We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing... Everything.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing... Everything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We travelled as a family to Amalfi last Summer for a wedding. Mom, Dad, a 6-month old and a 2-year old. We were at Marina Riviera for 4 days - from the moment we stepped in the door until we left, we were taken care of, and made to feel at home, every step of the way.

If we're ever in Amalfi again, although a little pricey, we will definitely stay here again. Well worth the extra $$$'s.

We had our 2 children in and out of the pool a fair bit and the water was a touch cold - that was literally the only un-enjoyable part of our stay. That, and outside of the pool, there really wasn't a lot of activities, at the hotel, for kids.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, or want to treat / stretch yourself a little, stay in the Amalfitana Suite - w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    81
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
60
277
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Initially we drove right past the hotel on the spectacular coast road, but after looking around properly we found it and were welcomed into the delightful entrance and the lift up into the peaceful and charming reception/lounge area. (They do offer parking in a multi-storey just up the road - get a form from the hotel first and you then pay €20/day up front at the car park itself.)

Three of us stayed in Room 86 here, which had its own small but perfectly adequate covered balcony with views out to see and into town. We arrived on the first day of opening for the season, so one or finishing touches were being applied and the pool heating wasn't up and running until the day after our arrival, but as we hadn't even known the pool was heated, that was not so much an issue, more an unexpected bonus.

The roof terrace and pool were lovely. Panoramic views, our daughter wouldn't leave the pool which with the heating can be used in mid April, and a helpful feature to have at your disposal, particularly if you're travelling with kids.

Breakfast was included and was something to look forward to. Delicious, made-to-order eggs, great breads and a different selection of fruit and pastries each day along with the usual cereals, cold meats, cheeses and some veg (e.g. roasted peppers that went a treat with mozzarella and my egg on toast). It is served on a generous terrace offering great views in three directions. You can sit inside if you prefer, and this area can be used in the evening as well, with hot and cold drinks service available at very reasonable prices (for Italy).

The room was charming, not huge, but not cramped at all with a good bathroom with bath and walk-in shower. Included a safe and plenty of storage room. TV selection limited (hardly the be all and end all, but with active days and an 8-year-old child, we enjoy putting a film on sometimes before bed). The balcony and views as mentioned above made it special. The room was probably the weakest part of the stay and it says a lot about how much we enjoyed the hotel as a whole.

The hotel's quirky structure and beautifully lit corridors and staircases added to the charm, but what I think made the difference - and made Hotel Marina Riviera such a relaxing stay - was the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff. And I say all - service was consistently given with a smile and you felt nothing was too much trouble, at any point. That said though, the location is wonderful - so close to the town yet not too busy and with wonderful views up or down the coast. It's hard to pinpoint individual factors that made us feel so warmly about the hotel - as an overall package it was just so pleasing.

All three of us loved staying here and recommend it to anyone travelling to the Amalfi coast. Of the three places we stayed in on our trip, it's this one upon which we look back most fondly.

Room Tip: Can't comment on other rooms, but our room (#86) for 3 (one double, one single bed) was what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We arrived on the day that they opened for the season and stayed 3 wonderful nights. The room was so clean and bright with 3 large floor to ceiling windows that opened to the most gorgeous views of the bright blue sea. The bathroom was large with a separate bath and shower (we used both after our all day hikes) and had beautiful tiling throughout.The fresh fruit and flowers were much appreciated. The staff was helpful and friendly willing to make suggestions/reservations for dinners and discuss transportation options. Breakfast everyday was beautifully done with fresh fruits, eggs made to order, wonderful coffee, attentive staff and the most awesome views! We spent late afternoons up on the pool deck lounging, enjoying the sun and views. Without doubt we will be back! My only suggestion would be some shelves under the sink to store things.

Room Tip: We were in room 51 which was a corner room with amazing views. Although it is by the elevator I neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs,Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in April. We were welcomed as soon as we arrived and shown to our room (71). The views were fantastic and hearing the sea every morning just made the whole experience a relaxing time. Close to the town and many restaurants it was ideal for us. The hotel staff were very polite and knowledgeable and made us feel part of the hotel. Breakfast was very good with a good choice for everyone. The egg menu with various hot options was a great idea. Besides that you could have had cold meats, cereal, cakes, toast, fresh fruit and yoghurt's. Bed was made daily and little touches such as the weather forecast for the following day was a nice touch. Thank you, see you again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view so relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We arrived and were immediately upgraded in recognition of the trip being our honeymoon. The room had a beautiful balcony with stunning views. The restaurant attached to the hotel is also worth dining at as the views are spectacular and food is great. One of our favorite parts of this hotel was the breakfast in the morning on the beautiful patio overlooking the water and Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I absolutely loved our stay in room 73 at this hotel. Amalfi was my favorite city in Italy. The views out of our window were incredible. It truly felt like a relaxing paradise. Te room was so clean. They changed the comforters daily, had shampoo,conditioner lotion, soap and shower caps for each person in the bathroom daily. They have very comfortable beds and pillows that made it hard to get up in the morning. They had 4 different outlet types in the room, so we didn't have to use our converter. There was a TV with blue ray player a well.
There was a really good air conditioner, which I appreciate because I am so hot natured. There is also good fresh fruit in the room. The rooftop has a nice heated pool and sun deck for tanning. I think we would have loved this hotel more if it ha wen warm enough to enjoy the pool, roof top and beach area. Every morning we had a great breakfast with eggs (made to order) and really good coffee. You have a choice of coffee or cappuccino, then a buffet of meats, cheeses, juices, milk, yogurt, fruit, granola and cereal.
The breakfast veranda is beautiful. I wish I could eat there everyday for the rest of my life for those views! The staff is very friendly, helpful and patient with touristy questions. They had good recommendations for dinner too. I plan on going back to Amalfi and staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I agree with other travelers that this hotel has one of the best views of Amalfi town. It overlooks the sea, the beach and the town at different angles. We got one of the cheapest rooms so our view was slightly restricted but we got to enjoy the view at the lobby and the breakfast terrace everyday. Breakfast spread was good (juices, ham, cheese, bread, eggs made to order), staff were friendly and well informed, we loved the breakfast terrace, and it takes only 2-5mins walk to get to the town itself. We loved this hotel and would highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.