We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Riviera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marina Riviera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location - breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This place was amazing... Location was perfect, staff was professional but friendly. I felt very 'at home' and comfortable here. The sun deck was very cool, over looking the coast and the marina - awesome view! The rooms were basic, but clean and big enough. A small place, you feel part of the family. The breakfast Was outstanding.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    84
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
291
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a fantastic little hotel nudged into the cliff, the staff were very helpful and all spoke clear english, very clever renovated hotel, retaining most of the traditional features of this very old hotel, tastefully decorated combining the old with the new and from what i see all rooms have sea views. Old windows have been replaced with very large windows which effortlessly open allowing the outside in, step out onto your balcony which is large ( for italy ) some of the rooms have no or small balconies, i guess we got this room as it is the end of season. Quite pricey minibar, but the shops are only 100 mts away. The rooftop pool , bar lounge area is lovely, the water is tepid. Although its raining now, its still a mesmorising view from the comfort of my bed, love this place.
One small criticism , a bit noisy during the day when the maids are cleaning adjoining rooms , but if it wasnt raining i wouldnt be in my room......
Would definately stay here again and

Room Tip: ask for the large balcony, the restaurant in the hotel is no 2 rated out of 226 reviews for this tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A fun hotel to kick off our Amalfi holiday! Our room overlooked the ocean and we were able to keep the window open most of the time! Room was well appointed and modern. Really enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace overlooking the ocean and town. Very convenient to walk to town just dont get run over by a crazy Italian driver. Also take advantage of having a glass of wine in the evening on the terrace. Be prepared for a lot of stairs. The pool is on the top floor, also with incredible views and a nice bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel was right on the coast and very close to the center of town. Views from our room terrace were amazing, looking out at the water as well as the town of Amalfi. Our room was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed and couch. Bathroom was modern with a rain shower. We enjoyed having breakfast the 2nd floor terrace. The hotel offered eggs cooked to order, cappuccino/ coffee as well as a nice selection of yogurt, fruit, cheese, meat, pasta and pastries. The pool was very relaxing, staff was polite and helpful. We would definitely recommend staying at Marina Riviera while in Amalfi.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have a great view, some have small and some have large terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in late September. We didn't want to leave... practically had to tear ourselves out of there! The finest staff providing top notch customer service. Clean, lovely hotel with views to die for. We had a balcony and used it as much as we possibly could. Our room was not very large but it was bright, with an extremely comfortable bed and we spent more time on the balcony anyway! We loved the pool and this was the first time in a 3 1/2 week trip we spent a day enjoying the sun and the view, having completed our touring on day one. The bar service was great, even delivered drinks to our balcony for no additional charge. The staff recommendations were great, and they got us a reservation at the restaurant below (Eola) and it was one of our finest experiences dining-wise. The breakfast is extensive. The lobby and balcony provide the finest views. This is simply a top notch hotel with the best location/views, best staff, and all the ammenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent 6 days at this hotel at the beginning of September. We read many positive reviews before booking and were not disappointed. This hotel is marvelous, the staff are very attentive and overall it is a delightful place to stay in. The breakfasts are fantastic: eggs cooked to order, breads, pastries, cheeses, meats and a special dish each day, e.g. delicious greens cooked with small sausages, casserole type bread pudding with cheese and bacon, I could go on - just salivating thinking about it .., Stunning views from the terrace where you eat, comfortable beds with turn down each night with a wrapped treat (almond macaroon). The pool area is stunning with views to die for where you can be served food and drinks. Highly recommend. Also the Wi Fi is free!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just had 2 weeks in Amalfi - a wonderful destination for a quiet relaxing holiday. Stayed first in Hotel Marina Riviera then Hotel Residence. Both are on the front and close to the centre of Amalfi, which suited us – many hotels along the Amalfi coast will be isolated, but we could walk around the town, have a choice of different restaurants every night, get a boat to Capri, etc.

From our experience, the Marina Riviera scores so much more than the Residence – we would return to Marina Riviera, but not the Residence. To list the little things that made the difference: at the Marina Riviera we had a bottle of water in our room every day; a bowl of fruit when we arrived; a box of tissues; draws with handles; very attentive staff; a good choice of breads and croissants (that never ran out) and eggs cooked to order; and of course a rooftop pool. None of these applied to the Residence, although it is also a 4 star hotel. The Residence was not terrible, but missed the little touches. Because of the timing of our bookings we paid less for the Marina Riviera (early booking) than the Residence. We had a Double Room at Marina Riviera and Deluxe Double at Residence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Address: Via Comite 19, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.