daily in order to keep track so there's no nasty surprises at the end of your stay. 

Breakfast is a continental buffet, coffee is from a machine and is vile, if you want eggs (poached, fried or an omelette) you need to pay for them, even if you're booked as half board, the evening meal is a set menu, a choice of one of three starters and the same with the main, the food is quite average. I overheard another guest describe it as "boring" when giving feedback to reception on checking out.

As previously mentioned regarding the location, the hotel have a shuttle bus that runs back and forth into Amalfi free of charge from early until midday, then from 3pm until approx 6pm, there's also a local bus service (SITA) that runs til very late that stops outside the hotel, you can buy tickets for the local bus in hotel reception and from tobacconist shops. 

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

An amazing hotel in 1960 time warp, not that this is detrimental to your stay, staff are brilliant food very good and view breathtaking. Amalfi is very busy and the hotel an oasis of calm. The walk if you have the stamina is an hour like it or not, but very pretty through lemon groves and woody dells.

Whatever you do DONT hire a car from LOCAUTO at the airport, really are bad news, on my return I had a false claim against insurance.

The driving is interesting and to have to be alert at all times but its worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting the Amalifi coast. Friendly staff, can't beat the views you get from the hotel. Has free shuttle that will bring you into town. If you miss the last shuttle, the public bus stops right at the hotel.
The only bad thing about this hotel is they need to replace the mattresses and pillows!
That's why I did not give it 5 stars.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This was our first stay in Italy after coming from Rome and it was just great. We had a suite that overlooked the Med sea, with helicopters flying below us. Fantastic. The staff was excellent, especially the front desk and restaurant. Although we ate in the dining room only one night I would have to say the food is very average for Italy but everything else made up for it and the bar is fantastic. Breakfast is a step above the normal continental offerings you get in Italy, although not much above but thats just being picky. There is a private beach that we did not get to but we heard it was nice. It is a very relaxing hotel considering the road on the Amalfi coast while beautiful is enough to make most people loose their lunch. Oh and this is coming from a Canadian who goes in the water in May....the pool is cold. Daytime it is fine but the pool area looses sun by mid afternoon and it is cooooooolllllllddddd. But you are still overlooking a "holy crap that is an awesome view" so it more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: Ocean view. Pay the extra. No more needs to be said
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.