We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed all expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Surpassed all expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location, rooms, ambiance, and above all great friendly service surpassed our expectations. We absolutely loved everything from the tile decorations to the breakfast on the terrace giving the best view of Amalfi. After a 13 week trip through Italy I can say that this was our favourite hotel to stay in. Sadly we didn't take any photos of the inside of the hotel - I was too busy taking photos of the scenery from the terrace and bedroom. Even worse, we are staying in a boring Rome airport hotel now waiting for the flight home tomorrow. Everyone talks about the wonderful nature of the Italians, and our last memory we want to take home is of the staff, facilities, and view from this hotel. We didn't get to the swimming pool, but it is probably incredible. This is the first trip advisor review I have ever felt moved to write.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    72
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
51
253
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room for two nights. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and took advantage of the private balcony from which to enjoy a glass of wine each evening - the view of the water and harbor was beautiful. We had absolutely no issues with noise, our room was clean, the staff was welcoming (our limited Italian was not a barrier), and it is a quick walk to the town center. The staff at the front desk was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and making reservations (even securing us a table the same day at the Eolo restaurant downstairs with a view). The included breakfast was quite expansive (a number of offerings, juices, plus made-to-order eggs) and lovely when enjoyed from the large terrace. The views from the pool and lounge area were also quite beautiful. Our one complaint, the wireless internet never worked from our room. While we were told this would be addressed by maintenance the next day, by the time we returned to our room it was late evening and it had not been fixed. Given internet was the primary means we were using to stay connected to our family back home, this was a disappointment.

Overall, this was a wonderful hotel choice for Amalfi; however, this is a fairly small town and transportation to/from is somewhat difficult. Definitely take the opportunity to visit other towns (highly recommend a full day boat tour – we booked with Amalfi Coast Cruises and had a fabulous day).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a way to finish off a 4wk holiday in Europe. We booked an ocean view room and we were not disappointed. The room was clean and we'll appointed. Great view from the private balcony. Double glazing on the balcony doors cut out any outside noises for a good night's rest. The common room used for breakfast, drinks during the day and evening as well as for light meals was well presented and constantly attended by staff who were helpful and very friendly. The common room has great views all the way around. Even though they were in preparation to shut down for winter we could not have asked for better service. Easy walk to main shopping area and transport for further afield journeys by bus or boat. A good selection off restaurants close by.
Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon from 9/30/13 to 10/5/13 and it was superb! The staff was always so quick to give us a recommendation, make a reservation or help in any way possible. Admittedly my Italian is not perfect, they were able to communicate in English and did so in a way that didn't make me feel bad.

The actual hotel was gorgeous. It was very clean and I loved the open atmosphere of the lobby and dining area. Our room was amazing, I am not sure if the hotel knew it was our honeymoon and we weren't upgraged to a suite or anything but we had a large room with a big window that gave us the perfect view of the beach/ocean/coastline. It was breathtaking to wake up to every morning and the sounds of the waves crashing as we fell asleep was a huge plus.

The staff came through and cleaned the room once a day in addition to turning down the room in the evening and leaving cute biscottis with new bottles of water.

The breakfast was great, somewhat disjointed, I think one AM I had a pasta and cheese dish with croissant and eggs but it was delicious. I believe the chef's name is Antonio and one morning when we came down to breakfast a little late, he still made us eggs! One of the waitors was particularly special (Irasimo (sp)) when we were surrdounded by 3-4 bees he came out wielding placemats to try and scare off the bees. He was so awesome and thoughtful. I still laugh when I think about him trying to get the bees away.

We also enjoyed the roof deck pool at the end of almost every day, it closes a little on the early side (6:30 PM) but the attendant, Leo was so awesome. Just a really friendly, sweet guy. We enjoyed spending an hour or so every day relaxing from whatever we did that day with a quick dip and a glass of white wine.

The location was almost perfect, set back away from the busy town but a very quick 5 minute walk to the ferrys/buses/town. The entrance to the hotel is located right on a pretty severe hairpin turn so that took some getting used to when we exited the hotel just as a tour bus was making that turn but something like this cannot be helped.

I cannot say enough about this place. We had an excellent time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Marina Riviera is a small (35) room boutique hotel in Amalfi Italy, with a breathtaking view of the Bay of Amalfi and the mountains. You are greeted by the owner, Don Antonio and his terrific staff. A, enormous buffet breakfast is included. The rooms and baths are modern and beautifully appointed and while not overly large they are perfect. Cost came to about 500 euros per night and worth every bit. Right near some of the best restaurants in Italy, scenic squares and cobble stone alleys with terrific shopping. Everything is easy walking distance from the hotel. And if you are looking for the best tour guide try Sergio Caggia at Nerone Tours. Wonderful guides and the best service possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but make sure you are up high and in the wing with the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just returned from a marvelous two-week stay at this wonderful hotel. Perched on a hillside, the Marina Riviera has magnificent views of the Amalfi coastline. The hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance to the center of town and both ferry and bus lines. The food at the hotel was excellent and the service impeccable. The Marina Riviera is a gem. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This place was amazing... Location was perfect, staff was professional but friendly. I felt very 'at home' and comfortable here. The sun deck was very cool, over looking the coast and the marina - awesome view! The rooms were basic, but clean and big enough. A small place, you feel part of the family. The breakfast Was outstanding.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi
Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list