We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in the best location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the best location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

First of all Amalfi is stunning. Lives up to its reputation as one of the most beautiful spots in Italy.

Once you have decided to go to Amalfi then choose this hotel. Having booked a deluxe room we were upgraged to a Junior Suite. Good sized room and balcony with the wonderful bonus of a jacuzzi with views out to sea.

The location of the hotel is superb with views of the sea, town and Cathedral. Only a very short walk to the beach or the square. Having read the breakfast reviews I had high hopes and it was still better than expected. Somehow all the basics.. coffee, ham, cheese, fruit, cakes just have far more flavour than just about any I have tasted. I still miss those breakfasts now.

The hotel is of fine quality, spotlessly clean and hits that perfect combo for me of feeling refined enough to feel like you are treating yourself whilst relaxed enough to be able to enjoy it.

I'll be back.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    81
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
60
279
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

An excellent hotel in probably the best location in Amalfi. Superb breakfast buffet changing every day. Picking up on a couple of points on the hotel web site: We booked a Superior Room which is referred to as having a French Balcony which according to common understanding as confirmed on the internet "..... a French balcony is actually a false balcony, with doors that open to a railing with a view of the courtyard or the surrounding scenery ...". Our room had a full balcony with ample room for two seats and a small table - although this may have been a booking error. Also the web site appears not to mention the snack bar facility which is available throughout the day with a range of dishes more than adequate for lunchtime. Referring to previous comments there is indeed a charge for internet access but it's only 5 euro and lasts the length of the stay. One area which could be improved upon is the roof top solarium which is ideal for getting a tan but has no shade specifically for the sun loungers - which probably explains why there was hardly ever anyone up there. The provision of umberellas which could be psoitioned alongside the loungers would help.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Chose this hotel after feedback on trip advisor and wasn't dissapointed.
Fantastic location with the glorious views over Amalfi and coast.
Customer service and care were unbeatable and their buffet breakfast was the best we have experienced in Europe, with all the usual bits plus different local dishes (hot and cold) each day, plus choice of cooked eggs however you like them.
Would certainly return, as we had bad weather during our stay.
Areas that I could be slightly critical are;
you are charged a wi-fi fee for the daily access code, which is generally free in most hotels these days, especially as we could not get a signal within our room, therefore needed to take our lap top to the reception area to use it.
Because the hotel does not have a garage, instead they offer a valet service from a garage up the road which is reasonably efficient, however at 20 euros a day was bit of a shock.
Tried their premium restuarant, which is separate to hotel, which we knew was going to be expensive but felt that although the food was good, it did not justify the costs charged, which could easily exceed 100 euros per person for a 3 course meal and bottle of their cheaper wine. All restuarants in Amalfi are guite expensive, however we found several others where we had better food, beeter choice and much better value.

Our tip for the stay; hire a small car from Naples airport & bring your sat nav so that you have the freedom to go where you please and not restricted to bus or coaches. The Amalfi coastal roads are a bit hairy but after a few days of hairpin bends and the experience of Italian drivers, you soon blend in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

stayed in this hotel for 1 week and have no complaints whatsoever. The location, staff, food were exceptional. The weather was a mixed bag so we were lucky that it was easy to get to pompei and capri. The former was really amazing the Capri was absolutely beautiful. The town itself was fairly quiet and we were lucky that there were several great groups of people staying in the hotel whohelped liven things up.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel and cannot think of a negative thing to say about it. The Hotel location is perfect and has amazing views over Amalfi. It was lovely to have breakfast or an evening drink on the terrace area and enjoy the fantastic views. The room we had was very clean, bright and airy with a wonderful view over Amalfi and right down the coast line. The staff were lovely and you really felt that they wanted you to enjoy your stay. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We have nothing but praise for this hotel which stands overlooking the waterfront at Amalfi. It is elegantly furnished and decorated. The staff were friendly and efficient and professional. The breakfast is outstanding. The views are breathtaking. The bathroom (in our deluxe room) was huge by European standards. It was not cheap but we thought worth every penny.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grt Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

The Marina Riviera overtook our expectations from the minute we arrived at the hotel and there was a member of staff waiting to greet us at the entrance to take care of our luggage. The staff were excellent, friendly with nothing too much trouble. The room, although not large was tastefully decorated with a spacious balcony affording us amazing views over the sea, beach, town and cathedral. The breakfast was to die for with the freshest mozzarella I have ever tasted and there is nothing like having your morning coffee looking out over the Amalfi coast. The town itself is beautiful and the meal at the restaurant Eolo attached to the hotel was one of the freshest, most contemporary and flavoursome we have had for a long time. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.