We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good things come back in style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Thetford, Vermont
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“All good things come back in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We felt welcome in this hotel from the second we arrived to the time we left. We were greeted with an umbrella and a smile on a rainy day. Roseletta at the front desk was one of the nicest people we met in Italy during our vacation. The hotel was built in the 60s and the decor still shows it even the brand new chairs in the restaurant. Call it dated or retro it's like going back in time and a nice departure from some of the new and polished hotels we are accustom to today. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was great and some one of the best we had all week. Our only regret was that we were not staying longer.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view of the sea so no tip needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    234
    103
    55
    41
See reviews for
107
369
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I loved this hotel! Theservice is excellent and the views are amazing. Not right in town, but they have a shuttle into town. I would stay here again - anytime!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel is all about the view. It is well positioned high in the cliff / hill. I have to say that for North American patern you may feel disapointed but relax, you are in Italy! Enjoy the spectacular views! Ask for a sea view. I stayed at the higher floor with my family. We would stay at the terrace enjoyng the sunset. If you don't get the balcony you will always have the commom terrace. The pool is nice and deep. Not much space around it but it is relaxing. The service is good. Breakfast is fair. There is a bar when you can eat a pizza Marguerita. There were some tourist who joined their friends just for the dinner and the view. They were at Amalfi at sea level and went just to check the view and were amazed.
It is far from the Amalfi center so the beach was not a daily option but we were not in Amalfi because of the beach.
The price of this hotel was above average of all hotels we stayed in Italy but that's Amalfi and I decided to prize myself.
If you rent a car you can easily drive around. The road is narrow and you will feel like inside thise Bond movies.
Wireless internet available so you can access you Trip Advisor and pist nice comments and pictures of this lively area.
You can walk downstairs and check the Yellow Lemon plantation. You could get list walking around the hotel area.

Room Tip: Higher rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Amalfi coast region (even over Tuscany region) is particularily beautiful as are the views from this hotel. We had a room with balcony on the top floor approx mid building which offered an unobstructed view of the sea and coastline below. If you are prepared to be accepting of the fact this is an older hotel then do not hestitate staying here. Breakfast was on the open terrace and dinner inside overlooking Amalfi town itself..very romantic!... My wife and I drove down from Rome and were able to park at the hotel..(tip- rent a very small car- we had a Fiat 500- lovely)....staff were friendly and more than accomodating and quick to assist ....plan on taking the free shuttle into Amalfi as opposed to driving as there is very limited parking near the town or beaches. Be careful on the road; anticipate the oncoming car or bike coming around the corner on the wrong side and you'll do fine...in warmer temps anticipate long lines of cars and slower progress...We were able to travel around to Sorrento, Positano and had no problems..Took a bus to Pompei and climbed to the top of Mt Vesuvius overlooking Naples....fantastic time....should you have any questions please feel free to contact me...we will return to Italy...next time Sicily:)

Tramper

Room Tip: go with top floor corner room...pool opens later into May
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

First, the view from our room's balcony was worth the cost of admission...There's nothing that I've seen that quite compares...and I've traveled extensively. The trip on the winding roads through Positano up the mountain to our hotel in Amalfi was breathtaking...although frightening at times. The bus drivers really know what they're doing there and have a great judge of distance. It was October so we didn't use the pool at the hotel but it looked amazing and was quite large...We were there three nights and the meals were nicely prepared and there was a nice variety to choose from. We loved Amalfi and are talking about going for a month when we retire. The only negative which applied to most hotels we stayed at in Italy...is that the mattresses are terribly hard. If you've got back problems you're going to feel it on those mattresses.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We traveled to Amalfi as part of a semi-escorted tour. Definitely enjoyed this hotel, even tho it had dated decor and a miniature tv, we couldn't help but get up early to watch the sunrises over Amalfi, or spend time on the outdoor terrace bar for drinks, and gaze at the sea and town before our return to Rome. Located high on the mountainside (all the old rooms without sea views have been shut down), every room has a scenic view. The front desk staff all spoke excellent English (one is an American)--extremely helpful and accomodating for extra towels and pillows; as the weather had been cold but turned warm again our room needed help to keep cool and the staff were able to locate a great fan to help us sleep at night. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom, bed comfortable, the shuttered window doors and balconies terrific. There is a free wifi internet spot near the lobby, and one free computer to use if you didn't bring a laptop.

The shuttle bus helped us do our tours of Amalfi without paying for taxis, though there are some missing hourly return times that would have been appreciated (especially on the one day it rained forever). Food was OK, but not a highlight of the hotel. We were particularly surprised one evening when we missed the early seating and were brought into the bar until supposedly a table might open up; we were kept there for at least 40 minutes while other couples in our tour group were seated as we watched them get their dinners. No explanation from the wait staff, and we felt treated like poor relatives. The following day we had a long wait before our bus came to take us back to Rome and went to sit on the terrace; when we stopped by the bar to see if they would let us have glasses with ice since we had brought some bottled water with us, they refused even though they knew we had just spent a couple of days at their hotel and restaurant.

Nevetheless, we would consider staying there again, just not eating at the restaurant for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far side of the hotel away from Amalfi do not have views as good as those closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Hotel is in a beautiful location with stunning views.
Reception and all other staff are pleasant, helpful and professional.
It is not by any means a modern hotel; the decor is quite quirky! Everywhere is clean and tidy.
Our room was spacious and clean with a lovely L shaped balcony.
We made use of the convenient and regular shuttle bus to Amalfi and the beach.
The breakfast was fine and evening meals mostly good but only average on a couple of occasions.
We walked to the little village of Pogerola a few times for a change of scenery - this takes about 10-15 minutes.
Our holiday here was lovely and I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing break with fabulous views.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.