We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for honeymooners” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Excelsior Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for honeymooners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed here 1 week for our honeymoon and would definitely recommend.
Hotel is a short drive up the amazing and hair raising road, provided by hotel courtesy minibus. Best of both as the town and coast is easy to get to by minibus and there are many areas in the hills walk and explore. Hotel was clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. We told them we were honeymooning on booking and they gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne and fruit platter to the room. Room was airy and had awesome views from private balcony. Went half-board, which was generally okay, but evening meals not amazing. Would definitely use again.
Pros: Very friendly staff, Awesome views
Cons: Evening meal food could be improved

Room Tip: Room service: If they know you are honeymooning they'll send you a complimentary bottle of champ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    201
    95
    50
    34
See reviews for
89
318
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

One of our favourites in seven weeks of travel. A beautiful room on the 3 rd floor with a large balcony overlooking the sea and on one occasion a spectacular thunder and lightning show. (All rooms have balconies facing the sea). Huge comfortable room,lovely bathroom. Everything clean, attractive, fresh smelling. Large attractive public rooms, beautifully balconies off both dining rooms, swimming pool (although closed). Pleasant accommodating staff. Free use of computer, free regular shuttle bus to town (necessary). Food offered was good quality and plenty of it at breakfast and dinner. Fun staff in the dining areas. Charming to lie in bed with the french doors open to look out over the Gulf of Salerno in every direction.

Room Tip: I would say that all were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

this hotel is slightly away from the city centre - and that's it's only vice.

other than that everything is simply perfect. the rooms are big, the bathrooms are big (though the walls are paper thin. even when someone in the next room uses the loo - it feels like someone is in your room) the view from the anywhere is simply breath taking.
the food is the best i had in my entire trip to italy with a very friendly staff that make your day each time you meet them.

would not stay anywhere else once i am in amalfi again.

p.s: the rooms might feel a bit dated looking at the furniture, but then again it has its own charm. the tv doesn't work, your cellphone doesn't work (network not that great), there is no internet or anything of that sort - but you just simply open the french doors of your room and all the things seem useless. the view is simply something which you have never seen in your life - and why would you want television/mobiles/internet with that kind of view??

Room Tip: try getting the rooms on the 4th floor - sea view ofcourse. the balconies are bigger - and the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just spent the last week in Sept in the Excelsior and can only assume that those who've complained had been allocated accommodation on arrival and were expecting the usual Hilton style clone that is so prevalent wherever one goes these days.

The hotel is very 70's but it's certainly not tired. All public areas are in excellent repair and there are lots of them so the hotel never feels crowded. It's spotless throughout, the staff are helpful and polite, the breakfast is standard continental fare, the the lunches at the pool bar were excellent, (didn't have dinner in the restaurant so can't comment).

Drink and food was varied and reasonably priced, the shuttle service to the stony beach and town was reliable and regular and as far as the views go - wow!

My wife and I had a great time and not only would we recommend it to others but will go back ourselves if we ever return to Amalfi.

Recommend visiting Pizza Donna Stella & Gerry's Bar, taking beach shoes, (for the stones) and for a romantic evening out, Ravello is stunning and only a 20 minute bus ride from Amalfi!

The Excelsior is definitely "retro" rather than tired and shouldn't disappoint anyone who knows what they are booking.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

After leaving sorrento to amalfi and pasing alot of nice hotels in the town centre excelsior could not have gotten any further away.But i must say from every window and balcony there was a great view.
It's in a frazione of amalfi not in amalfi its self which was dissapointing even though the hotel ran a shuttel service they were not a frequent as you would like and even if you wanted to get an early start in the morning you were limited to the 1st shuttel service.
Rooms were very out dated,from the 70's.Bathroom was also run down and need of re fit.The air conditioning had issues all day,and wasnt working very well which im sure they turn it off at night.The room we had was clean and tidy but there were ants on the wall near single bed and rooms were not cleaned thru propley on a daily basis as you would of thought when you put your sign "please make up my room on the door".However all the staff were very helpful at all times and always friendly and willing to help.
Breakfast and dinner was included in our package and all meals were great.Buffet of hot and cold mixed selection one night and a diffrent menu another.Our waiter Giovanni was the best always with a smile and very promt with serving all 5 of us.the only reason stopping me from returning here would be its location,as the shuttel took a good 20mins each way and there was no street path or walk way to walk it yourself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

we had a great time at this hotel . Food on half board basis, very good. Hotel could do with a little make over here and there,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley cottage, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

There is not one bad thing I can say about this hotel. Everything super exceeded my expectations and beyond. The staff is amazing and went well above and beyond to make it a great stay for my husband and I. They are just lovely even so that all of the guest I encountered were happy and pleasant. The food in the hotel was delicious. The room was spectacular and the views from virtually everywhere in the hotel are breath taking. The value for the price and rate was hard to believe. It felt like it was just too good to be true. It was a great deal indeed. They had cars pick us up and take us to and back from local restaurants. A shuttle service that was reliable. It was a FIVE star experience. When I return to Amalfi I will hands down stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.