We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A near-perfect experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A near-perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed in the hotel's Amalfitana Suite in June 2010. We cannot say enough good things about this hotel -- the hospitality and helpfulness of the staff (especially the proprietess, Miss Josie, pronounced "juicy"), the fantastic location, the family-friendly atmosphere and beautiful views made this a near-perfect hotel for us. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and delicious fresh fruit. The room was kept immaculate by the cleaning staff during our stay. Our children were warmly received and always made to feel welcome. The only negative we can offer is with respect to the mattresses -- the king-sized mattress in particular was the hardest and most uncomfortable mattress we have ever experienced.

The beach is conveniently located just steps from the hotel and was busy with mainly Italian and European families. The water was crystal clear -- beautiful! Our children had a great time swimming and the hotel kindly provides beach towels.

This hotel does not have a restaurant, but it does have a bar menu and the portions are certainly as big as any you would find in a restaurant! Caprese salad, pasta, etc. is available and Miss Josie's husband is the cook. He also makes the breakfast -- delicious! Restaurant Eolo downstairs is owned by Miss Josie's daughter and was easily the best meal we had in Italy -- we highly recommend it for the food and the atmosphere.

We were lucky to be in Amalfi during the Feast of St. Andrea, the patron saint of the town. The people of Amalfi know how to celebrate! Processions, bands, fireworks...a lot of fun, so consider yourself fortunate if your trip coincides with one of their holidays. The Hotel Marina Riviera has the best view of the fireworks in all of Amalfi.

One word of caution about shopping for pottery in Amalfi: You should consider packing and shipping it yourself. We purchased pottery at a shop in Amalfi and it was poorly packed; two pieces were broken beyond repair and the shop would not help when I called them. FedEx was excellent about reimbursing us for the lost merchandise, but it was really the shop's fault, not FedEx's. We did purchase pottery from another shop in Ravello and it was packed well and arrived in one piece. We would also recommend Positano for shopping. (Capri and Positano are easily reached by water taxi from Amalfi.)

Enjoy your trip to Amalfi and I hope you stay at the Hotel Marina Riviera!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    81
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
59
277
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This hotel is truly a 'winning combination' in terms of being in such a perfect location, in such a wonderful and beautiful town, and featuring superb service, a great atmosphere--and just the right sized hotel, with a high standard of rooms and provision....and doubtless one of the best breakfasts---with an unbeatable vista from the terrace--anywhere! Over the years we have come to love and enjoy many places in Italy---all around the country---but we are pretty convinced this hotel in this town will be where we regularly return.....without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Spending just four or five days in this magical ambience brings us a lasting tranquility! We have returned for five years to top it up and bought our parents and children with us who equally feel its call to return. We have been made to feel so welcome and our stays have been so special that we requested to be married here so that we could keep a little of the magic with us for always. We have just returned from our first anniversary and the spell continues!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

First of all Amalfi is stunning. Lives up to its reputation as one of the most beautiful spots in Italy.

Once you have decided to go to Amalfi then choose this hotel. Having booked a deluxe room we were upgraged to a Junior Suite. Good sized room and balcony with the wonderful bonus of a jacuzzi with views out to sea.

The location of the hotel is superb with views of the sea, town and Cathedral. Only a very short walk to the beach or the square. Having read the breakfast reviews I had high hopes and it was still better than expected. Somehow all the basics.. coffee, ham, cheese, fruit, cakes just have far more flavour than just about any I have tasted. I still miss those breakfasts now.

The hotel is of fine quality, spotlessly clean and hits that perfect combo for me of feeling refined enough to feel like you are treating yourself whilst relaxed enough to be able to enjoy it.

I'll be back.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

An excellent hotel in probably the best location in Amalfi. Superb breakfast buffet changing every day. Picking up on a couple of points on the hotel web site: We booked a Superior Room which is referred to as having a French Balcony which according to common understanding as confirmed on the internet "..... a French balcony is actually a false balcony, with doors that open to a railing with a view of the courtyard or the surrounding scenery ...". Our room had a full balcony with ample room for two seats and a small table - although this may have been a booking error. Also the web site appears not to mention the snack bar facility which is available throughout the day with a range of dishes more than adequate for lunchtime. Referring to previous comments there is indeed a charge for internet access but it's only 5 euro and lasts the length of the stay. One area which could be improved upon is the roof top solarium which is ideal for getting a tan but has no shade specifically for the sun loungers - which probably explains why there was hardly ever anyone up there. The provision of umberellas which could be psoitioned alongside the loungers would help.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Chose this hotel after feedback on trip advisor and wasn't dissapointed.
Fantastic location with the glorious views over Amalfi and coast.
Customer service and care were unbeatable and their buffet breakfast was the best we have experienced in Europe, with all the usual bits plus different local dishes (hot and cold) each day, plus choice of cooked eggs however you like them.
Would certainly return, as we had bad weather during our stay.
Areas that I could be slightly critical are;
you are charged a wi-fi fee for the daily access code, which is generally free in most hotels these days, especially as we could not get a signal within our room, therefore needed to take our lap top to the reception area to use it.
Because the hotel does not have a garage, instead they offer a valet service from a garage up the road which is reasonably efficient, however at 20 euros a day was bit of a shock.
Tried their premium restuarant, which is separate to hotel, which we knew was going to be expensive but felt that although the food was good, it did not justify the costs charged, which could easily exceed 100 euros per person for a 3 course meal and bottle of their cheaper wine. All restuarants in Amalfi are guite expensive, however we found several others where we had better food, beeter choice and much better value.

Our tip for the stay; hire a small car from Naples airport & bring your sat nav so that you have the freedom to go where you please and not restricted to bus or coaches. The Amalfi coastal roads are a bit hairy but after a few days of hairpin bends and the experience of Italian drivers, you soon blend in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

stayed in this hotel for 1 week and have no complaints whatsoever. The location, staff, food were exceptional. The weather was a mixed bag so we were lucky that it was easy to get to pompei and capri. The former was really amazing the Capri was absolutely beautiful. The town itself was fairly quiet and we were lucky that there were several great groups of people staying in the hotel whohelped liven things up.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.